York County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to York County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Yorktown
Organized: 1643
Parent County(s): Original
Neighboring Counties
Gloucester  • James City  • Williamsburg (Independent City)  • Newport News (Independent City)  • Hampton (Independent City)  • Poquoson (Independent City)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaYorkCounty-PoquosonCityCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of York County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

York County is located in the Eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after the York River on which it lies[1].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

York County Courthouse
300 Ballard Street
Yorktown, VA 23690
Phone: 757-890-3450
York County Website

Clerk Circuit court has marriage, probate, land and court records.[2]

York County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1854 1772 1853 1633 1633 1633 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Most of the courthouse loose papers prior to the American Revolutionary War are missing. Bound volumes of deeds, orders, and wills still exist.[4]
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Aerial view of York, England. York County, Virginia is believed to have taken its name from the English city of York.

The county is believed to have been named after the English city of York.[7]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Philip Alexander Bruce's book Economic History of Virginia in the Seventeenth Century (Vol. II, 1896, p. 334 footnote 1) includes a list of early English merchants in York County.

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Yorktown silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of York County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 5,233 —
1800 3,231 −38.3%
1810 5,187 60.5%
1820 4,384 −15.5%
1830 5,354 22.1%
1840 4,720 −11.8%
1850 4,460 −5.5%
1860 4,949 11.0%
1870 7,198 45.4%
1880 7,349 2.1%
1890 7,596 3.4%
1900 7,482 −1.5%
1910 7,757 3.7%
1920 8,046 3.7%
1930 7,615 −5.4%
1940 8,857 16.3%
1950 11,750 32.7%
1960 21,583 83.7%
1970 33,203 53.8%
1980 35,463 6.8%
1990 42,422 19.6%
2000 56,297 32.7%
2010 65,464 16.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans' Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Grafton (1777)[8]
  2. New Bethel Baptist Church
  3. New Quarters Baptist Church
  4. Rising Sun Baptist Church
  5. Zion Prospect Baptist Church
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    York County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.

Christian

Gracechurchyorktown.jpg
  1. Northside Christian Church

Church of England
Also known as Anglicans, later Protestant Episcopal Gotoarrow.png See also Blisland Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Bruton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Charles Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Charles River Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Chiskiack Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Hampton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Marston Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Middle Plantation
Gotoarrow.png See also Middletowne Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also New Poquoson Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also York Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Yorkhampton Parish

  1. Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library

Churches still in operation:

  1. Grace Episcopal Church
    111 Church Street
    (for mailing, P.O. Box 123)
    Yorktown, VA 23690

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  1. Poquoson Ward and Virginia Peninsula Branch (YSA)
    113 Sinclair Lane
    Yorktown, VA

Methodist

  1. Providence United Methodist Church
  2. Tabernacle United Methodist Church
  3. Zion Methodist Church

Presbyterian

  1. York River Presbyterian Church

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Skimino Monthly Meeting (1698-1827)[9]
  • Warwick Monthly Meeting (1696-1720) aka Denby aka York[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

County Court

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1646-1648. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes court orders 1646-1648.]

Record Book

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1648-1657. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes abstracts of Record Book No. 2 (1648), Record Book No. 1 (1652-1657), and Record Book No. 3 (1657).]

Chancery Court

  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search York County chancery records for the years 1768-1891. The originals can be located at the Library of Virginia. Additional unindexed pre-1913 chancery records are available at the York County Circuit Court Clerk's office.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Yorktowncustomhouse.jpg

Yorktown has been a port since colonial times. No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries. The Custom House, built about 1720, is the oldest brick building standing in Yorktown.[10]

