York County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to York County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: York
Organized: March 12, 1785[1]
Parent County(s): Camden District[2]
Neighboring Counties
Cherokee  • Chester  • Cleveland (NC)  • Gaston (NC)  • Lancaster  • Mecklenburg (NC)  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, York County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-york.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the new town first known as the village of York, or more commonly York Court House. In 1841, the town was incorporated as "Yorkville." The County is located in the northcentral area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

York County Courthouse
1070 Heckle Blvd.
Rock Hill, SC 29732
Phone: 803-684-8507
York County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

York County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1786 1786 1786 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Eleventh Census of the United States, 1890.Federal Population Schedules.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Because the jurisdictions in South Carolina changed so frequently, below is a table of records and the jurisdiction they were kept in based on time period:

RECORDS DATES JURISDICTION DESCRIPTION
Probate Records 1785 to 1791 Camden District Kershaw County Housed with the Kershaw County Clerk of Court.
Probate Records 1786 York County Clerk of Court Court records kept in York County for this year.
Probate Records 1791 to 1800 Pinckney District During the Pinckney District, Jurisdiction records were still housed in York County.
Land Records 1791 to 1800 Pinckney District Land records were kept in York County.
Land Records 1800 to 1868 York District York County, referred to as York District during this time, but is referred to as York County after 1868. There are no boundary changes with the name changes for York District/County.
Land Records After 1796 Columbia, South Carolina Plats for land grants in upper South Carolina were recorded and filed in Columbia; this was considered a continuation of the records already in Charleston (Vol. 36 - Vol. 43). Records in Charleston and Columbia are not duplicates.
Birth Records 1915 to present York County State-wide birth records were not kept until the 1900s. Held at the South Carolina Department of Health.
Death Records 1915 to present South Carolina The South Carolina Department of Health keeps all records, but most recent records can be found at the York County Health Department.
Marriage Records 1911 to present York County Probate Court Marriage licenses are found in probate court; Copies of licenses issued in 1950 and later, are available from the South Carolina Division of Vital Records.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Hamlets
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Historic communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of York County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 6,604
1800 10,250 55.2%
1810 10,032 −2.1%
1820 14,936 48.9%
1830 17,790 19.1%
1840 18,383 3.3%
1850 19,433 5.7%
1860 21,502 10.6%
1870 24,286 12.9%
1880 30,713 26.5%
1890 38,831 26.4%
1900 41,684 7.3%
1910 47,718 14.5%
1920 50,536 5.9%
1930 53,418 5.7%
1940 58,663 9.8%
1950 71,596 22.0%
1960 78,760 10.0%
1970 85,216 8.2%
1980 106,720 25.2%
1990 131,497 23.2%
2000 164,614 25.2%
2010 226,073 37.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, York District on page 144.

1850
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[9] The returns have been published by local experts:

  • Owens, Jo Roberts and Ruth Dickson Thomas. 1850 Federal Census, York District, South Carolina: Schedule 1, Free Inhabitants; Schedule 2, Slave Inhabitants; Schedule 3, Mortality. York, S.C.: n.p., 1987. FHL Collection 975.743 X2o 1850

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Catawba
  • Rock Hill
  • York
  • Newport

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
York County has court records from 1786 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. York County was a part of the Camden District from 1785 - 1791 and the Pinckney District from 1791 - 1800. The records of Camden District courts are housed in Kershaw County with the Clerk of Court. The records of the Pinckney District courts are housed in York County. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for York County, dating as early as the late 1700's. The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for York County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png African American Resources for South Carolina
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Allison - Hickory Grove
  • Brattonsville - McConnells
  • Brookwood
  • Hillhouse - McConnells
  • Love - Hickory Grove
  • McElwee House
  • Mount Gallant - Rock Hill
  • Newport
  • Springfield - Fort Mill
  • Springsteen - Rock Hill
  • Strawberry Hill - Rock Hill
  • Thomson
  • Tickton Hall
  • Turkey Creek
  • Wherry
  • White House - Rock Hill
  • Williamson - McConnells

