To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Århus County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aarhus County, Denmark)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Aarhus-Denmark.png


Guide to Århus ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History[edit | edit source]

Århus County is a former county of Denmark on the Jutland peninsula. It was created in 1970 by the fusion of the Aarhus, Randers and Skanderborg counties. The county was abolished effective 1 January 2007, when almost all of it merged into Region Central Jutland. A very small portion was merged into Region North Jutland. At the time of its abolishment, more than 20,000 people worked for the county.
[1]

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Many records from places in Århus County are held by the Danish State Archives in Viborg. Records are also available from the State Archives' website ArkivalierOnline.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Districts [edit | edit source]

  • Framlev Herred 
  • Hads Herred 
  • Hasle Herred
  • Ning Herred 
  • Sabro Herred 
  • Vester Lisbjerg Herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below.

Parishes[edit | edit source]

LyngåHadstenVittenHaldumFolbyGrundførSpørringTrigeSøftenØlstedLisbjergElevElstedLadingSabroFårupVejlbyRisskovÅrhus Vor FrueKastedTilstHasleÅbyBrabrandSønder ÅrslevLyngbySkørringSjelleSkivholmeBorumGaltenSkovbyFramlevStorringStjærHarlevOrmslevKoltVibySkådeHolmeTranbjergTisetMårsletBederMallingAstrupTulstrupHvilstedTorrildOdderNølevSaksildBjeragerRandlevHundslundFallingØrtingHallingGosmerGyllingAlrøTunøAarhus Map.jpg

Map of parishes

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Estates (Godser)[edit | edit source]

  • Åkær
  • Århus bispestols gods
  • Århus domkirkes gods
  • Århus domkirkes øverste kapellanis gods
  • Århus Frue præsts gods
  • Århus hospitals gods
  • Århus hospitalspræsts gods
  • Århus lektorats gods
  • Århus rektorats gods
  • Århus stiftsprovstis gods