Åfjord (Aa, Å) Parish, Sør-Trøndelag, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Åfjord, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Åfjord (Aa, Å) Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Trondheim |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1680-1804: Trondheim 1804-1919: Søndre Trondhjem |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Sør-Trøndelag |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | Aafjorden |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | Aafjorden |
| Fogderi | Fosen |
| Sorenskriveri | Fosen |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Åfjord clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Åfjord and Jøssund. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1750-1925.
Åfjord (Aa, Å) clerical district: 1750-1950
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 30: Fosen deanery includes the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 19: Fosen fogderi, Inderøy fogderi, Selbu fogderi, Namdal fogderi and Stjørdal fogderi Digital Archives
- Census (manntall) 1701, no. 12: Fosen fogderi include the parishes of Åfjord (Aa, Å) and Jøssund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- Sjeleregister, 1794, 1825-1827: Two Sjeleregisters covering 1794 and 1825-1827 for Fosen clerical district, including the parishes of Hemne, Hitra, Frøya, Ørland, Stadsbygd, Åfjord, and Bjørnør exist and are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- 1801: The 1801 census for Åfjord clerical district includes the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1835, 1845, 1855: Special 1835, 1845, and 1855 censuses for Åfjord clerical district, including the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund exist and are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- 1865: The 1865 census for Åfjord clerical district include the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives). as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this
Collection; index and images
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this
Collection; index and images
- 1875: The 1875 census for Åfjord clerical district includes the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library, and online at Digital Archives
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891: The 1891 census for Åfjord clerical district include the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund and is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900: The 1900 census for Åfjord clerical district include the parishes of Åfjord and Jøssund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) for Jøssund and Åfjord (Aa, Å) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
- 1910: The 1910 census for Åfjord (Aa, Å) is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Hansen, Hans K. Åfjord og Jøssund gårdshistorie, Trondheim: Utgitt av Jøssund Kommune, 1956. A genealogy of the people and the farms they lived on in Åfjord and Jøssund in Sør-Trøndelag county. Volume 1 covers the years 1500-1800 and volume 2 covers 1801-1875. FHL 948341A1 D2h A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.41-A1 D2h V 2 - ÅFORD.pdf
 |
The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below. |
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
For a longer list of farm names than the list below, click on the link under Farm Books.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
58 Aa 62 Aakerneset 26 Aarbo 58 Aarneset 47 Arnevik
11 Bakkan 15 Berdal 52 Bratset 41 Breivold 53 Brulien 20 Butli 30 By 35 Bølsmarken 18 Børmarken
7 Dolmset
61 Eid 64 Eidem
49 Finset 54 Fjeldsaune 39 Flenstad 25 Forfot 57 Frønes
31 Gilde 62 Grimstad 33 Grøtan 10 Grøtan med Kvitlan
29 Haastad 12 Halsaunet 1 Hestvik 9 Humstad
14 Imsen
55 Kammen 44 Karlaunet 56 Kjørem 60 Kobberneset 51 Kroken 50 Kroksnesset 5 Kvendal med Bækken
38 Lysvatne 67 Løvøen
19 Maamyr 6 Markenes 28 Mo 59 Monstad 4 Morken 43 Morvold 37 Mælan 16 Mølsletten 46 Møri 45 Møriaunet
34 Naustan 17 Nittamarken
3 Olderneset 24 Ommunddal
63 Raanes 48 Rotnes 30 Rundtom 27 Rømmen
66 Selnes 8 Skaset 21 Skjern 32 Staven 60 Strand
3 Taarnes 2 Tørhogg
33 Ugdal
13 Valleraunet 36 Vasstrand 40 Vinnan
65 Øian 42 Øikaunet
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
1681-1874: Probates may be found in Fosen judicial district.
1691-1814: Clerical probates may be found in Fosen Deanery.