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. (Overseas correspondence of residents of Yorktown with the following surname: Norton.) Available at FHL.
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Intercepted Letters Relating to America, 1777-1811" The Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 2 (Fall 2000):184-200. Overseas contacts of a resident of York Co., VA with the following surname: Cunninghame.
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Includes wills of residents of Brewerton Parish, York River, York Town [Yorktown], and York County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
    *Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" (Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries), The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). York Co., VA: Chesely, Clarke, Hall, Hethersall, Lane, Martin, Moosser [?], Perry, Phelps, Rogers, Weatherall, Williams.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Chapman Collection of Virginia Family Names, Smithfield Branch, Isle of Wight County Library, 1635-1814. MSS., Smithfield Branch, Isle of Wight County Library, Smithfield, Va. Microfilmed 2005: FHL Collection.
  • Currer-Briggs, Noel. "Similarity of Surnames in York County, Virginia, and County Norfolk, England," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 78 (1970):442-446. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • DeMarco, Christopher. Colonial Families of York County, Virginia. 3 vols. Lewes, Delaware: Colonial Roots, 2006-2009. FHL 975.542 D2d v. 1
  • Evans, June Banks. Settlers Along the Shores of Virginia's York River with Banks, Farthing, Knewstep, Philbates, Richardson and Their Neighbors. New Orleans, La.: Bryn Ffyliaid Publications, 1989. FHL 975.54 D2ev
  • Forrest, Jessie Fay. "Families of the Poquoson are of York County: With Emphasis on those that Migrated from the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Virginia around 1800," Virginia Tidewater Genealogy, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Jun. 1984):62-68.
  • Hansford, Thelma Ironmonger and W.H. Edwards. Random Records and Recollections of York County, Virginia. MSS., 1968-1990. FHL Film 1728880 Item 1 Includes photocopy of Reminiscences of Alvah Hansford / a paper prepared by W.H. Edwards. [West Virginia?] W. Va. Historical and Antiquarian Society, [1897?].
  • Hansford, Thelma Ironmonger. Indexed References to York County Documents Relative to Thelma Hansford Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1728879.
  • Willett, Albert James. Poquoson Families. 5 vols. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 2001-2004. FHL Books 975.5422 D2w v. 1-5
  • Yurechko, John Otto. Virginians Along and Near the Lower Rapphahannock River, 1607-1799. 2 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2yj v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Blake, Brooks (Brook), Churchill, Cook (Cock), Daniel, Dixon, Gore, Kidd, Lewis, Martin, Montague, Taylor and Wood -- v. 2. Brown, Clark, Elliott, Fox (Fowkes, Vaulx), Harrison, McTyre, Moore, Pate, Rawlins (Rollins), Rhodes, Sanders (Saunders) and Williams.

Dwight Hogge's My York Co. VA Project includes family trees of many of the area's families.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Online Land and Property Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Williamsburg (Independent City)Newport News (Independent City)Hampton (Independent City)Poquoson (Independent City)Gloucester CountyJames City CountyVA YORK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial Militia

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some York County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For York County, see p. 102.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some York County militia officers; see place name index.]


French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some York County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some York County militia officers; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, York County, p. 108. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. York County men served in the 68th and 115th Regiments.[11]

Civil War

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in York County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of residents of Yorktown with the following surname: Norton.] Available at FHL.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • 1633-1800 Wills and Estate Records Index at Library of Virginia.Local Court
  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes York County.]
  • York County Wills, Book No. 1, 1633-1657 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers
  • Index to York County Wills and Deeds, Book No. 2, 1645-1649Virginia Pioneers

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Brewerton Parish, York River, York Town [Yorktown], and York County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • Images of Will Book No. 1, 1633 – 1657; 1740 – 1746; 1746 – 1759. Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Images of Deeds, Orders, Wills, Book 19, 1740 – 1746; Book 20, 1745 – 1759. Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Images of Deeds, Wills, Orders 1633-1694. Virginia Pioneers($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Online York County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Quit Rent 1704, 1704 - 1704 - - -
Tithes - - 1763 - - -
Tax in Corn - - 1780 - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1782 -
Personal Property - - - - 1783 -
Personal Property 1784 - - - 1784 -
Personal Property - - - - 1785 -
Personal Property - - - - 1786 -
Personal Property - - - - 1788 -
Personal Property - - - - 1789 -
Personal Property 1790 - - 1790 1790 -
Land 1791 - - 1791 - -
Personal Property - - - - 1791 -
Personal Property - - - - 1792 -
Personal Property - - - - 1793 -
Personal Property - - - - 1794 -
Personal Property - - - - 1795 -
Personal Property - - - - 1796 -
Personal Property - - - - 1797 -
Personal Property - - - - 1798 -
Personal Property - - - - 1799 -
Personal Property 1800 - - 1800 1800 -
Land 1800 - - 1800 - -
Personal Property - - - - 1801-1850 -

