York County, Pennsylvania Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to York County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: York
Organized: August 19, 1749
Parent County(s): Lancaster[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dauphin  • Baltimore (MD)  • Carroll (MD)  • Adams  • Lancaster  • Cumberland  • Harford (MD)
See County Maps
Courthouse
York County, Pennsylvania Judicial Center.jpg
Location Map
York County PA Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Pa-rootsbuttonwiki.gif This page adopted by:
PA Roots and its members
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

York is located in the southeastern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

York County Judicial Center (courthouse)
45 North George Street
York, PA 17401
Phone: 717-771-9288
Fax: 717-771-4678
Office of the Prothonotary: 717-771-9611
Recorder of Deeds: 717-771-9608
Orphans' Court: 717-771-9288
York County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1893-1907, marriage records from 1885, divorce, court, and land records from 1749
Register of Wills has probate records[3]

York County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1885 1893 1749 1749 1773 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1906. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Formed from Lancaster County 14 October 1748. [5]
  • County seat: York[6]
  • 22 January 1800: Adams County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in York County, Pennsylvania:

York, Franklintown, Codorus Township, Heidelberg Township, Penn Township, York Township, more ...

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Indentured Servants
By searching for the term "servant" at the York County Archives website, you can retrieve a list of indentured servants listed in York County Quarter Sessions.

  • Immigrant Servants Database hosted by Price Genealogy - Includes indentured/imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of York County, Pennsylvania online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 37,535 —
1800 25,643 −31.7%
1810 31,958 24.6%
1820 38,759 21.3%
1830 42,859 10.6%
1840 47,010 9.7%
1850 57,450 22.2%
1860 68,200 18.7%
1870 76,134 11.6%
1880 87,841 15.4%
1890 99,489 13.3%
1900 116,413 17.0%
1910 136,405 17.2%
1920 144,521 5.9%
1930 167,135 15.6%
1940 178,022 6.5%
1950 202,737 13.9%
1960 238,336 17.6%
1970 272,603 14.4%
1980 312,963 14.8%
1990 339,574 8.5%
2000 381,751 12.4%
2010 434,972 13.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The Blue Ridge District of the Eastern States Mission comprised church members living in southeastern Pennsylvania. District headquarters were in Lancaster, with branches located in Bucks, Fulton, Lancaster, and York counties.

County-wide Database - Multi-denominational

York County Pennsylvania Churches
Contains the church records of:
  • Abbottstown: Church of the Immaculate Heart of Mary
  • Cross Roads: Gatchellville Charge United Methodist Church
  • Delroy: Lutheran Church
  • East Prospect: Zion United Brethren Church
  • East York: Emanuel United Church of Christ
  • Gatchellville: Gatchellville Charge United Methodist Church
  • Glen Rock: Emmanuel United Methodist Church
  • Hametown: St. Paul Lutheran Church
  • Hanover: First United Methodist Church
  • Hellam: St. Paul Methodist Church
  • Loganville: Christ Lutheran Church
  • Mount Wolf: Otterbein United Methodist Church
  • Red Lion: Grace Lutheran Church; St. John's United Church of Christ; United Methodist Church
  • Springettsbury: United Brethren in Christ
  • Starview: United Brethren in Christ
  • Stewartstown: Presbyterian Church
  • Thomasville: Paradise (Holtzschwamm) Lutheran Church
  • York: Aldersgate United Methodist Church; Asbury United Methodist Church; Bethlehem United Methodist Church; First Church of the Brethren; J.O. Miller Memorial Reformed Church; Locust Grove United Church of Christ; Memorial United Church of Christ; St. John's Episcopal Church; St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. Matthew Lutheran Church; St. Paul's Lutheran Church; St. Paul's United Church of Christ; Trinity Reformed Church (United Church of Christ); Trinity United Church of Christ; United Brethren in Christ; York Grace Charge; Zion United Church of Christ
  • 1730-1800 - Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, York County, 1730-1800. Washington, D.C.: Larjon and Company Inc., 1998. FHL Book 974.841 K2hj.
Information is taken from church records of the Warrington Friends' Monthly Meeting, Warrington Township; Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church, York; St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, Hanover; Records of Jacob Lischy, Reformed pastor; Trinity Reformed Church, York; St. Jacob's Lutheran and Reformed Church, Codorus Township; Moravian Church, York; St. David's Lutheran and Reformed Church, West Manheim Township; Trinity Reformed Church, Kreutz Creek, Hellam Township; Strayer's Reformed Church, Dover Township; Canadochly Lutheran and Reformed Church, Lower Windsor Township; St. Luke's Lutheran and Reformed Church, Chanceford Township; St. Paul's Lutheran and Reformed Church, West Manchester Township; St. John's Lutheran and Reformed Church, Hopewell Township; Strayer's Lutheran Church, Dover Township; Zion Lutheran and Reformed Church, Conewago Township; Friedensaal Lutheran Church, Springfield Township; St. James' Lutheran Church, Kreutz Creek, Hellam Township; St. Paul's Lutheran and Reformed Church, North Codorus Township; Records of Jacob Goering; Jerusalem Lutheran and Reformed Church, Shrewsbury Township; St. Peter's Reformed Church, North Codorus Township; St. John's Episcopal Church, York; St. Peter's Reformed Church, Springfield Township; Emanuel Reformed Church, Hanover; St. John's Lutheran Church, Hopewell Township; Steltz Lutheran and Reformed Church, Codorus Township.
  • York County Church Histories courtesy USGenWeb Archives
  • York County Church Records courtesy USGenWeb Archives
    Includes records for:
  • Bethlehem Reformed, Stiltz
  • Canadochly Church, Lower Windsor Twp
  • Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church (partial)
  • Emanuel Reformed Church, Hanover
  • Guinston United Presbyterian Church, Chanceford Township
  • Lischey's Reformed Charge
  • Salem Union Church, (Strayers) now Salem
  • Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • St. Jacob's Stone Church
  • St. James Church Lancaster Records for York, Huntington and Marsh Creek
  • Union Church, Shiloh
  • United Brethren in Christ (Now United Methodist), Hanover


