To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Absentee-Shawnee Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Absentee-Shawnee Indians

Guide to Absentee-Shawnee Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

Absentee-Shawnee Indians-flag.png

The Absentee-Shawnee Tribe is primarily associated with the state of Oklahoma[1].

Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Absentee Shawnee Tribe Headquarters
2025 South Gordon Cooper
Shawnee Oklahoma 74801
Phone: 1.405.275.4030

History[edit | edit source]

1984: Tribal enrollment 2,297[2]

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

Reservations[edit | edit source]

Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a brief history of the Absentee Shawnee tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe in 1904.

For additional history of the tribe, read more....

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Tribally owned land: 89.25 acres Allotted land 12,119.49 acres [3]

Important Websites[edit | edit source]

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 212
  3. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 212