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Allison] Van Valin, Minnie D. William Henry, Senior (1715-1819) and Hugh Allison, Senior (1714-1799) of York County, South Carolina and Some of Their Descendants. Typescript, 1933. FHL 854143 Item 9
  • [Amberson] Parker, Elmer Oris. "The Cooper-Amberson Connection," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Summer 1985):130-134. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 13
  • [Amberson] Parker, Elmer Oris. "Cooper-Amberson Family Connection Update," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 16, No. 4 (Fall 1988):222. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 16
  • [Borders] Wamick, Mona Allison. Borders, Logan, Rippy, Crawford, Runyan and Connections Including Margaret and Hugh Quin, Sr. of York County, South Carolina and Their Children, Peter, Mary, Daniel, Hugh II, John. Decatur, Ga.: M.A. Wamick, 1997. FHL 929.273 B644wm
  • [Brandon] Betts, Arlie Brandon and Robert Louis Underhill. The Brandons of Halifax County, Virginia, Gaston County, North Carolina, and York County, South Carolina. Deerfield, Mass.: R.L. Underhill, 1987. FHL 929.273 B734ba
  • [Byers] Capt. William Byers of Augusta Co. VA & York County, SC & Descendants. St. Louis, Mo : T.V. Byers, 199-?. FHL 929.273 B991btw
  • [Byers] David and Margaret Byers Family of Cavan Co., Ireland & York County, SC and Descendants. 1993. Compiled by Thurlo V. Byers. Pasadena Hills, MO. Online at: Byers from Ireland to SC.
  • [Campbell] White, William Boyce and Inez Campbell Bouton. A Brief Genealogy of Alexander and Elizabeth Campbell of Neely's Creek, York County, S.C. Typescript, 1972. FHL 1787180 Item 9
  • [Chambers] Rowland, Arthur Ray. Chambers Family of York County, South Carolina and Fayette and Spalding Counties, Georgia and Beyond. Augusta, Ga.: RR Books, 2000. FHL 929.273 C355ra.
  • [Clark] Slaymaker, Susan Clark. The Ancestry of Susan Clark Slaymaker Anderson, Aultman, Beattle, Bellote, Blount, Breland, Bryant, Calcoat, Carruth, Clark, Cowan, Credille, Crenshaw, Durant, Earnest, Eldridge, Floyd, Franklin, Johnson, Kelly, Kirland, Kittrell, McKee, Morris, Odom, Osborne, Ousley, Perry, Pipkin, Powell, Rowland, Savell, Slocumb, Steen, Thompson, Waller, Willis/Willix, Wilson. Gold River, Calif.: S.C. Slaymaker, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 2312; 1989 edition: FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 5819
  • [Clark] Slaymaker, Susan Clark. Southern Born and Southern Bred Family Group Sheets of the Anderson Altman/Aultman, Beatty, Bellote, Blout, Breland/Brealer, Bryant, Carruth, Clark, Cocke, Earnest, Floyd, Franklin, Gulley/Gully, Harris, Hart, Hinnant, Hodges, Hooks, Houston, Johnson, Kirkland, Kittrell, Odom, Osborne, Ousley/Owsley, Perry, Sanders/Saunders, Savell, Slocumb, Steen, Tully, Waller, West, Willis/Willix, Wilson ancestors of Susan Clark Slaymaker. Gold River, Calif.: S.C. Slaymaker, 1990. FHL Collection 6334341; 1991 Supplement: FHL Collection 6334444
  • [Crawford] Veach, Mary Frances Thomas. Sorting the Waxhaw Crawfords a Compendium of Research on the Crawfords & Related Families Starting Out in the Counties of York, Chester, & Lancaster, South Carolina Before the Revolution. Elverta, Calif.: M. Veach, 1993. FHL 929.273 C856v; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Book.
  • [Cureton] Perry, Max. Descendants of the Cureton Families of York and Chester Counties of South Carolina: Including Genealogical Briefs of the Stewart, Webb and Heath Families. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 2001. FHL 929.273 C923p; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Book.
  • [Davison] Wells, Laurence K. "William Davison of York County, S.C., 1779," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 60, No. 3 (Sep. 1972):163-168. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 60
  • [Enloe] McElwee, Pinckney G. Genealogy of Mary McElwee Enloe Wife of Benjamin Enloe and Daughter of William McElwee of Clarks Fork of Bullock's Creek of York County, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: P.G. McElwee, 1964. FHL 929.273 En54m
