To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Accomack County, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Accomack County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Accomack County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Accomack County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Accomack County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1634
County Seat Accomac
Courthouse
VirginiaAccomackCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Accomack County is located on the Northernmost portion of Virginia's Eastern Shore. The county’s name comes from the Native American word Accawmack, meaning “the other shore”[1].

Accomack County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Accomack County Courthouse, Accomac, Va.

 

Accomack County Courthouse
23316 Courthouse Avenue
Accomac, Virginia 23301
Phone: (757) 787-5776

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1784
Divorce Records from 1850
Probate and court and land recrods from 1663[2]


Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1854 1774 1853 1663 1663 1663 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Accomack County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Accomac Shire was established in the Virginia Colony by the House of Burgesses in 1634 under the direction of King Charles I. It was one of the original eight shires of Virginia. The shire's name comes from the Native American word Accawmack.

In 1642, the named was changed to Northampton County by the British, to eliminate "heathen" names in the New World. ("shires" and "counties" were essentially the same in England). In 1663, Northampton County was split into two counties. The northern section assumed the original Accomac name, the southern retained Northampton.

In 1670, the Virginia Colony's Royal Governor William Berkeley abolished Accomac County, but the Virginia General Assembly re-created it in 1671. In 1940, the General Assembly officially added a "k" to the end of the county's name to arrive at its current spelling, which is Accomack County. (from Wikipedia)

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1634--Accomack county was created in 1634 from Northampton County.
County seat: Accomac [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

"Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings[edit | edit source]

  • Accomac County

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Insects.jpg
Many loose records from the 1700s have suffered water and pest damage. However, deeds, court orders, and wills still exist.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Towns:

  • Accomac
  • Belle Haven
  • Bloxom
  • Chincoteague
  • Hallwood
  • Keller
  • Melfa
  • Onancock
  • Onley
  • Painter
  • Parksley
  • Saxis
  • Tangier
  • Wachapreague

Communities:

  • Accohanoc
  • Accomac
  • Allentown
  • Assawoman
  • Atlantic
  • Bayside
  • Belinda
  • Belle Haven
  • Birch Town
  • Black Point Landing
  • Bloxom
  • Bobtown
  • Boston
  • Bullbegger
  • Cashville
  • Cats Bridge
  • Cedar View
  • Centerville
  • Chancetown
  • Chase Crossing
  • Chesconessex
  • Chiconessex
  • Chincoteague
  • Clam
  • Coal Kiln Crossing
  • Coocheyville
  • Craddockville
  • Crockett Town
  • Daugherty
  • Davis Wharf
  • Deep Creek
  • Deep Hole
  • East Point
  • Flag Pond Landing
  • Franklin City
  • Gargatha
  • Graysville
  • Greenbackville
  • Greenbush
  • Greta
  • Groton Town
  • Grotons
  • Guilford
  • Hackseneck
  • Hallwood
  • Harborton
  • High Woods
  • Hopeton
  • Hopkins
  • Horntown
  • Horsey
  • Johnson Corner
  • Jordan
  • Justisville
  • Keller
  • Lecato
  • Lee Mont
  • Little Hell
  • Locksville
  • Locust Mount
  • Locustville
  • Macedonia
  • Mappsburg
  • Mappsville
  • Matomkin
  • Mears Station
  • Mearsville
  • Melfa
  • Messongo
  • Metompkin
  • Middlesex
  • Miona
  • Modest Town
  • Mount Nebo
  • Mount Zion
  • Mutton Hunk
  • Nandua
  • Nash Corner
  • Nelsonia
  • New Church
  • Old Trower
  • Onancock
  • Onley
  • Painter
  • Parker Landing
  • Parksley
  • Pastoria
  • Pennyville
  • Persimmon Point
  • Piggen
  • Poulson
  • Pungoteague
  • Quinby
  • Red Hill
  • Rue
  • Sanford
  • Savage Town
  • Savageville
  • Saxis
  • Shad Landing
  • Shields
  • Sign Post
  • Sinnickson
  • Smithville
  • South Chesconessex
  • South Point
  • Tangier
  • Tasley
  • Temperanceville
  • The Oaks
  • Ticktown
  • Trower
  • Tunnels Mill
  • Wachapreague
  • Wattsville
  • Whitesville
  • Winterville
  • Wishart
  • Withams