Episcopalian

St. John's Church, York

Registers begin in 1786, but some earlier parishioners appear in the registers of Lancaster. Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For free online access, see WeRelate.

  • 1785-1875 St. John Episcopal Church, York, Baptism Index 1785-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506891 .
  • 1811-1878 St. John Episcopal Church, York, Marriage Index 1811-1878 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M506891 .
  • 1784-1800 St. John's (St. John the Baptist's) Episcopal Church, City of York, 1784-1800 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).

Lutheran

  • 1730-1739 Records of Rev. Johan Casper Stoever: Baptismal and Marriage, 1730-39 in "Private Church Registers to 1800, York County, Pennsylvania" at Ancestry ($).
  • 1730-1779 Marriage Records of Rev. Johan Casper Stoever at USGenWeb (free).
  • 1788-1789 Baptisms Performed by Pastor Jacob Goering (Lutheran) in Pennsylvania: York County, 1788-89 in "Private Church Registers to 1800, York County, Pennsylvania" at Ancestry ($).

Blymir's (St. John) Union Church (Lutheran and Reformed), York Township

  • 1766-1798 Blymir's (St. John) Union Church, York Township, 1766-98 (Lutheran and Reformed) in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).
  • 1761-1830 Blymire's Lutheran (formerly United Reformed and Lutheran) Church Register at USGenWeb (free)
  • 1766-1851 Lutheran and Reformed Blimyer's Union Church, York County, Pennsylvania, 1766-1851 at Ancestry ($). Mainly births and baptisms; some marriages, burials.
  • 1767-1834 Blymire's Union Church Lutheran and Reformed, York Township, Baptism Index 1767-1834 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506901 .

Canadochly Lutheran Church, Lower Windsor Township

  • 1754-1800 Canadochly Lutheran Church, Lower Windsor Township, 1754-1800 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).

Canadochly Lutheran and Reformed Congregations

  • 1755-1759 Canadochly Lutheran and Reformed Congregation, Lower Windsor Township, Baptism Index 1755-1759 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M516491 .
  • 1801-1873 York County, Pennsylvania, 1801-73: Canadochly Lutheran and Reformed Congregations at Ancestry ($). Mainly baptisms and communions.

Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church

Creutz Creek (St. James) Lutheran and (Trinity) Reformed Church, Hellam Township

  • 1754-1871 York County, Pennsylvania: Creutz Creek Church Records at Ancestry ($). Hellam Township. Includes baptisms, marriages, burials for Creutz Creek (St. James) Lutheran Church 1757-1799; Creutz Creek (Trinity) Reformed Church, 1763-1799; and Reformed Congregation at Creutz Creek, 1800-1855.

Dub's Union Church Reformed Congregation, Manheim Township

Fissel's (Jerusalem) Union Church, Shrewsbury Township

  • 1780-1794 Fissel's (Jerusalem) Union Church, Shrewsbury Township, 1780-94 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).

