To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Abbotsbury, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Abbotsbury, Dorset)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Abbotsbury, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Abbotsbury, Dorset
Abbotsbury St Nicholas, Dorset.jpg
Abbotsbury St Nicholas
Type Ancient Parish
Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Registration sub-district
Rural deanery
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Uggscombe
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Bishops Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ABBOTSBURY, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict, in the district of Weymouth, Dorset. The village stands in a vale, about a mile from the sea, 7¼ miles W of the Weymouth railway, and 9 SW of Dorchester. The parish contains also the hamlets of Rodden and Elworth; [1].

Here is a 1848 perspective of this parish:

ABBOTSBURY (St. Nicholas), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Weymouth, hundred of Uggscombe, Dorchester division of Dorset, 8¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Dorchester, and 129 (S. W. by W.) from London. With the hamlets of Rodden and Elworth.[2].

An additional chapel called St. Catherine's chapel, was supposed to have been erected in the reign of Edward IV., stands on an eminence south-west of the town, and serves only as a land-mark.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Abbotsbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-2001 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
OPC = Dorset Online Parish Clerks - free
ANC 1 = Dorset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Dorset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Dorset Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1936 (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Dorset Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Abbotsbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2001
1538-2001
1538-2001
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1715-1879
1770-1839
1730-1879
OPC 1731-1879
1771-1836
1731-1880
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1906
1813-1921
1813-2010
FMP 1726-1837
1567-1937
1659-1919
MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
TGEN



1504-1934
JOIN

1646-1836


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870-72. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Accessed: 31 Jan. 2013.
  3. Searching Parish Records online (Dorset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk