To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ålesund Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ålesund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Ålesund Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld N/A
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag N/A
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Nordre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Contains priest and sexton records from Ålesund parish. It was separated from Borgund clerical district in 1858. For earlier records see Borgund clerical district. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1855-1929.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Ålesund: 1855-1934

Borgund: 1788, 1803, 1826-1879, 1916-1924

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1801 census see Borgund clerical district.
  • Folketellinga 1865 for [nr.] 1501 Ålesund. Index to the 1865 census for Ålesund is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1791-1852: Probates are found in Nordre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery