Viby Parish, Östergötland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Östergötland County

Guide to Viby Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Viby Parish, Östergötland, Sweden Genealogy
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Östergötland
Landskap Östergötland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here

Place Names


Berget, Bosgård Brunn, Brännegård



Fattigstugan, Fogelbrunn, Furuträd, Försvarslöst folk Fridhem

Gatan på Prestegårds ägor, Gatan på Lillegårds ägor, Gropegård, Grönlund

Hagen, Härads Allmänningen, Holken, Härads Vallen vid Fallsbackared

Kappegård, Kappestugan, Klämmestorp, Klockareflottorna, Kronovallen, Krösahagen, Kårarp Källstugan, Kärr, Kärret

Liden å Wiby Källegårds ägor, Lilla Stålarp, Lillegård, Lund, Lundstorp, Lunta Berget, Lunta Frälsegård, Lunta Lillegårg, Lunta Storgård, Länsmans Boställe, Löden i Uljebergs ägor, Löten på Prestegårds ägor, Löten på Brännegårds ägor, Löten på Postegårds ägor, Löten på Källegårds ägor, Löten på Södergårds ägor

Mörby Frälsegård, Mörby Norrgård, Mörby Skattegård, Mörby Storgård, Mörby Utjord, Mörby Westergård

Norrige, Nybygget, Nyhem Nytorp


Plågan på Skorteby Norrgårds ägor, Plågan på Skorteby Augments ägor, Postegård, Prestegård

Rom, Rydjan, Röda Stugan

Skorteby Augment, Skorteby Mellangården, Skorteby Kronogården, Skorteby Norrgården, Skorteby Rusthållet, Skorteby Ödegården, Soknestugan, Stenstorp, Stora Stålarp, Stålarps Lilla, Stålarps Stora, Stupekullen, Svarfvaregård, Södergård

Trädgårdshemmet, Tomten

Ubbarp, Uljeberg

Warghagen, Wiby Baggård, Wiby Berget, Wiby Bosgård, Wiby Brännegård, Wiby Gropegård, Wiby Kappegård, Wiby Källegård, Wiby Lillegård, Wiby Länsmans Boställe, Wiby Norrige, Wiby Postegård, Wiby Prestegård, Wiby Svarfvaregård, Wiby Södergård, Wiby Ödegård, Wägstorp

Ödegård, Österskog Österskog på Postegårds ägor, Österskog på Södergårds ägor

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital,, and are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Östergötland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Östergötland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


Viby, Husförhörslängd 1836-1844, Ortregister