Accomack County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

From 1790 to 1860, Accomack County had one of the largest free black populations in the state (721 in 1790; 3418 in 1860).[5]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


  • Joynes, 1812-1891 - Joynes Family Bible Records, 1812-1891. Original records; microfilmed reproduction: FHL Film 850402 Item 2.
  • Mapp, 1733-1918 - Mapp Family Bible Records, 1733-1918. Original records; microfilmed reproduction: FHL Film 850402 Item 2.
  • Parker - Bible of John R. Parker, Accomack County, Virginia. By James F. Lewis. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):133-134. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Scott, 1817-1825 - Scott Family Bible Records, 1817-1825. Original records; microfilmed reproduction: FHL Film 850402 Item 2.
  • Taylor, 1741-1780 - Family Records from the Ledger of Edward Taylor, Accomack County, 1741-1780. By Conley L. Edwards. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Jul-Sep. 1978):179-180. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Many cemetery records are available online at Eastern Shore Stuff.

For a more detailed list, including addresses and external links, see Accomack County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Accomack County:[6]

  • Belle Haven Cemetery
  • Bloxom Cemetery
  • Edge Hill Cemetery
  • Fairlawn Cemetery
  • Greenwood Cemetery
  • Joynes Cemetery
  • Liberty Cemetery
  • Mechanics Cemetery
  • Mount Holly Cemetery
  • Onancock Cemetery
  • Redman Cemetery
  • Ridge Cemetery
  • Wessells Cemetery
  • Old Tombstones in Northampton and Accomac Counties, VA. By Lyon G. Tyler. The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 3, No. 4 (Apr. 1895):256-262. Online at: Internet Archive, JSTOR.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 13,959
1800 15,693 12.4%
1810 15,743 0.3%
1820 15,966 1.4%
1830 16,656 4.3%
1840 17,096 2.6%
1850 17,890 4.6%
1860 18,586 3.9%
1870 20,409 9.8%
1880 24,408 19.6%
1890 27,277 11.8%
1900 32,570 19.4%
1910 36,650 12.5%
1920 34,795 −5.1%
1930 35,854 3.0%
1940 33,030 −7.9%
1950 33,832 2.4%
1960 30,635 −9.4%
1970 29,004 −5.3%
1980 31,268 7.8%
1990 31,703 1.4%
2000 38,305 20.8%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1790 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.

1800 - Exists, but it is not included in Ancestry, FamilySearch, or Heritage Quest Online databases. The original records are held at the Library of Virginia. Microfilm copy: FHL Collection. Abstracts were published in The Virginia Genealogist:

  • Second census of the United States, 1800, Accomack County, Virginia. By Annie Laurie Ewald. 1977. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1957):98-108; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1957):157-162; Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1958):13-18; Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1958); Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1958):128-133; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1958):153-166. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: American Ancestors ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). The census taker was exceptional in that he identified relationships and residences of inhabitants to distinguish between persons of the same name.

1820 - Exists, but the National Archives microfilm copy of Accomack County, Virginia omits page 6. The missing names have been published in The Virginia Genealogist as well as Shenandoah County GenWeb Project.

  • Virginia 1820 Federal Census: Names Not on the Microfilm Copy. By Gerald M. Petty. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 2 (April-June 1974):136-139. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.

1850 Agriculture Census

1870

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Chingoteague (1786)[7]
  2. Matompkin (1785)[7]
  3. Mesongoes (1779)[7]
  4. Pungoteague (1790)[7] - Church minutes, 1833-1956, including lists of members, survive: FHL Film 984293 Item 3.

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.


Accomack County fell within the bounds of the Accomac Association.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

go to See also Accomac Parish
go to See also Accomack Parish
go to See also St. George's Parish

  • A Parsonage House for Accomack, 1635. Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Mar., 1963), p. 36. Online at: JSAH.
  • Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. By George Carrington Mason. 1945. Richmond, Virginia : Whittet & Shepperson. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Early Episcopacy in Accomack. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Oct., 1897), pp. 128-132. Online at: JSTOR.
Methodist[edit | edit source]
Quaker[edit | edit source]

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

Court[edit | edit source]

