Yuba County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Yuba County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Yuba County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Yuba County
Location in the state of California, United States Genealogy
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Marysville
Courthouse
CaliforniaYubaCourthouse.jpg
Address Yuba County Courthouse
935 14th Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Phone: 530.721.6547
Yuba County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Yuba County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1865 1858 1850 1850 1850 1850
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk has marriage records from 1865
Divorce, probate and court records from 1850
and  voting records from 1866[2]

 

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
 Wikipedia has more about this subject: Yuba County, California

Parent County[edit | edit source]

18 February 1850; Yuba County was created as an original county. County seat: Marysville [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named from after the Yuba River. The county seat Marysville and the county was created February 18, 1850. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Yuba, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1850 9,673 —
1860 13,668 41.3%
1870 10,851 −20.6%
1880 11,284 4.0%
1890 9,636 −14.6%
1900 8,620 −10.5%
1910 10,042 16.5%
1920 10,375 3.3%
1930 11,331 9.2%
1940 17,034 50.3%
1950 24,420 43.4%
1960 33,859 38.7%
1970 44,736 32.1%
1980 49,733 11.2%
1990 58,228 17.1%
2000 60,219 3.4%
2010 72,155 19.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Yuba County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Germans[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Yuba County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

An Index to Yuba County Federal Land Records is available online.

The following records of Yuba County land records have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake or they may be available viewing at various Family History Centers:

  • Deeds 1866-1906 (from Yuba County Clerk/Recorder Office in Marysville)
  • Deeds 1850-1888 (also from the Clerks office in Marysville)
  • Yuba County Plat Books 1854-1898 (from the John Q Packard Library in Marysville)

Maps[edit | edit source]

Butte CountyPlumas CountySierra CountyNevada CountyPlacer CountySutter CountyCA YUBA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Yuba County, California Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[5][6]

Online Records

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Yuba County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Yuba County, California Genealogy:

- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, California Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 7th Regiment, California Infantry (Union) , Company B
- 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization/Citizenship Records[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed copies of naturalization papers found in the Yuba County Clerk's Office, and these records are available for viewing either in Salt Lake City or they may be available for viewing at various Family History Centers.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yuba County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Yuba - Probate records.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has made copies of probate records found in the Yuba County Clerk's Office in Marysville, California.  These copies can be read at the Library in Salt Lake City or may be available at various Family History Centers.  Copies of these records are also available at the California State Archives.  The microfilm copies are as follows:

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Forbestown Museum/Yuba-Feather Historical Association

P.O. Box 54
Brownsville, CA 95919
(530) 589-0218

http://www.caohwy.com/f/forbestm.htm


Mary Aaron Memorial Museum Association
704 D Street
Marysville, CA 95901
(916) 743-1004

Yuba County Library Local History Room
303 2nd Street
Marysville, CA 95901
530-749-7386

http://www.co.yuba.ca.us/departments/library/

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Main Courthouse

Address: 215 Fifth Street, Suite 200
Marysville, CA 95901
Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Phone: (530) 749-7600
Courtrooms: Department 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7


Richard A. Schoenig Annex
Address: 120 Fifth Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Hours: Monday - Friday:
8:30am-12:00pm, 1:00pm - 4:30pm
Phone: (530) 749-7685

Courtrooms: Department 6

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Societies[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

California county clerks were to keep voting registers every other year from 1866 and well into the 20th century. These large books, called Great Registers, listed the men who registered to vote in that county. Besides name and age, the record may show place of birth, address, occupation, naturalization date and sometimes even a physical description.

These records are at the California State Library (1866-1944), and microfilmed copies are available through Family History Centers (1866-1910). Ancestry ($) has a searchable database of Yuba Great Registers from 1867-1896.

Several Yuba records from 1867 to 1894 are available on the RootsWeb site, by clicking here.

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuba County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuba County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Yuba County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuba_County,_California 05/09/2017.
  5. ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  6. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
v • d • e
Links to California-related articles
Topics
Counties
Extinct Co.
Major
 Repositories
Bancroft Library · California State Library · Sutro Library · California State Archives · California Historical Society · Society of California Pioneers Library · State Lands Commission · California Genealogical Society and Library · Carlsbad City Library · Chinese Historical Society · Fresno City and County Historical Society Archives · Huntington Beach Central Library · Immigrant Genealogical Society Library · Long Beach Public Library · Los Angeles Public Library · Los Angeles FamilySearch Library · Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County · County of Los Angeles Public Libraries · Napa Valley Genealogical Society Library · Oakland FamilySearch Library · San Diego FamilySearch Library · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown · Sons of the Revolution Library · Southern California Genealogical Society and Family Research Library · Southwest Museum Braun Research Library · Tuolumne County Genealogical Society Library · National Archives at Riverside · National Archives at San Francisco · Family History Library
Migration
 Routes

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Yuba_County,_California_Genealogy&oldid=4752553"