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

Bibliography

  • [1704] "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). York County appears in 31:70-75.
  • [1704, 1782-1784] Hansford, Thelma. Tax Lists York County 1782, 1783, 1784; Rent Roll York County 1704, Gloucester 1704, Warwick 1704; James City County Taxes 1768. Virginia?: T.I. Hansford?, 1950. Available at FHL.
  • [1763] "Tithables in York-Hampton Parish, York County, Va.," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 7(1926):179-185. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL. The source for this publication is a tithable list published in 1763. Could it, perhaps, record tithables from a year or two before that time?
  • [1763] York County, Virginia Records: Tithables 1763 (York-Hampton Parish), Marriages 1772-1792. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 2007. Available at FHL. Free online surname index.
  • [1780] Account of Indian corn received for taxes, 1780, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1992. Vol. 30 Iss. 1.
  • [1782] Land tax records, 1782, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: May 1999. Vol. 8 Iss. 1.
  • [1782-1784] See 1704.
  • [1782-1825] Heinegg, Paul. "York County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1825," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • [1784] Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Online at FamilySearch - free; 1784 personal property tax list of York County.
  • [1786, 1788] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. Sources for this publication are the York County 1788 personal property tax list, the York Town 1788 personal property tax list, and partial York County 1786 personal property tax list (individuals who do not appear on 1788 list were abstracted). York County is included in Vol. 2.
  • [1790, 1800] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of York County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1791, 1801] Indexed images of the 1791 and 1800 Land Tax Lists of York County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1793] Tithables, 1793, Upper precinct, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: Aug 1994. Vol. 3 Iss. 2.
  • [1793] Tithables, ca.1793, Williamsburg, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: Nov 1994. Vol. 3 Iss. 3.
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. York County is included in Vol. 3.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in York County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in York County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Colonial National Historical Park (at Wikipedia), covering York and James City counties, Jamestowne, Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown Battlefield Park, Yorktown National Cemetery

