Yukon, Canada Genealogy

Canada

Yukon

Guide to Yukon ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Yukon Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Biography Business and Commerce Cemeteries Census Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration and Immigration First Nations Gold Rush	Compiled Genealogies Land and Property Military Records Naturalization and Citizenship Newspapers Obituaries Occupations Online Records Probate Records Vital Records
Yukon Background
History Gazetteers	Maps
Cultural Groups
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Archives and Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Yukon Information

• Yukon is the smallest and most western of Canada's three federal territories. Whitehorse is the capital and Yukon's only city.

History

• Long before the arrival of Europeans, central and southern Yukon was populated by First Nations people.
• Sites of archeological significance in Yukon hold some of the earliest evidence of the presence of human habitation in North America. The sites safeguard the history of the first people and the earliest First Nations of the Yukon.
• Coastal and inland First Nations had extensive trading networks.
• European incursions into the area began early in the 19th century with the fur trade, followed by missionaries.
• By the 1870s and 1880s, gold miners began to arrive. This drove a population increase that justified the establishment of a police force, just in time for the start of the Klondike Gold Rush in 1897.
• The increased population coming with the gold rush led to the separation of the Yukon district from the Northwest Territories and the formation of the separate Yukon Territory in 1898.
• Yukon, also called Yukon Territory and referred to by some as the Yukon is the smallest and westernmost of Canada's three territories.
• It also is the least populated province or territory in Canada, with a population of 35,874 people as of the 2016 Census.
• Whitehorse, the territorial capital and Yukon's only city.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Yukon Research Links to articles on getting started with Yukon research. Guided Research How to Locate Your Ancestor in Canada Canada Online Genealogy Records Finding Your Gold Rush Relative

Yukon Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Yukon research. Yukon Archives GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH AT THE YUKON ARCHIVES: A Listing of Available Resource Material Family History Research at Yukon Archives Yukon: Genealogy resources Library and Archives Canada Dawson City Museum Yukon & Alaska Genealogy Centre ExploreNorth: Klondike Gold Rush, 1896-1899 Yukon Genealogy Records Online How to Find Your Gold Rush Relative: Sources on the Klondike and Alaska gold rushes, 1896-1914 Yukon Genealogy Database

Yukon Online Genealogy Records

Ask the FamilySearch Community

Yukon Map

Klondike mining camp.jpg

Populated Places

1	2	3	4	5
POPULATED PLACE	FORMER NAME, if applicable	TYPE	FHL  CATALOG	WIKIPEDIA
Carmacks		Village	Link	Link
Dawson			Link	Link
Faro		Town	Link	Link
Forty Mile			Link	Link
Grand Forks			Link	Link
Haines Junction		Village	Link	Link
Herschel Island			Link	Link
Mayo		Village	Link	Link
Old Crow			Link	Link
Teslin			Link	Link
Watson Lake		Town	Link	Link
Whitehorse	White Horse (1957)	city	Link	Link
ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???			Link

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
• Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
• Family History Center locator map

Additional Resources

• How to Recognize your Canadian Ancestor
• Name Variations in Canadian Indexes and Records

 

Family History Library