  • [Faris] Faris, David. The Faris Family of Washington County, Indiana: A Genealogy of the Descendants of William Farrie; Born in County Antrim, Ireland about the Year 1745; Settled on Rocky Creek, Chester County, South Carolina in 1772; Died as William Faries on Turkey Creek, York County, South Carolina in 1805: Including the Principal Families of Baird, Devinney, Ervin, Faries, Faris, Finley, Loudon, McIntyre, Martin, Steuart, Taggart, Tippin & Woods. Philadelphia, Pa.: D. Faris, 1984. FHL 929.273 F228fd.
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "The John Finleys of Augusta County, Virginia: Correcting the Record," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 46, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2002):3-13; Vol. 46, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2002):98-113; Vol. 46, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2002):171-178; Vol. 46, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2002):268-281. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 46 (2002).
  • [Garrison] Perry, Max. Descendants of Garrison Families of Mecklenburg Co., N.C. and York Co., S.C. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 2001. FHL 929.273 G193pm; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Book.
  • [Glass] Young, Mary Ellen Hemphill. Reflections from the House of Glass James Glass and Hannah Barnhill of York District, South Carolina, Livingston County, Kentucky, and Pope County, Illinois, 1761-1900. Marissa, Ill.: M.E.H. Young, [1978?]. FHL 929.273 G463y
  • [Gordon] "The Parentage of David Gordon of York County," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Winter 1993):18-20. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 21
  • [Hanna] Perry, Max. Descendants of John Workman, Capt. James Hanna and Capt. John E. McConnell of York County, South Carolina. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 1995. FHL 929.273 W892p
  • [Henry] Van Valin, Minnie D. William Henry, Senior (1715-1819) and Hugh Allison, Senior (1714-1799) of York County, South Carolina and Some of Their Descendants. Typescript, 1933. FHL 854143 Item 9
  • [Henry] Wells, Laurence K. "William Henry of Henry's Knob," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Summer 1974):115-121; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Fall 1974):207-213; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Winter 1975):19-24; Vol. 3, No. 3 (Summer 1975):173-177; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Fall 1975):207-213; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Winter 1976):23-30; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Winter 1987):3-8; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Spring 1987):73-78; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Winter 1988):35-39; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Spring 1988):77-80. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 2-17
  • [Howe] Whitley, Olga M. Colonel Joseph Howe, York County, South Carolina. His Descendants and His Brothers. 1960. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • [Kirkpatrick] Kirkpatrick, Melvin E. and David Hudson. A Kirkpatrick Genealogy: Being an Account of the Descendants of the Family of James Kirkpatrick of South Carolina, ca. 1715-1786. Coalville, Iowa: D. Hudson, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 K363k.
  • [Kolb] Kolb, Avery E. Kolb Families and Their Relatives of Mississippi and Arkansas: The Descendants of James Kolb Sr. of York Co., S.C. and His Son Silas Kolb of Lowndes Co., Mississippi. Springfield, Va.: Kolb, 1973. FHL 982029 Item 4
  • [Lattimore] "Robert Lattimore and His Descendants," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Winter 1973):29-36; Vol. 1, No. 2 (Spring 1973):79-84; Vol. 1, No. 3 (Summer 1973):151-155; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Fall 1973):217-221. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 1
  • [Leslie] Murphy, Marion F. Early Leslies in York County, South Carolina: Their Migrations to Tennessee, Missouri, and Arkansas, Their Ancestry and Descendants. San Diego, Calif.: M.F. Murphy, 1976. FHL 929.273 L565a
  • [McConnell] Perry, Max. Descendants of John Workman, Capt. James Hanna and Capt. John E. McConnell of York County, South Carolina. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 1995. FHL 929.273 W892p
  • [McElwee] McElwee, Pinckney G. Genealogy of William McElwee II, of Clarks Fork of York County, South Carolina. Typescript, 1959. FHL 874714 Item 2
