Vermont State Archives

United States

Vermont

Washington County

Archives and Libraries

Vermont State Archives

Vermont State Archives Contact Information E-mail: sos.archives@vermont.gov Address: Secretary of State Office 1078 U.S. Rte. 2, Middlesex Montpelier, VT 05633-7701 Telephone: 802-828-2308 Hours and holidays: Reference room: 9am to 4pm, Monday-Friday - please note that no records will be retrieved after 3:30pm Internet sites and databases: Vermont State Archives and Records Administration Collection Description Some of the Vermont State Archive collections most used in family history research are highlighted below. Vital Records: Vermont does not restrict access to vital records. All vital records in the state registry are accessible online. See Vital Records to find out how to access birth, marriage and death records online. Probate Court Records: You may learn about your ancestor among wills, estate settlements, guardianship records, or other types of probate records. For a list of probate records in the archives, enter 'probate' in the keyword field of the Research Guide, and Submit Query, or search the list of agencies that may have probate-related collections. Military Records: To locate military records for Vermonters who served in wars from Revolutionary War to World War II, enter 'military' in the keyword field of the Research Guide, and Submit Query. You may also search the list of agencies for related military collections. To document ancestors who served in the military after 1919, contact the National Archives. Naturalization: Records that were generated during the process of your ancestor becoming a US citizen might be found at the county court, state archives, National Archives, or United States Citizen and Immigration Services depending on the year of naturalization. Use census records to determine if and when your ancestor became a citizen. Learn which naturalization records are held at the Vermont State Archives: enter 'naturalization' in the keyword field of the Research Guide, and Submit Query, or search the list of agencies that may have immigration- or naturalization-related collections. Tips Information for Researchers First time researchers need to fill out a registration form to research at the archives. The Reference Room hours are 9 a.m.–4 p.m., Tuesday–Friday. Review the Reference Room Guidelines before your first visit. Finding Aids Browse the online databases, published guides, and indexes to locate and learn how to use collections at the Vermont State Archives. See Explore Vermont Archival Records. Before you visit the archives, spend some time becoming familiar with the collections listed in these databases and guides. Discover collections that may document your ancestor that have not been thought of before. For example, the Research Guide page includes a list of agency records available in the Vermont State Archives. Choose the agency for which you want to locate records, such as "Vermont State Hospital" collection, Submit Query, and available Vermont State Hospital records will be listed, including Patient Records, 1891-1969. You may also search by keyword, by both agency and keyword, or using other options on the page. Sources