Älvkarleby Parish, Uppsala, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Uppsala County
Älvkarleby Parish


Guide to Älvkarleby Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Älvkarleby Church

History

In the Early Iron Age, 6th-12th century, the population began to grow and people supported themselves on farming, hunting, fishing and livestock. The first mention of Älvkarleby is found in documents from the 13th century.
[1]

Älvkarleby Parish, Uppsala, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift, 1989- Uppsala
Pastorat -1640 Tierp och Älvkarleby, 1641-1909 Älvkarleby, 1909-1961 Älvkarleby
Län 1633-1650 Örbyhus (del av Livgedinget), 1651- Uppsala
Landskap Uppland
Härad Örbyhus
Tingslag -1800 Älvkarleby, 1801-1883 Västland and Älvkarleby, 1884-1970 Uppsala läns norra Domsaga
Domsaga 1680-1714 see Björklinge, 1715-1980 Uppsala läns norra, Tierp
Fögderi 1720-1878 Femte, 1879-1885 Fjärde, Örbyhus, 1967- Tierp
Kommun 1863- Älvkarleby
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Dragon-Corps
Norra Upsala Sqvadron, Norra Uplands Kompani
Norra Roslags 1:a Båtsmans-Kompani
Extra Båtsmans-Roteringen
Norra Roslags Första Båtsmans kompani
-1791 Livregementet Till Häst
Norra Upplands kompani
1791-1815 Livregementsbrigadens Kyrassiärkår
Norra Upplands skvadron
1815- Livregementets Dragonkår (Dragoner)
Norra Upplands skvadron


Place Names

Alvsäter, Ambricka

Berget, Berget, Björknäs, Björnbo, Böle, Brinken, Bruket, Båtsanstorp, Båtsmanshusen

Finntorpet, Fisket, Fläringe, Flät, Fråganbo, Fårskär

Glamsen, Grundet, Gårdskär

Harnäs, Hyttön, Hårsta

Karl XIII Bro, Karlsäter, Klintesdal, Kolartorpet, Kronkvarn, Kronsågen, Kronsäter, Kulan, Kullen, Kungsgården

Lindan, Lindesberg, Lindesdal, Lövlund, Lugnet, Långhällarna, Långsand

Marma, Marn, Mohäll, Mon, Mossen, Mullbrotorpet, Myrbo, Myren

Nedergården, Norrfjärden, Nytorp, Näsboda

Prästgården, Prästvreten

Rotskär, Rövgärdet

Siggeboda, Skarpvret, Skogen, Skubbviken, Skutskär, Snåret, Stäckån, Stallarna, Stavrummet, Stentorpet, Stranden, Svedden, Sågarbo, Sörmyren,

Tebo, Tensmyra, Tisboda, Tomteberget, Torvstig, Tövalitet,

Västanån, Västerboda, Västermarn

Ytterboda

Åminne, Åsmyren

Älvkarleö Bruk

Öns Bruk, Östanån, Överboda,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Uppsala Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Uppsala and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Älvkarleby,Husförhörslängd 1846-1850, Ortregister Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Älvkarleby Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). May 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/