  • [McElwee] McElwee, Pinckney G. Genealogy of Mary McElwee Enloe Wife of Benjamin Enloe and Daughter of William McElwee of Clarks Fork of Bullock's Creek of York County, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: P.G. McElwee, 1964. FHL 929.273 En54m
  • [McElwee] McElwee, Pinckney G. Genealogy of William McElwee II, of Clarks Fork of York County, South Carolina. Waxahachie, Texas: G.W. Oates, 1978. FHL 929.273 M154mp
  • [McKnight] Murray, Sonia J. John McKnight and His Family, County Antrim, Ireland to Charleston, S.C. 1772, York Co., S.C. with Ties to Freeman, Hoggue, McCleave, Lindsey, and Sterling Descendants in Blount Co., Alabama and Texas. Biloxi, Miss.: S. Murray, 1991. FHL 929.273 A1 no. 6114
  • [McWhorter] Hinrichs, Mabel Woods. McWhorter Family. MSS., National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 874717 Items 2-7
  • [McWhorter] "Notes on the McWhorter Family," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 4, No. 1 (Winter 1976):41-45. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 4
  • [Meek] Allison, J.B. The Descendants of James Meek and Susannah Byers, 1758-1942 of York County, South Carolina. Typescript, Clayton Library, Houston, Texas. FHL 1317115 Item 3
  • [Mullinax] Mullinax, Jack D. The Mullinax Family of Northern South Carolina (York, Union and Cherokee Counties) and Southern North Carolina (Cleveland, Gaston and Lincoln Counties). Chesnee, S.C.: Chesnee Hardware, 1983. FHL 929.273 M917mj
  • [Murphy] Murphy, James L. The Family of John Murphy, Sr. York County, South Carolina and Lowndes County, Mississippi. Henderson, Tenn.: Hester, 1996. FHL 929.273 M954m
  • [Murphy] Murphy, James L. The Family of John Murphy Sr. York County, South Carolina and Lowndes County, Mississippi. Caledonia, Miss.: J.L. Murphy, 1996. FHL 929.273 M951mu
  • [Patton] White, William Boyce. Genealogy of Two Early Patton Families of York, Chester, and Lancaster Counties, South Carolina. Roanoke, Va.: W.B. White, 1996. FHL 929.273 P278w
  • [Plaxco] Mendenhall, Samuel Brooks and William Boyce White. Plaxco-Robinson Being an Account of Two of the Ancient Presbyterian Families of Upper South Carolina (Particularly Situated in York and Chester Counties). Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1958. FHL 929.273 P698m
  • [Quin] Wamick, Mona Allison. Borders, Logan, Rippy, Crawford, Runyan and Connections Including Margaret and Hugh Quin, Sr. of York County, South Carolina and Their Children, Peter, Mary, Daniel, Hugh II, John. Decatur, Ga.: M.A. Wamick, 1997. FHL 929.273 B644wm
  • [Reeves] Rowland, Arthur Ray. Descendants of Wiley Reeves of York County, South Carolina and Fayette and Spalding Counties, Georgia. Augusta, Ga.: R R Books, 2001. FHL 929.273 R259d.
  • [Roach] Perry, Max. The Descendants of the Roach Family of York County, South Carolina Including Allied Families and Genealogical Briefs of Drennan, Springs, Workman, Hanna, Harriss, Thomasson, McConnell, Sturgis, Reid, Edwards, Dodds, Polk, Latham. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 1983. FHL 929.273 R53p
  • [Robinson] Mendenhall, Samuel Brooks and William Boyce White. Plaxco-Robinson Being an Account of Two of the Ancient Presbyterian Families of Upper South Carolina (Particularly Situated in York and Chester Counties). Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1958. FHL 929.273 P698m
  • [Sturgis] Perry, Max. Descendants of Daniel Sturgis and Jean Bratton of York County, South Carolina. 1999. FHL 929.273 St96pd
  • [Sturgis] Collins, Gerald Edward. John Sturgis (1757-1825) of York County, South Carolina and Morgan County, Illinois: Some of His Ancestors, Siblings and Descendants Who Lived in Maryland, South Carolina, Georgia and Illinois and Other Points. Silver Spring, Md.: G.E. Collins, [2000?]. FHL 929.273 St96c
  • [Tippin] Tippin, Ernest Elwood. A Brief History of George Manton Tippin Sr., of Ireland, York County, South Carolina, and Washington County, Indiana, and His Descendants. Wichita, Kansas: E.E. Tippin, 1952. FHL 929.273 T499t; digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • [Workman] Perry, Max. Descendants of John Workman, Capt. James Hanna and Capt. John E. McConnell of York County, South Carolina. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 1995. FHL 929.273 W892p