Chancery Court

County Court

  • Colonial Residents of Virginia's Eastern Shore: Whose Ages Were Proved Before Court Officials of Accomack and Northampton Counties. By William Robert Montgomery Houston and Jean M. Mihalyka. 1993. Baltimore, Maryland : Clearfield Co. FHL Book 975.51 D2h; At various libraries (WorldCat). Ages taken from court, land, and probate records.
  • The Colonial County Court, Social Forum and Legislative Precedent: Accomack County, Virginia, 1633-1639. By George B. Curtis. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 85, No. 3 (Jul., 1977), pp. 274-288. FHL Book 975.5 B2v, online at: JSTOR ($).
  • The Women of Accomack versus Henry Smith: Gender, Legal Recourse, and the Social Order in Seventeenth-Century Virginia. By Irmina Wawrzyczek. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 105, No. 1 (Winter, 1997), pp. 5-26. FHL Book 975.5 B2v, online at: JSTOR ($).

Eastern Shore District Court

Orphan's Court

DNA[edit | edit source]

DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Accomack County, Virginia residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.

  • Burton - Descendant of William Burton, b. c1630, d. 1695 Accomack County, Virginia. Y-DNA 67 Marker Test, FTDNA. Genetic signature available online (labelled B-7), courtesy: Burton Project, World Families Network.
  • Calvert - Descendant of Christopher Calvert, b. c1600, d. Accomack County, Virginia. Y-DNA 67 Market Test, FTDNA (Kit 130958). Genetic signature available online, courtesy: Family Tree DNA. Website includes discussion of a DNA match to Christopher's descendant.
  • Fletcher - Descendant of William Fletcher, b. c1650, d. c1710 Accomack County, Virginia. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA. Genetic signature available online (labelled William Fletcher of Accomac County, Virginia/James Fletcher of Brunswick County, Virginia), courtesy: The Fletcher DNA Project.
  • Merrill - Descendant of William Merrill, b. c1645, d. 1710 Somerset County, Maryland. Y-DNA 67 Market Test, FTDNA. Genetic signature available online, courtesy: Merrill Project, World Families Network. [Some of his descendants settled in Accomack County, according to: "Descendants of William Merrill' by David W. Merrell.]
  • Pitts - Descendant of Andrew Pitts, b. c1674, d. c1715 Accomack/Northampton County, Virginia. Y-DNA 67 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 102508). Genetic signature available online (labelled P-40), courtesy: Pitts Project, World Families Network. [A DNA match has been found with a Pitts family from the county of Devon, England (compare Kit 142197, labelled P-51).]
  • Polk - Descendant of Captain William Polk, b. c1744, d. 1805 Accomack County, Virginia. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 153609). Genetic signature available online (labelled P-59), courtesy: Polk Project, World Families Network.
  • Savage - Descendant of Thomas Savage, b. c1594, d. 1620s or 1630s Virginia. Y-DNA 43 Marker Test, SMGF. Genetic signature available online (labelled S-22, see also "Savage History"), courtesy: Savage Project, World Families Network.
  • Sneed - Descendant of Edward Sneed, 1836, Accomac Co., VA. Y-DNA 12 Market Test, FTDNA (Kit 91990). Genetic signature available online (labelled S-9), courtesy: Sneed Project, World Families Network.
  • Townsend - Multiple descendants of John Townsend, b. c1640 of Accomack County, Virginia, d. 1698 Snow Hill, Somerset County, Maryland. Y-DNA 12 and 37 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 5896, 13580, 22260, 35672, 37063). Genetic signatures available online (labelled "Snow Hill, Maryland"), courtesy: Townsend Project, World Families Network.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than 275 genealogies have been published about Accomack County families. To view a list, visit Accomack County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

Immigration[edit | edit source]

The Port of Accomack entry book (1783-1793) has been preserved. Clerks recorded the name of vessel and port of origination, name of master, type of cargo, and amount of duties, but not passengers: FHL Film 1902295 Item 2. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

Headright grants identify many Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy immigrants who arrived before 1720.[9] The Virginia Immigration article provides tips about using this source.

Additional resources include:


  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. By Peter Wilson Coldham. 2007. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co. At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes wills of residents of Accawacke (Accomack), Nasswadax Creek, and Accomack County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • The Women of Accomack versus Henry Smith: Gender, Legal Recourse, and the Social Order in Seventeenth-Century Virginia. By Irmina Wawrzyczek. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 105, No. 1 (Winter, 1997), pp. 5-26. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($). [Some of the individuals involved in this case were imported servants.]

