Aberdeenshire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Aberdeenshire Wiki Topics
Aberdeenshire.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources
Scotland
Aberdeenshire
Archives and Libraries

Archives

Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives
Town House
Broad Street
Aberdeen AB10 1AQ UK
Telephone: 01224 522513
Email: archives@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives

Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives exists to collect and preserve historical records relating to the City of Aberdeen and the surrounding historic counties, and to secure significant modern records for future generations.

Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives
Old Aberdeen House
Dunbar Street
Aberdeen AB24 3UJE UK
Telephone: 01224 481775
Email: archives@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire Archives

We provide an important service to members and officials of Aberdeen City Council while maintaining a strong public profile through our searchroom services and outreach activities. We also provide a professional archives service for Aberdeenshire Council. We ensure that the records are housed in secure accommodation under suitable environmental conditions on our two sites - the Town House and Old Aberdeen House.

Aberdeenshire and Moray Records
The Local Heritage Officer
East End School
Institution Road
Elgin, Moray IV30 1RP UK
Telephone: 01343 569011
Email: heritage@moray.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeenshire and Moray Records

Since local government reorganisation in 1996, the historic documents of Aberdeenshire Council along with some for the Moray Council have been administered by Aberdeen City Council. The records include those of the former counties of Aberdeen, Kincardine, Banff, and Moray up to 1975 and Grampian Region from 1975 to 1996. From 1996 the holdings include records from the current counties of Aberdeenshire and Moray.

Libraries

Aberdeenshire City Libraries

Aberdeen City Library
Central Library
Rosemount Viaduct
Aberdeen AB25 1GW UK
Telephone: 01224 652511
Email: ReferenceLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Email #2: LocalStudiesLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Aberdeen City Library

Airyhall Library
Springfield Road
Airyhall
Aberdeen AB15 7RF UK
Telephone: 01224 310536
Email: AiryhallLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Airyhall Library

Bridge of Don Library
Scotstown Road
Bridge of Don
Aberdeen AB22 8HH UK
Telephone: 01224 702800
Email: BridgeOfDonLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Bridge of Don Library

Bucksburn Library
Kepplehills Road
Bucksburn
Aberdeen AB21 9DG UK
Telephone: 01224 710830
Email: BucksburnLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Bucksburn Library

Central Library
Central Library
Rosemount Viaduct
Aberdeen AB25 1GW UK
Telephone: 01224 652500
Email: CentralLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Central Library

Cornhill Library
Cornhill Drive
Cornhill
Aberdeen AB16 5UT UK
Telephone: 01224 696209
Email: CornhillLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Cornhill Library

Cove Library
Loirston Avenue
Cove
Aberdeen AB12 3HE UK
Telephone: 01224 245350
Email: CoveLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Cove Library

Culter Library
189 North Deeside Road
Peterculter
Aberdeen AB14 0UJ UK
Telephone: 01224 732587
Email: CulterLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Culter Library

Cults Library
429 North Deeside Road
Cults
Aberdeen AB15 9SX UK
Telephone: 01224 868346
Email: CultsLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Cults Library

Dyce Library
Riverview Drive
Dyce
Aberdeen AB21 7NF UK
Telephone: 01224 723015
Email: DyceLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Dyce Library

Ferryhill Library
Fonthill Road
Ferryhill
Aberdeen AB11 6UP UK
Telephone: 01224 581576
Email: FerryhillLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Ferryhill Library

Kaimhill Library
Pitmedden Terrace
Kaimhill
Aberdeen AB10 7HR UK
Telephone: 01224 498160
Email: KaimhillLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Kaimhill Library

Kincorth Library
Provost Watt Drive
Kincorth
Aberdeen AB12 5NA UK
Telephone: 01224 872572
Email: KincorthLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Kincorth Library

Mastrick Library
Greenfern Road
Mastrick
Aberdeen AB16 6TR UK
Telephone: 01224 788558
Email: MastrickLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Mastrick Library

Northfield Library
Byron Square
Northfield
Aberdeen AB16 7LL UK
Telephone: 01224 695104
Email: NorthfieldLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Northfield Library

Tillydrone Library
Pennan Road
Tillydrone
Aberdeen AB24 2UD UK
Telephone: 01224 276975
Email: TillydroneLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Tillydrone Library

Torry Library
Victoria Road
Torry
Aberdeen AB11 9NJ UK
Telephone: 01224 879037
Email: TorryLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Torry Library

Woodside Library
356 Clifton Road
Woodside
Aberdeen AB24 4DX UK
Telephone: 01224 484534
Email: WoodsideLibrary@aberdeencity.gov.uk
Website: Woodside Library

Aberdeenshire Council Libraries

Aberchirder Library
111 Main Street
Aberchirder, Huntly AB54 7TB UK
Telephone: 01466 405951
Email: aberchirder.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Aberchirder Library

Aboyne Library
Community Centre
Bridgeview Road
Aboyne AB34 5JN UK
Telephone: 01339 267701
Email: aboyne.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Aboyne Library