A multi-family genealogy for local residents is:

  • Hartness, George Bowman. By Ship, Wagon, and Foot to York County, S.C. Columbia, S.C.: G.B. Hartness, 1966. FHL 975.743 D2h ("A compilation of historical information on the following families who were among the earliest white settlers of York, Chester, Winnsboro, and Kershaw Counties, South Carolina: Hartness, Ash, Burris, Bowen, Whitley, Mitchell, Carson, Thomas, Neil, Irvin, Chesnut, Curley, Sutton, McClain, Waggoner, Eakins, Johnsey, and including a chapter on the Hartness family who settled in New York State.")

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans. York County Land Warrants 1807-1816 South Carolina Pioneers
The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in York County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-present York County
1800-1868 York District
1791-1800 York County (old) Records in Pinckney District
1785-1791 York County (old) Records in Camden District
1769-1785 Camden District * **
1719-1769 Charleston District *
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
* Records before 1772 may be found in North Carolina counties Tryon, Mecklenburg and Anson
** Some early Camden District records may be found in Kershaw County

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

The county is named after York County, Pennsylvania.[11] The county is the site of the Revolutionary War Battle of King's Mountain.

  • Moore, Maurice Augustus and Elmer Oris Parker. Reminiscences of York. (Greenville, South Carolina A Press, c1981). 105 pages. Maurice Augustus Moore's life 1795-1871 with a brief history previous to his birth. Book found at FHL 975.743 H2m and [3v74lny Other Libraries.]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Cleveland CountyGaston CountyMecklenburg CountyLancaster CountyChester CountyUnion CountyCherokee CountySC YORK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from York County for European settlers included:[12]

Agriculture (Migration)
Uncertainties in the cotton marked remained in a dejected state until 1850. The western states, however, were flourishing and the profit in the cotton market was booming. The farmland and soil was new and unpolluted, unlike the overworked soil of South Carolina. Many of the residents of South Carolina abandoned their farms and moved to Mississippi and Alabama where there were promises of better farm production. According to the 1850 census, 41% of all South Carolina natives had moved elsewhere, clearly because of the soil depletion of the area. If the Inman family was involved in the cotton market, their move between the years 1840 and 1850 from York County, South Carolina to Monroe County, Mississippi followed the typical migration pattern of destitute farmers.[13][14]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


Many veterans have lived in York County over the years. The Battle of King's Mountain has generated a great deal of interest in York County military history. York County, South Carolina Military discusses the area's military records and histories.
Patriot victory was gained at King's Mountain on 7 October 1780. British officer Lord Cornwallis left the Carolinas over a year after this battle and surrendered, but Kings Mountain was a major turning point in the war for the Patriots. For more information regarding the Battle of King's Mountain, see http://www.carolana.com/SC/Revolution/revolution_battle_of_kings_mountain.html

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from York County served in various regiments.

