To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ågerup Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ågerup, København, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

The parish records begin in 1646, but there is a gap in the records from 1710 to 1730. Traditionally Ågerup and Kirkerup formed a chapelry. However, sometime between 1891 and 2000, the Hvedstrup-Fløng chapelry was dissolved. Fløng became its own chapelry and Hvedstrup was added here to form the Ågerup-Kirkerup-Hvedstrup chapelry. In addition to the records typically kept, the parish priest also kept mandtalslister from 1781-1836. These are similar to the Swedish mantalslängder. In this chapelry, they can be used to supplement the census and traditional parish records.

Ågerup Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), København (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Ågerup-Kirkerup (Early-Post-1891), Ågerup-Kirkerup-Hvedstrup (Post-1891-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Roskilde
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 København
Herred (district) Merløse
Kommune (municipality) Sømme
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 13
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 44
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 1 / 48
Gods (estate) Roskilde Duebrødre klosters gods; Sonnerup gods; Roskilde jomfruklosters gods; Valbygård gods; Ågerup-Kirkerup sognekalds mensalsgods


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Arnakke, Arnakke Mark,

Bedeskjoldshuset, Biledshuset, Bolund, Bredetved,

Duebjerg,

Ebberup Mosehuse, Enghave,

Enghavehuset, Eriksholm, Eriksholm Avlsgård, Eriksholm Mark,

Jernhatten,

Kongstrup, Kærlingebjerg,

Langholm, Langholmshuset, Lille Valby, Lykkegård,

Maltesminde, Marsvinsholme, Munkholm, Munkholm Øster,

Nyvang, Nyvang Huse, Nyvangshusene,

Oldgårdshusene,

Risø Huse,

Sandbakke, Savskærerbakken, Skippinge, Slæggerup, Slæggerupeng, Store Valby,

Søgårds Enghave,

Teglovnshuset, Tempelhuse, Tempelkrog, Torup, Torupsgården, Tranebjærghuset, Tranehuset,

Valbygård,

Aagerup, Aagerup Kro


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/, Jan. 2012.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol. 2, Frederiksborg, København, og Holbæk Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920.