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Accomack County.[10]

Land and Property
[edit | edit source]

Deeds

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.


Headrights

Processioner's Returns

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Somerset CountyWorcester CountyNorthampton CountyVA ACCOMACK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Colonial Militia[edit | edit source]
  • Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. By William Armstrong Crozier. 1954. Baltimore, Maryland : Southern Book Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Accomack County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.
French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Accomack County, see p. 25.
  • Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. By William Armstrong Crozier. 1954. Baltimore, Maryland : Southern Book Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Accomack County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Accomack County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Accomack County supplied soldiers for the:

- 9th Virginia Regiment

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. 1852. Washington, D.C. : Clearfield. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Rev. John Lyon Tried by a Court Martial in Accomack County, August 8, 1781. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct., 1922), pp. 285-288. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books, JSTOR.
  • Soldiers and Sailors of the Eastern Shore of Virginia in the Revolutionary War. By Stratton Nottingham. 1995. Westminster, Maryland : Family Line Publications. FHL Book 975.51 M2n.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Accomack County men served in the 2nd and 99th Regiments.[11]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Accomack County, p. 58]
  • Heritage Trail Markers for The War of 1812:
  • Chesconessex Creek at Accomack County
  • Pungoteague Creek at Accomack County
  • Tangier Island at Accomack County
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy:


- 39th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies E, F, G, H, I, and L.[12]

Records and histories are available, including:

World War I[edit | edit source]
  • Barnes, Alton Brooks Parker. Young No More. [Onancock, Virginia]: P. Barnes, c1994. FHL Book 975.51 M2bp. [Gives a history of World War I from the viewpoint of men from Accomack and Northampton counties who fought in the war.]

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


  • 1888-1905 - Digitized images of the Peninsula Enterprise of Accomac, Virginia (1888-1905) are available online at the Library of Congress Chronicling America project.
  • Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website.
  • Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Officials[edit | edit source]

  • Tax Lists York County 1782, 1783, 1784; Rent Roll York County 1704, Gloucester 1704, Warwick 1704; James City County Taxes 1768. By Thelma I. Hansford. 1990. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. FHL Film 1728880 Item 1. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford (Virginia State Library). By H.J. Eckenrode. 1908. Richmond, Virginia : Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Local Court

  • 1671-1674; 1673-1676; 1676-1690;1678-1682; 1682-1697; 1682-1715; 1715-1729 Images of Wills Inventories Appraisements at Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1678-82; 1682-1697; 1692-1715; 1715-1729; 1729-1737 Indexes to Deeds, Estates, Wills at Virginia Pioneers ($)

District Court

Guardian Bonds

London Courts

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. By Peter Wilson Coldham. 2007. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co. At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes wills of residents of Accawacke (Accomack), Nasswadax Creek, and Accomack County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

Original versions[edit | edit source]

The original Accomack County personal property tax lists are kept at the Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va. and the Accomack County Courthouse, Accomac, Va. Microfilm copies: (years: 1782-1850) FHL Films 2024439-2024442.

Published versions[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]

The birth registers of Accomack County, Virginia (1853-1896) have been indexed multiple times. Petersrow Publishers offers a free surname search of published abstracts on their website. Ancestry's fee-based databases include abstracts.

Beth Fridley's birth abstracts are on Ancestry ($)

1853-1865 1874-1877 1882-1892
1866-1873 1878-1881 1893-1896

The International Genealogical Index includes an index to Accomack County births from 1853 to 1896 (Batch C868466).[13]

Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
  • Colonial Residents of Virginia's Eastern Shore: Whose Ages Were Proved Before Court Officials of Accomack and Northampton Counties. By William Robert Montgomery Houston and Jean M. Mihalyka. 1993. Baltimore, Maryland : Clearfield Co. FHL Book 975.51 D2h; At various libraries (WorldCat). Ages taken from court, land, and probate records.

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Accomack County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Accomack County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Accomack County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.co.accomack.va.us/about-us/about-the-county
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Accomack County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Accomack County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  5. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 69. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  6. USGS Map, Trails.com
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 365. Digital version at Google Books.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers. 1994. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Publishing Company. 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  9. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Cavaliers and Pioneers," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1980):221. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 24 (1980)
  10. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 39. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.