Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire|
|Hundred||Abingdon Borough; Hormer|
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon|
|Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Abingdon St Nicholas beginning 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1614; Separate records exist for Abingdon St Nicholas beginning 1607|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
ABINGDON, a borough and market-town having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, of which it is the county town, 6 miles south from Oxford...containing, exclusively of that part of the parish of St. Helen which is without the Abingdon comprises the parishes of St. Helen and St. Nicholas; the former including, in the out-parish, part of the townships of Shippon and Northcourt, and the whole of Sandford, Barton, and Pumney; and the latter, the remainder of Shippou and Northcourt, with some lands in Sunningwell and Bayworth, which are all without the limits of the borough.
There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Abingdon St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Abingdon St Nicholas Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1603-1740, 1606-1835, 1739-1874||
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
Abingdon Shippon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Abingdon Shippon Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Abingdon in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 5-9. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 March 2012.