Abbas Combe, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Abbas Combe, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Abbas Combe

Guide to Abbas Combe,Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Abbas Combe, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horethorne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

ABBAS-COMBE, or Temple-Combe (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wincanton, hundred of Horethorne, E. division of Somerset, 4½ miles (S. by W.) from Wincanton. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Abbas Combe, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[11]
ABBAS COMBE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1753 1563-1753 1563-1812 1563-1812
FREG 1563-1871 1564-1913 1563-1902
IGI 1597-1812 (gaps)


MARR
1564-1836

NBI

1597-1847
PALL
1800-1812

SOPC 1563-1812
1564-1932
1560-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Union

The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 placed the responsibility for the care of the poor in England and Wales, from 1834 onward, on Poor Law Unions[12]. The Poor Law Unions and their workhouses took over this responsibility from the Church of England parishes. Prior to 1834 a few parishes or collections of parishes had established a few workhouses to help relieve the poor and provide indoor relief in the form of food, clothes and shelter.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[14] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/AbbasCombe/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  7. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  8. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013. Described as Templecombe.
  12. England and Wales Poor Law
  13. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
  14. Land Tax Assessment Records