Øster Hassing Parish, Ålborg, Denmark

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ålborg
Øster Hassing

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Øster Hassing Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Øster Hassing Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aalborghus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ålborg
Herred (district) Kær
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 35
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 6
Gods (estate) Ålborg hospital gods; Kær herreds provsti; Langholt gods; Vrå gods; Kær Herredsret; Hvetbo Herredsret ; Gettrup gods.


Place Names

Abildbak, Abildholt, Abildkær

Bollen, Brogaard, Broholt, Baalhøj, Bødkergaard

Egen, Egetved, Elmelund, Engholm, Esrum Mark

Finstrupgaard, Fruerlund, Fælledgaarden, Føltved

Gandrup, Gandrupgaard, Gravenskær, Gaaser, Gaaser Enge, Gaaser Kirke, Gaaser Kær, Gaaser Aa

Haraldsminde, Haven, Havreholm, Hedegaard, Hjortrimmegrøften, Hjortrimmen, Holmsminde, Holtet, Holtetgaard, Hølund

Kirkegaard, Knorhede, Kæraa

Langtvedsig, Langtvedsminde, Lille Klemmen, Lille Østeraagaard

Mellemhaven, Mellergaard, Molehave, Myren

Nedre Føltved, Nejrup, Nygaard, Nørhave, Nørlund, Nørregaard

Ovre Føltved

Pallesgaard, Pallisgaardsminde, Pilen, Poppelgaard, Poulstrup, Pukkelgaard

Rugholm, Ryborg, Rævebakke, Raahøj

Sandagergaard, Sandbjerg Gaarde, Skindbjerg, Skindbjerggaard, Skiveren, Skovbakhus, Skovgaard, Skrold, Skrold Grøft, Starbæk, Store Klemmen, Søndergaard, Sønderkær

Teglgaard, Toftgaard

Vadet, Vestergaard, Vesterhaven, Vesterheden, Vester Nejsig, Vester Toftegaard, Vestervang, Vibholt, Vibholt Grøft

Øster Aslund, Østergaard, Øster Hassing, Øster Hassing Kær, Østerheden, Øster Nejsig, Øster Toftegaard, Østeraa

Aagaard

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Aalborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Aalborg" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 3d ed. Vol. 4, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.