Øvrebø Parish, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Øvrebø, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Vest-Agder County
Øvrebø

Guide to Øvrebø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Øvrebø Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

See Vennesla clerical district.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 34) for Vennesla clerical district includes Vennesla, Øvrebø, and Hægeland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

Database at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:

17 Aasen

23 Bakken 5 Berge 28 Birkaasen 29 Bjørnaaskrogen 3 Bue

26 Dynestøl

21 Eigeland ytre 36 Engeland 1 Engelsvandet

35 Fjeldet 12 Fjeldkjøn 32 Fjellestad

23 Greibesland 19 Grødal

31 Haaresland 9 Halland 20 Hegland 4 Holtene 7 Homme 7 Homsmoen 13 Hægeland ytre

10 Iglebæk lille 6 Iglebæk store

14 Knollen 18 Kravlen

32 Leinhei 29 Li 6 Liene 37 Loland 1 Lolandstølen 6 Lyngmoen

33 Midbø 5 Moene 8 Mushom

25 Opsal

30 Raustad 33 Reiersdal 24 Rolleivstad

34 Sandrep 28 Sangesland 35 Skarp-Engeland 16 Slottet 16 Stallemo 16 Stallemobakken 15 Stallemoliene 17 Stallemosagen 22 Stupstad

11 Topstad

2 Vatnedal 4 Vehus 28 Vormebrokken

26 Øvrebø

The name of farms listed in Åsen's   Øvrebø-Boka 1 Gard or Ætt 1951 are as follows:

Almedal, Almen lille, Almen store, Amerika, Aust Der, Austegarden, Austerhauane, Austgarden,    Bakkan, Bakken, Bakken- Stallemo, Berge, Bergemonen, Birkåsen, Bue, Buekleiv, Byttingsmyr,    Dalehepte, Der aust, Der heime, Der inne, Der nede, Der nord, Der oppe, Der ute, Der vest, Donbakken, Dynestøl,    Eikeland, Einermyra, Engeland, Engelandsbakken, Engelsvatnet, Engelsåsen,    Fjellestad, Fjellkjønn, Forbruksforeninga, Furuneset,    Gjelet, Godåsen, Greipesland, Grostøl, Grødal, Gullringsdalen – Slettand,    Halland, Hauane, Haugen, Heggland, Heime Der, Hestvollen, Holtan, Holte, Homme, Homsmonen, Homstean, Husmannsplassar, Hægeland, Håmmåren, Håresland,    Ilebekk, Ilebekk lille, Indregarden, Inne Der,    Kilen, Kjærran, Kjønna, Kniingen, Knollen, Knudane, Knutten, Kravlen, Kringlebakken, Krogane, Krossen, Langebakken,    Langkjerrmyr, Lian, Lie, Linkjønn, Livollen, Loland, Lolandsbakken, Lone, Lunden, Lunnan, Lunnane, Lunnebakken, Lunnevoll, Lyngmonen, Løbakken, Løpenr,    Midbø, Midgarden, Monen, Mushom, Mylla, Myra, Myran, Mørkevatnet,    Nede Der, Nedlagde bruk, Neregarden, Nergarden, Nesan, Nord Der, Nordgarden, Nordli, Nygård, Nyvoll,    Oppe Der, Opsal, Orreleiksheia,    Plass, Prestegarden,    Raustad, Reiersdal, Rollestad, Rønningbakken,    Saga, Sagbruket, Sandrib, Sandåsen, Sangesland, Sangeslandsmonen, Skarpengland, Skottedalen, Skudane, Skuland, Slettand – Gullringsdalen, Slettebakken, Slottet, Spansmyr, Stallemo, Stallemo-Bakken, Stean, Stein, Stemmen, Stemmyr, Stupstad, Stølen, Støsvatnet, Støyden,    Tjovemyran, Topstad, Trettemonen, Tridje bruket, Trøngslehei, Tueland, Tverbakken, Tøa,    Ute Der,    Vatnedal, Vehus, Vest Der, Vestegarden, Vesterhauan, Vestgarden, Vollan, Vollane, Vollen, Vormebrokka,    Ytrejordet,    Øverbø, Øydegarden,    Årvoll, Åsen, Åsen nedre

Probate Records

Mandal judicial district
*1667-1887 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Kristianstad deanery
*1771-1810 Family History Library
*1771-1810 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Åsen, Jon.  Øvrebø-Boka 1 Gard or Ætt.  Kristiansand S.: Edgar Høgfeldt A.S., 1951