To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Abild Parish, Tønder, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


History[edit | edit source]

A brief history of the parish in German appears here.

Abild Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Ribe Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Abild Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Riberhus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Tønder
Amt 1200 - 1864 Add here
Amt 1867 - 1920 Add here
Herred (district) Tønder
Kommune (municipality) Tønder
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names:
[edit | edit source]

Abild, Abild Mark, Abild, Nørre-, Abelgaard, Abildgaard, Abildkjær

Batteriet, Blaabjærg, Blæsom (also Nyhus), Blauberg (see Blaabjærg), Bomgaard, Bomhus, Bol (also Boell), Bornbusk, Brændkjær, Brodersgaard, Brodersgaard Mark

Damhus

Frederiksgave

Galgestrøm
Gøl (also Gøhl, Goel)

Hedehus, Herlund, Hjulstedgaard (also Julstedgaard)
Høgslund, Høgslund Mark
Højtoft, Holm, Hommelhof (also Hummelhoff), Humlehave (also Hummelhoff)

Jesperlund, Julstedgaard (also Hjulstedgaard)

Karolinegaard, Klinborg (also Klienborg, Klienburg, Kleinborg), Knold, Kohøj, Koloni, Kongsbjerg (also Königsberg, Kongensbierg), Kongsbjerg Mark

Løkkegaard (also Lykgaard), Lykgaard (also Løkkegaard)

Middagssted

Nedersted (also Nörstedt, Nærsted), Nordhaus (also Nørhus), Nørre Abild, Nørregaard, Nyhus (also Blæsom), Nyland

Pothat (also Pottat, Potthatt), Purremose (also Porremose)

Ravnsholt (also Rauensholt), Relingsminde

Slane, Sølsted (also Sylstedt, Sulstedt, Sijlstede), Søllstedt (Vester-), Søndergaard, Sønderkjær, Sønder Vennemose, Sønderrad, Stengaard (also Steinhof)

Tornborg, Travsted, Tykskov (also Tyvse), Tyvse (also Tykskov, Tügschau, Tügsshövet), Tyvse Mark

Vennemose (also Wenmoes, Wennemoos), Vennemose, Lille-, Vennemose Mark, Vestergaard (also Westergaard), Vestermark, Vester Søllstedt

Wartburg, Washington

Østergade


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)


Poor Fund [1] Cases relating to church, school and poverty 1637-1712.


Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Tønder Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Tønder" and then select your parish.



References[edit | edit source]

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/, Nov 2012
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 5te ed. Vol.25, Tønder Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1966