Aberford, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Aberford, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Tadcaster|
|Parish registers: 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Rural Deanery||New Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ABERFORD (St. Richard), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York, 7 miles (S. by E.) from Wetherby, and 186¾ (N. N. W.) from London, on the road to Carlisle; comprising the townships of Aberford, Parlington, and Sturton-Grange, and containing 1071 inhabitants, of whom 782 are in the township of Aberford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Aberford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Aberford Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Non-conformist churches[edit | edit source]
Non-conformist churches at Aberford included a Roman Catholic church and a Wesleyan Methodist chapel. Catholic records are on microfilm at the Family History Library as follows:
|Births and baptisms, 1806-1838||BRITISH 816627 Item 1|
|Births and baptisms, 1806-1838 (another filming of the same)||BRITISH 1482404 Item 20|
|Births and christenings, 1806-1838 (A-Z index)||BRITISH Fiche 6910218|
Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options, and click on List contiguous parishes.
The GENUKI: Church Database is also helpful in determining the names of the churches in the area. By typing the name of the parish, a list will show the names and denominations of other churches in a selected radius.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 1-5. Date accessed: 18 September 2013.