Åsele Parish, Västerbotten, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Åsele parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Västerbotten County
Åsele Parish

Guide to Åsele Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

The first Swedish settlement in Åsele Municipality was in Gafsele south of Åsele. It was created in 1799 and named in honour of Queen Frederica Dorothea Wilhelmina of Sweden. Other nearby parishes were named Dorotea and Vilhelmina, but Åsele refused to take any of these names, as they were very proud of themselves and the town.
In 1974 the former market town Åsele was amalgamated with Dorotea and Fredrika. In 1980 the Dorotea part was detached, forming a new Dorotea Municipality.
[1]

Place Names

Almsele, Avasjö

Berget, Björksele, Bomsjön, Borgen, Borgsjö

Frosnäs

Gafsele, Gigsele, Gulsele, Gärdsjö

Holmträsk, Häggsjö, Hälla

Idvattnet, Insjö

Kullerbacka, Kvällträsk, Kyrkplatsen,

Lill-Lögda, Lomsjö, Långvattnet, Lugnet, Lägsta, Lögdaberg, Lövliden, Lövnäs

Marielund, Mossaträsk

Noret västra (Noret west), Noret södra (Noret south), Noret östra (Noret east)

Oxvattnet

Prästbordet Rissjön yttre (Rissjön outer), Rissjön övre (Rissjön upper)

Sandsjön, Siksjön, Skolan, Solberg, Stennäs, Stnesundslandet, Storjsön, Svartbäcken, Sör-Åsele

Tallberget, Tegelträsk, Tennsjön, Tjäl, Tjärn, Torvsele, Torvsjön, Trehörningen

Vaksjö, Varpsjö, Västanbäck, Västansjö, Västerås

Yxsjö

Åkerberget, Älgsjö



To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes




Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västerbotten Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västerbotten" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Åsele parish, Husförhörslängd, 1845-1854, Ort register.