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves, Company C, Company G, and Company K
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company K
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company D, Company E, and Company G
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company F and Company I
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company C and Company D
- 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A, Company B, and Company H
- 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 17th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company E, Company F, and Company K
- 18th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company F, Company G, Company H, and Captain J. L. McMakin's Company

Other Resources

  • York County Board of Honor. Confederate Pension Records, 1896-1964. (Columbia, South Carolina: Filmed by the South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, 1973). Prior to 1929 the Pension Board created the confederate pension records. Some years are mixed. 2 FHL Microfilms. Includes: Approved pension roll books 1896-1962 , Pension application papers: veterans 1919-1940, Pension application papers: widows 1919-1938 and Pension list 1945-1964. Microfilm copies at FHL 1028995
  • Gorski, Eddie L. Civil War abstracts from the Gaffney ledger: from the local newspaper. (Gaffney, South Carolina: E.L. Gorski, c1989-c1991). 2 volumes. These abstraction also contain some of those who were living in near by counties such as Union, York and Spartanburg"--Vol. 1, pref., 1st prelim. p. Names are in alphabetical order by surname. Vol. 2 includes information from the Union Times. Books found at FHL 975.742/G1 M2g
  • Owens, Jo Roberts and Ruth Dickson Thomas. Confederate Veterans Enrollment Book of York County, S.C., 1902. (Clover, South Carolina: Westmoreland Printers, 1983), 151 pages Record was copied from the original Confederate Veterans Enrollment Book which was, in 1893, located in the Judge of Probate's Office, York County Court House, York, South Carolina. Book found at the FHL 975.743 M2o and [4xa2dn6 Other Libraries].
  • Hart, Joseph Everett. Supplement to Confederate Veterans Enrollment Book of York County, S. C., 1902: additional information about some of the veterans (the index in the Confederate veterans enrollment book may be used for this supplement), (York, South Carolina: [s.n.], 1984), 48 pages. Book found at the FHL 975.743 M2o supp. and Other Libraries.
  • Thomas, Samuel N.Jr and Paul C. Whitesides.Under The Leaves of the Palmetto: York County's Confederate Veterans. ( McConnells, S.C.: York County Historical Commission, ©1996.). 2 Volumes. This work is a compilation of names and unit information, when know, of those who served between 8161-1865. Book found at the FHL 975.743 M2t and [3bjm8fc Other Libraries.]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for York County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available. Will books and other estate records for York County, 1787-1950, are available on microfilm, with an index that covers 1787-1969. Probate records for York County may be found in the court of ordinary (for York District), the probate court, and the court of equity. Will records for the probate court and court of ordinary are also available on microfilm through the Family History Library for 1770-1950. FHL Film 229694 Wills probated prior to 1868 were processed in the court of ordinary.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Original sources
Various nineteenth-century tax records survive and are held at the county courthouse, including:

