To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ørsta Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ørsta, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Ørsta Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Ørsten
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Ørsten
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Søndre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ørsta clerical district includes Ørsta and Vartdal parishes. Ørsta was divided from Volda clerical district in 1900 and Vartdal from Hareid parish in Ulstein clerical district in 1876. For earlier records see Volda and Ulstein clerical districts.


The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1831-1921.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Ørsta / Vartdalstranda: 1878-1912

Ørsta / Ørsta: 1883-1941

Volda / Ørsta: 1781, 1831-1889

Volda: 1713-1720, 1741-1832

Ulstein / Hareid: 1848-1939

Ulstein: 1754-1847

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666, 1701, 1801, 1865, 1875 see Volda
  • Folketellinga 1900 for Ørsta (Møre og Romsdal). This 1900 census is an index to Ørsta and is available on microfiche no. 6030184 Fiches 1-2 available at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Standal, Ragnar,Mot nye heimland : utvandringa frå Hjørundfjord, Vartdal og Ørsta, Volda : Utvandrarnemnda, 1985. A history of the people who emigrated from Hjørundfjord, Vartdal, and Ørsta in Møre og Romsdal county, Norway to the United States of America. FHL 948.35 W2s A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.35-W2s - MOTNYE.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

34 Aam indre, 32 Aambø, 43 Aarflot, 15 Aarskog, 26 Aarsæteren, 33 Aasen, 56 Aasen,

22 Barstad, 33 Berget, 38 Bjørdal, 37 Bjørdalsbakken, 35 Brauteset, 19 Brekken, 21 Brudevold, 35 Brune, 20 Brunegote,

59 Digernes,

16 Engeset,

55 Fagerhol, 30 Follestad, 51 Fremreaasen, 24 Fyldal,

61 Garsletten, 33 Grosmyren, 2 Grøivik,

5 Haavold, 10 Hagen, 4 Halse, 54 Hammeren, 42 Haugen, 53 Hovden indre, 58 Hovden ytre, 36 Hovdenak,

27 Kolaas, 40 Krøvelen lille,

25 Langstølen, 22 Leitet, 3 Liadal, 7 Lianes, 8 Lystad,

18 Mo, 31 Moene, 12 Mork, 29 Myklebost, 46 Mæle,

45 Nosen, 17 Nupen,

9 Opsa, 47 Ose, 48 Oseborg, 38 Osvold,

64 Raudøen ,23 Rebbestad,1 Rjaanes, 34 Rongen, 50 Rysten midtre,

6 Sandvik, 49 Sandvikrysten, 60 Selbervik, 44 Sporstølen, 62 Steinnes indre, 45 Storenosen, 11 Sætre, 61 Søreim,

39 Vatne, 15 Velle, 14 Vik, 13 Vinjevold,

57 Ytrestølen,

28 Øi

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1799-99: Probates are found in Søre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names