Åker Parish, Bornholm, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Bornholm County
Åker

Guide to Åker, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Å Church

History

Åker and Åkirke are the same place. Until 1847, its parish records were recorded together with the parish records of Åkirkeby Købstad. On sa.dk, if you search for Åker parish you will see parish records available beginning in 1813. This is misleading, the earlier records are cataloged under Åkirkeby and they begin in 1648. Sometime after 2000, Åker combined with Pedersker to form a new chapelry. The church (Å Church) is the oldest and largest in Bornholm.

Åker Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Dalby (1060-1066), Lund (1066-1560), Sjælland (1560-1922), København (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Åker (Early-Post-2000), Åker-Pedersker (Post-2000-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Bornholm
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Bornholm
Herred (district) Sønder
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number NA
1794 – 1869 Lægd number NA
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 6 / 25-26


Place Names

Aakirke, Aakirkeby, Aaker, Aaker Højlyng, Aakirke, Almindingen, Aspebakker,
Bagergaard, Bakkegaard (St.), Bavnegaard, Bodelyng Huse, Boderne, Brandsgaard, Brogaard, Bukkegaard, Byvangen, Bækkegaard, Bøsthøj,
Dammegaard, Duegaard,
Egeby, Ellesgaard, Eskesgaard, Faareby,
Grammegaarde, Grødby, Grødby Aa, Gusegaard,
Hallegaard, Hundshale,
Kalby, Kalbygaard, Kannikegaard, Kanniketuerne, Klintegaard, Kongensmark, Krakgaard, Krusegaard, Kuregaard,
Langemyregaard, Lauegaard, Lilleborg, Limensgade, Loftsgaard, Lynggaard, Læsaa,
Munkegaard, Myreagre, Myregaard,
Nyby,
Paa Bakken, Paa Løkker, Paa Tras, Piberegaard, Præstegaard,
Risegaard, Riseskov, Rybakke, Rømersdal,
Saksebro, Sandegaard, Sankt Hans Kirke, Savskærergaard, Sigd, Skagelfaldet, Skovgaard, Sletteenge, Smaalyngen, Soldatergaard, Sortebjerg, Spidlegaard, Strøby, Stubbegaard, Styrsbro,
Tvillinghuse,
Ugleenge,
Valingebjerg, Vallensgaard, Vallensgaard Huse, Vasegaard, Vejrmøllegaard, Vester Boderne, Værfeldsgaard,
Østervang

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Bornholm County: Bodilsker, Nylarsker, Pedersker, Vestermarie, Østermarie, Åkirkeby

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Bornholm Recordsfor a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Bornholm" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/

-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø, Præstø, og Bornholms Amt, København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921