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in York County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For York County, see pp. 64-65]
  • Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: York County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1981):51-53. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Hopkins, Garland Evans. York County Source Book; Includes a Brief History of Colonial York County, Virginia; Petitions to the General Assembly from 1776 to 1858; and Guides to Source Materials Concerning the History and Genealogy of the County. Winchester, Va.: Hopkins, 1942. FHL 1036407 Item 25.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Virginia
  2. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 7, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "York County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 6 March 2020.
  7. ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "York County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  8. ↑ Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. ↑ Robert A. Lancaster, Historic Virginia Homes and Churches (Philadelphia and London: J.B. Lippincott Company, 1915), 34. Digitized by Internet Archive
  11. ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 76, 112. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  13. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  14. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
v • d • e
Links to Virginia-related articles   (see also West Virginia-related articles)
Topics
Counties
Accomack • Albemarle • Alleghany • Amelia • Amherst • Appomattox • Arlington • Augusta • Bath • Bedford • Bland • Botetourt • Brunswick • Buchanan • Buckingham • Campbell • Caroline • Carroll • Charles City • Charlotte • Chesterfield • Clarke • Craig • Culpeper • Cumberland • Dickenson • Dinwiddie • Essex • Fairfax • Fauquier • Floyd • Fluvanna • Franklin • Frederick • Giles • Gloucester • Goochland • Grayson • Greene • Greensville • Halifax • Hanover • Henrico • Henry • Highland • Isle of Wight • James City • King and Queen • King George • King William • Lancaster • Lee • Loudoun • Louisa • Lunenburg • Madison • Mathews • Mecklenburg • Middlesex • Montgomery • Nelson • New Kent • Northampton • Northumberland • Nottoway • Orange • Page • Patrick • Pittsylvania • Powhatan • Prince Edward • Prince George • Prince William • Pulaski • Rappahannock (New) • Richmond • Roanoke • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • Scott • Shenandoah • Smyth • Southampton • Spotsylvania • Stafford • Surry • Sussex • Tazewell • Warren • Washington • Westmoreland • Wise • Wythe • York
Independent
Cities
Extinct Counties/Cities
Counties
gone to KY
Bourbon • Fayette • Jefferson • Kentucky (extinct) • Lincoln • Madison • Mason • Mercer • Nelson • Woodford
Counties
gone to WV
Barbour • Berkeley • Boone • Braxton • Brooke • Cabell • Calhoun • Clay • Doddridge • Fayette • Gilmer • Greenbrier • Hampshire • Hancock • Hardy • Harrison • Jackson • Jefferson • Kanawha • Lewis • Logan • Marion • Marshall • Mason • McDowell • Mercer • Monongalia • Monroe • Morgan • Nicholas • Ohio • Pendleton • Pleasants • Pocahontas • Preston • Putnam • Raleigh • Randolph • Ritchie • Roane • Taylor • Tucker • Tyler • Upshur • Wayne • Webster • Wetzel • Wirt • Wood • Wyoming
Colonial
Parishes
Abingdon • Accomac • Accomack • Albemarle • Amherst • Antrim • Appomattox • Argall's Gift • Augusta • Bath • Beckford • Berkeley • Blisland • Blount Point • Botetourt • Boutracy • Bristol • Bromfield • Brunswick • Bruton • Camden • Cameron • Charles City • Charles • Charles River • Chickacoan • Chickahominy • Chippokes • Chiskiack • Chotank • Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) • Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) • Chuckatuck • Cople • Cornwall • Cumberland • Dale • Denbigh • Dettingen • Drysdale • East • Elizabeth City • Elizabeth River • Fairfax • Fairfield • Farnham • Flowerdew Hundred • Fluvanna • Frederick • Fredericksville • Hamilton • Hampton • Hanover • Harrop • Henrico • Hog Island • Hungars • James City • Jordan's Journey • Kecoughtan • Kingston • King William • Lancaster • Lawnes Creek • Lee • Leeds • Lexington • Littleton • Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) • Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  • Lower (Lancaster Co.)  • Lower (Nansemond Co.) • Lower (Northampton Co.) • Lower (Stafford Co.) • Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) • Lower Suffolk • Lunenburg • Lynnhaven • Machodick • Manchester • Marston • Martin's Brandon • Martin's Hundred • Meherrin • Middle Plantation • Middletowne • Montgomery • Mulberry Island • New Poquoson • Newport • Nomini • Norborne • Northampton • North Farnham • Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) • Nottoway (Southampton Co.) • Nutmeg Quarter • Occohannock • Overwharton • Patrick • Petsworth • Piankatank • Piscataway • Poropotank • Portsmouth • Potomac • Raleigh • Richmond • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • St. Andrew's • St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) • St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) • St. Asaph's • St. Brides • St. David's • St. George's (Accomack Co.)  • St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) • St. James Northam • St. James Southam • St. James's (Goochland Co.) • St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) • St. John's • St. Luke's • St. Margaret's • St. Mark's • St. Martin's • St. Mary's • St. Mary's Whitechapel • St. Patrick's • St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) • St. Paul's (King George Co.) • St. Peter's • St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) • St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) • St. Thomas • Shelburne • Sittenburne • Smith's Hundred • South • Southampton • South Farnham • Southwark • Stafford • Stanley Hundred • Stratton Major • Suffolk • Tillotson • Trinity (Lancaster Co.) • Trinity (Louisa Co.) • Truro • Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) • Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) • Upper (Lancaster Co.) • Upper (Nansemond Co.) • Upper (Northampton Co.) • Upper (Stafford Co.) • Upper Suffolk • Varina • Wallingford • Ware • Warrosquyoake • Warwick • Washington (Westmoreland Co.) • Washington (Washington Co.) • Waters Creek • West • West and Shirley • Westbury • Westover • Weyanoke • Wicomico • Wilmington • York • Yorkhampton
Major
Repositories
Bristol Public Library · Germanna Foundation Library · Handley Regional Library · Historical Society of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA) · Historical Society of Washington, D.C. · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Library of Congress (Washington, DC) · Library of Virginia · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Maryland State Archives (Annapolis, MD) · National Archives I (Washington, DC) · National Archives II (College Park, MD) · National Archives at Philadelphia (PA) · National Genealogical Society · New York Public Library (New York City, NY) · Pennsylvania State Archives (Harrisburg, PA) · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · Salisbury University Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture (Salisbury, MD) · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown (Santa Cruz, CA) · University of Virginia Library · Virginia Department of Health · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Washington National Records Center (Suitland, MD) · William and Mary College Swem Library
Migration
Routes
Routes:  Chesapeake Bay • James River • Potomac River • Rappahannock River • York River • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal • Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad • Fall Line Road (or Fall Line Road) • Great Indian Warpath • Great Trading Path • Great Valley Road • Kanawha Trail • King's Highway • National Road (Cumberland Road) • New River and Southern Trail • Occaneechi Path • Old Cherokee Path • Old Northwestern Turnpike • Pamunkey-New River Trail • Pioneer Road • Richmond Road • Richmond-Williamsburg Road • Saura-Saponi Trail • Secondary Coast Road • Upper Road • Wilderness Road • Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail •   Ports:  Atlantic Coast Ports • Accomack  • Alexandria  • Belvoir Plantation  • Bermuda Hundred  • Dumfries  • Falmouth  • Fredericksburg  • Hampton  • Jamestown  • Leedstown  • Norfolk  • Port Royal  • Portsmouth  • South Quay  • Suffolk  • Tappahannock (aka Hobb's Hole)  • Urbanna  • Williamsburg  • Yorktown



This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=York_County,_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=4754760"