Årdal Parish, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Sogn og Fjordane County
Årdal


Guide to Årdal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Church Records

Årdal clerical district contains the parish registers from the parish of Årdal. It was separated from Lærdal clerical district in 1863. The Family History Library has microfilm of the church books, 1834-1910

For earlier records see Lærdal clerical district.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.
Årdal: 1834-1939

Lærdal: 1711-1834

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1801 see Lærdal clerical district.
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census for Årdal clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Ve, Søren and Krossen, Dagfinn, Bygdebok for Årdal, Årdal : Utgjeven av Årdal kommune, 1971-. A cultural history of Årdal, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway and a genealogy of the people and their farms. FHL 948.34/A1 H2v A farm name index to volume 3 is found in the following link. File:948.34-A1 H2v V.3 - ARDAL 3.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

22 Aabøle, 4 Aardalstangen med Tolsgaarden, 28 Aarebru, 14 Afdalen, 29 Aspreim

26 Brekken

30 Dalaakre

17 Haugene, 8 Hellegaard med Ødegaarden, 16 Hestetun, 12 Hjelle, 21 Holsæter, 3 Hovland, 27 Hæreid

31 Javnaakre

6 Lægreid

17 Midtun, 10 Moen, 1 Muggeteigen, 20 Mæleim

2 Natviken, 25 Nondal vestre, 23 Nondal østre

33 Ofredal øvre

5 Præstegaarden

32 Røisene

32 Seim, 7 Stedjene, 11 Svaleim

24 Torpen

9 Ve, 13 Vetti, 13 Vettismorken, 15 Volddal, 17 Voldene

19 Øfsttun, 18 Øren.

Probate Records

1666-1876: Probates may be found in Indre Sogn judicial district.

1766-1810: Clerical probates may be found in Sogn Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names