Published abstracts

  • 1840 Slaveholders Tax, 1840, York County Genealogical and Historical Society Quarterly, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Dec. 1997).
  • 1858 Tax Returns, 1858, York District, Broad River Notebook, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Mar. 1996).
  • 1864 Tax List 1864, available online, courtesy: SCGenWeb.
  • 1865 Tax List 1865, available online, courtesy: SCGenWeb.
  • 1866 Tax List 1866, available online, courtesy: SCGenWeb.
  • 1867 Yorkville Tax Schedule, 1867, York County Genealogical and Historical Society Quarterly, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Dec. 2000).
  • 1868 Tax Return, 1868, includes taxes on gold watches and carriages, Broad River Notebook, a serial article in the following issues: (Sep. 1998); (Dec. 1998); (Mar. 1999); (Jun. 1999); (Sep. 1999).
  • 1869 Tax, Piano owners in the county, 1869, Broad River Notebook (Sep. 1997).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in York County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in York County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
York County LibraryWebsite

York County has a library system that includes five library locations and a bookmobile. There is a Local History area dedicated to local history and genealogy resources at the Main Library in Rock Hill. The county library contains a wealth of genealogy resources and local history resources about York County, South Carolina and the Catawba Indians. Their resources also include newspaper articles, typed manuscripts, photographs, and electronic databases. Many have been digitized and access is provided through the library's website. Of particilar interest to genealogists are their genealogy and history offerings. Genealogy: Library patrons can access
Websites such as Ancestry.com and HeritageQuest Online. There are resources for African American genealogy, local cemetery listings, and more.

History The York County Library has newspaper articles, an obituary index, typed manuscripts, photographs, and electronic databases. Many if the historical records mentioned here are digitized and available through the library's
Website.

'York County Library, Rock Hill'
Address:
138 East Black St.
Rock Hill, SC 29730
Telephone: (803) 981-5858
Business Hours: Monday - Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Saturday: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.. Sunday (September - May): 2:00 - 6:00 p.m.Website

'Clover Public Library'
Address:
107 Knox St.
Clover, SC 29710
Telephone: (803) 222-3474
Business Hours: Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Saturday: 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m., Sunday: ClosedWebsite

'Fort Mill Public Library'
Address:
1818 2nd Baxter Crossing
Fort Mill, SC 29708
Telephone: (803) 547-4114
Business Hours: Monday - Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., Friday - Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Sunday: ClosedWebsite

Lake Wylie Public Library
Address:
185 Blucher Circle
Lake Wylie, SC 29710
Telephone: (803) 831-7774
Business Hours: Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Saturday: 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m., Sunday: ClosedWebsite

'York Public Library'
Address:

21 East Liberty St.
York, SC 29745
Telephone: (803) 684-3751
Business Hours: Monday - Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Sunday: ClosedWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in York County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 1 January 2022.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 1 January 2022.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "York, South Carolina," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_South_Carolina. accessed 15/07/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), York County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 4 January 2022.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "York County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 29 December 2019.
  9. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  12. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  13. Faust, Drew Gilpin. "The Rhetoric and Ritual of Agriculture in Antebellum South Carolina." The Journal of Southern History 45, no. 4 (1979): 541-68. Accessed October 2, 2017.
  14. Latzko, David A. “Mapping the short-run impact of the Civil War and Emancipation on the South Carolina Economy.” South Carolina Historical Magazine. Charleston (October 2015): 258-279. Accessed October 2, 2017.
  15. Langdon, Barbara R., York County Marriages, 1770-1869, Implied in York County, South Carolina Probate Records, Aiken, SC: B.R. Langdon, c1983.
  16. West, Charles D., All Names Copied from York County, South Carolina Newspapers, 1800's, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1978.
  17. Holcomb, Brent H., comp. York, South Carolina, Newspapers Marriage and Death Notices, 1823-1865. Spartanburg, SC, USA: Reprint Co., 1989.
  18. West, Charles D., All Names Copied from York County, South Carolina Newspapers, 1800's, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1978.
  19. Ancestry.com. South Carolina Death Records, 1821-1955 (database on-line). Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2008. Original data: South Carolina. South Carolina death records. Columbia, SC, USA: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
  20. Holcomb, Brent H., comp. York, South Carolina, Newspapers Marriage and Death Notices, 1823-1865. Spartanburg, SC, USA: Reprint Co., 1989.