To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ørskog Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ørskog, Norway)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ørskog, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Ørskog Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Ørskog
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Ørskog, Søkkelven
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Nordre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ørskog clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Ørskog and Sykkylven. Included Stranda and Stordal until 1759. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1720-1925. Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Ørskog: 1720-1877

Ørskog / Sykkylven: 1865-1937

Ørskog / Ørskog: 1852-1925

Stranda: 1759-1881

Stranda / Stordal: 1854-1943

Stranda / Stranda: 1854-1938

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Ørskog clerical district was kept by the parish priest and includes the parishes of Ørskog, Sykkylven, Stordal, Stranda, Norddal, Sunnylven and Geiranger. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Ørskog clerical district includes the parishes of Ørskog and Sykkylven and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. It is also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen 1845 for Ørskog prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). The 1845 census for Ørskog clerical district includes the parishes of Ørskog and Sykkylven. It lists statistics only, and is available on microfilm at the Family History LIbrary.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875.\ The 1875 census for Ørskog clerical district includes the parishes of Ørskog and Sykkylven and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Kjølås, Gerhard, and Waksvik, E.O., Ørskog gjennom tidene, Ørskog : Utgjeve av Ørskog Sparebank, 1964-1969, 1990. history of Ørskog in Møre og Romsdal county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. FHL 948.35/O2 H2k Farm name indexes to volumes 2 and 3 are found in the following links. File:948.35-O2 H2k v2 - ORSKOG-2.pdf, File:948.35-O2 H2k V3 - ORSKOG.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

14 Aamdaam, 31 Akslevold, 51 Almskaret, 38 Apalset,

25 Baardsgjerde, 32 Barlindbrekke, 58 Bjørnevik, 33 Braute, 28 Breiskaret, 6 Bøen, 38 Bøen,

29 Egge,

53 Furnes, 57 Furstranden,

38 Gaupefløget, 15 Gausnes, 20 Giskemo, 24 Gjerde,

2 Halvardsæteren, 38 Hammeren, 6 Hatlen, 2 Haugen, 21 Haukaas, 3 Hjelle, 4 Hjellereite, 34 Holen,

12 Jarskar,

61 Kirkestein, 38 Kleven, 48 Klokk, 43 Kraaken,

27 Lande nedre, 26 Lande øvre, 40 Langskibsøen, 35 Li, 17 Liset, 16 Lisetvik, 11 Ludolfpladsen, 46 Løkedalen, 45 Løset, 52 Løset, 54 Løvold,

47 Melset, 28 Myrene,

44 Nysæteren,

59 Opsal,

41 Ramstad, 9 Reite, 22 Ryssebøen, 56 Rønes,

60 Sandvik, 13 Skarbøen, 50 Skaret, 48 Slettereiten, 8 Sollien nedre, 34 Solnørdalen, 7 Steinene, 28 Steinholt, 37 Stigen, 36 Stillingshaugen, 37 Storvik, 30 Svartløken, 42 Svinset, 5 Sæter, 28 Søholt, 36 Søholtstranden, 49 Søvik nedre,

22 Tuene, 39 Tysse,

7 Utbø,

10 Vagsvik, 23 Valgjerdmo, 11 Vestre, 55 Vinsnes, 1 Viset, 18 Vold nedre, 19 Vold øvre, 28 Volden,

22 Ørskog

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district. 1791-1852: Probates are found in Nordre Sunnmøre judicial district. 1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

http://www.dokpro.uio.no/rygh_ng/rygh_form.html Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names]