To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Accomack Parish, Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

History[edit | edit source]

Accomack Parish has served Accomack County, Virginia. The Parish Church is called Emmanuel Episcopal Church.

Founded[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A page has been created for Emmanuel Episcopal Church Cemetery at Find A Grave, but only a few tombstones are described.

Census[edit | edit source]

Parish History[edit | edit source]

The article The Parishes in Accomac County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[2]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Overseers of the Poor[edit | edit source]
  • Walczyk, Gail M. New Meetings of the Overseers of the Poor for Accomack & St. Georges Parish, September 1787-1819. Coram, N.Y.: Peter's Row, 2003. FHL Book 975.516 P3w
Vestry Books[edit | edit source]

The original Accomack Parish vestry books are kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies (years 1723-1784): FHL Film 30107 Item 4

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 304-309.