Alford Library
Alford Community Campus
Greystone Road
Alford AB33 8TY UK
Telephone: 01975 520380
Email: alford.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Alford Library

Ballater Library
Station Square
Ballater AB35 5QB UK
Telephone: 01339 267700
Email: ballater.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Ballater Library

Balmedie Library
Eigie Road
Balmedie AB23 8YF UK
Telephone: 01358 281070
Email: balmedie.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Balmedie Library

Boddam Library
26 Queens Road
Boddam, Peterhead AB42 3AX UK
Telephone: 01779 403732
Email: boddam.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Boddam Library

Cairnbulg Library
Station Road
Cairnbulg, Fraserburgh AB43 8WQ UK
Telephone: 01346 415821
Email: cairnbulg.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Cairnbulg Library

Cruden Bay Library
Station Rd
Cruden Bay
Peterhead AB42 0NL UK
Telephone: 1779 403731
Email: crudenbay.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Cruden Bay Library

Ellon Library
Station Road
Ellon AB41 9AE UK
Telephone: 01358 281071
Email: ellon.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Ellon Library

Fraserburgh Library
King Edward Street
Fraserburgh AB43 9PN UK
Telephone: 01346 415820
Email: fraserburgh.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Fraserburgh Library

Huntly Library
Brander Library
The Square
Huntly AB54 8BR UK
Telephone: 01466 405950
Email: huntly.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Huntly Library

Insch Library
Insch Institute
Rannes Street
Insch AB52 6JJ UK
Telephone: 01464 635190
Email: insch.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Insch Library

Inverurie Library
Town Hall
Market Place
Inverurie AB51 3SN UK
Telephone: 01467 534784
Email: inverurie.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Inverurie Library

Kemnay Library
Kendal Road
Kemnay AB51 5RN UK
Telephone: 01467 538947
Email: kemnay.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Kemnay Library

Kintore Library
Castle Walk
Kintore AB51 0RU UK
Telephone: 01467 532605
Email: kintore.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Kintore Library

Meldrum Library
Colpy Road
Oldmeldrum AB51 0NT UK
Telephone: 01651 267391
Email: meldrum.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Meldrum Library

Mintlaw Library
Newlands Road
Mintlaw AB42 5GP UK
Telephone: 01771 623366
Email: mintlaw.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Mintlaw Library

New Pitsligo Library
79 High Street
New Pitsligo
Fraserburgh AB43 6NH UK
Telephone: 01771 676612
Email: newpitsligo.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: New Pitsligo Library

Newmachar Library
School Road
Newmachar AB21 0WB UK
Telephone: 01651 267390
Email: newmachar.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Newmachar Library

Peterhead Library
51 St Peter Street
Peterhead AB42 1QD UK
Telephone: 01779 403730
Email: peterhead.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Peterhead Library

Rosehearty Library
Pitsligo Street
Rosehearty AB43 7JL UK
Telephone: 01346 415822
Email: rosehearty.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Rosehearty Library

Strichen Library
59a Water Street
Strichen
Fraserburgh AB43 6ST UK
Telephone: 01771 637347
Email: strichen.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Strichen Library

Turriff Library
Grange Villa
The Square
Turriff AB53 4AE UK
Telephone: 01888 530830
Email: turriff.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Turriff Library

Westhill Library
Westhill Drive
Westhill
Skene AB32 6FY UK
Telephone: 01224 472871
Email: westhill.library@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Website: Westhill Library

University of Aberdeen

The Sir Duncan Rice Library
Bedford Rd
Aberdeen AB24 3AA UK
Telephone: 01224 273330
Email: library@abdn.ac.uk
Website: The Sir Duncan Rice Library
Website #2: The Sir Duncan Rice Library

Taylor Library
Dunbar St
Aberdeen AB24 3UB UK
Telephone: 01224 273330
Email: library@abdn.ac.uk
Website: Taylor Library

For a list of Aberdeenshire libraries, go to List of libraries in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll to Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire. The parishes in historic Aberdeenshire are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.

Museums

Alford Heritage Centre
3 Mart Rd
Alford AB33 8BZ UK
Telephone: 01975 562906
Email: alfordheritagemuseum@yahoo.co.uk}
Website: [https://www.facebook.com/AlfordHeritageMuseum Alford Heritage Centre

Website #2: Alford Heritage Centre

Gordon Highlanders Museum
St. Luke’s
Viewfield Road
Aberdeen AB15 7XH UK
Telephone: 01224 311200
Email: museum@gordonhighlanders.com
Website: Gordon Highlanders Museum

King's Museum
University of Aberdeen
Old Aberdeen Town House
High St
Aberdeen AB24 3EN UK
Telephone: 01224 274330
Email: kingsmuseum@abdn.ac.uk
Website: King's Museum

For a long list of Aberdeenshire museums, go to List of museums in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll to Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire. The parishes in historic Aberdeenshire are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.