Acton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Acton

Guide to Acton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acton, Cheshire
St Marys Church Acton Cheshire.jpg
St Marys Church Acton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History

ACTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of Cheshire; comprising the townships of Acton, Aston-juxta-Mondrum, Austerson, Baddington, Brindley, Burland, Cholmondstone, Cool-Pilate, Edleston, Faddiley, Henhull, Hurleston, Poole, Stoke, Worleston, and part of Soond, 1¼ mile northwest by west from Nantwich. At Burley-Dam is a second church.[1]

Acton St Mary near Nantwich is an Ancient parish which commenced keeping parish registers from the year 1653. The parish includes Worleston, Stoke, Sound, Poole, Newhall, Hurleston, Henhull, Faddiley, Edleston, Edlaston, Coole Pilate, Cool Pilate, Cholmondestone, Baddington, Brindley, Burland, Cholmondeston, Aston juxta Mondrum, Austerson, and Aston.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records

Acton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Acton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Acton (Weaverham) Methodist Chapel. The chapel was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in Forest Road in 1878 next to an earlier chapel erected in c.1834. The first chapel was used by the Sunday School until new premises were built adjoining the new chapel in 1903.

Church records for theWesleyan Methodist Chapel, Faddiley, 1899-1969 at FHL

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Here is a list of registration districts that included Acton from 1837, with dates of inclusion.

  •  Nantwich (1837–1937)
  •  Crewe (1937–74)
  •  Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

School Records

School Registers for Acton (near Nantwich), 1877-1952 Film
Girls' Admission Register, 1877-1893. Boys' Admission Register, 1878-1903 1894886 Items 4-5
Mixed School Log Books, 1903-1952 (includes children evacuated from St. Silvester R.C. School, Liverpool in 1939). 2299012 Items 1-2

Websites

Acton (near Nantwich) on GENUKI

Acton (near Weaverham) on GENUKI

Acton Bridge on GENUKI

Acton Grange on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 15–18
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003), The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 53–54, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 16–17, ISBN 1871731232