Frey's Church, Reformed and Lutheran Congregations

  • 1809-1832, 1861-1862 Reformed and Lutheran Congregations of Frey's Church, York County, Pennsylvania, 1809-32, 1861-62 at Ancestry ($).
  • 1862 Frey's Reformed and Lutheran Congregation, Windsor Township, Baptism Index 1862 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506851 .

Freysville Evangelical Lutheran Congregation

  • 1871-1889 Evangelical Lutheran Congregation of Freysville, York County, Pennsylvania, 1871-89 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.

Friedensall (Schuster's White) Church, Springfield Township

  • 1755-1801 Friedensall (Schuster's White) Church, 1755-1801 in "Springfield Township Church Records, York County, Pennsylvania, 1755-1801" at Ancestry ($).

Mt. Zion Lutheran Church, Cedar Point, Fairview Township

  • 1868-1938 Mt. Zion Lutheran Church, Cedar Point, Fairview Township, York County, Pennsylvania; records 1868-1938 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.

Quickel's (Zion) Lutheran and Reformed Church

  • 1765-1803 York County, Pennsylvania, 1765-1803: Quickel's (Zion) Lutheran and Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).

Rossville Lutheran Evangelical Congregation

St. Jacob's (Stone) Union Church, Codorus Township

  • 1756-1875 St. Jacob's Stone Lutheran and Reformed Church, Brodbecks, Baptism Index 1756-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C504961 [7]
  • 1762-1800 St. Jacob's (Stone) Union Church in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1760-1800: Codorus Township" at Ancestry ($).

St. Luke's Lutheran and Reformed Congregations

  • 1773-1835 St. Luke's Lutheran and Reformed Congregations, York County, Pennsylvania, 1773-1835 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.

St. Matthew's Lutheran Church

  • 1743-1799 St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, York County, Pennsylvania, 1743-99 at Ancestry ($).

St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, Hanover

St. Paul's (Ziegler's) Evangelical Lutheran Church, Codorus Township

  • 1771-1875 St. Paul Lutheran and Reformed or Ziegler's Church, North Codorus Township, Baptism Index 1771-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C504831 .
  • 1771-1800 St. Paul's (Ziegler's) Evangelical Lutheran Church in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1760-1800: Codorus Township" at Ancestry ($).

Saddler's (St. John's) Lutheran Church, Hopewell Township

  • 1791-1800 Saddler's (St. John's) Lutheran Church, Hopewell Township, 1791-1800 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).
  • 1792-1861 Saddler's Lutheran Church Baptisms, York County, Pennsylvania, 1792-1861 in Ancestry ($).
  • 1792-1863 Saddler's Lutheran Church, Hopewell Township, Baptism Index 1792-1863 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506791 .

Second Evangelical Lutheran Church, Chambersburg

Sherman's (St. David's) Union Church

  • 1751-1800 Sherman's (St. David's) Union Church, York County, Pennsylvania, 1751-1800 at Ancestry ($).
  • 1763-1869 York County, Pennsylvania, 1763-1869: St. David's/Sherman's Reformed and Lutheran Church at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, communions.

Stehli's (St. Luke's) Union Church, Chanceford Township

  • 1772-1800 Records of Stehli's (St. Luke's) Union Church, Chanceford Township, York County, Pennsylvania, 1772--1800 in "Chanceford Township, York County, Pennsylvania Church Records," at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages.
  • 1773-1835 St. Luke's Church or Stahley's Lutheran and Reformed Congregation, Chanceford Township, Baptism Index 1773-1835 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C504681 .

Steltz Union Church, Codorus Township

  • 1797-1800 Steltz Union Church in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1760-1800: Codorus Township" at Ancestry ($).

Wolf's (St. Paul's) Reformed and Lutheran Church, West Manchester Township

  • 1760-1875 St. Paul's Reformed Congregation, West Manchester Township, Baptism Index 1760-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506841 .
  • 1764-1894 York County, Pennsylvania, 1764-1894: Wolf's (St. Paul's) Reformed and Lutheran Church at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.
  • 1764-1800 Wolf's (St. Paul's) Reformed and Lutheran Church, West Manchester Township, 1764-1800 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).

Moravian

First Moravian Church

  • 1758-1800 York County, Pennsylvania, 1758-1800: First Moravian Church at Ancestry ($).

Presbyterian

  • 1752-1790 Records from Reverend John Cuthbertson's Diary, York County, Pennsylvania in "Private Church Registers to 1800, York County, Pennsylvania" at Ancestry ($).

Guinston (Muddy Creek) United Presbyterian Church, North Codorus Township

  • 1772-1799 Records of Guinston (Muddy Creek) United Presbyterian Church, North Codorus Township, York County, Pennsylvania, 1772-1799 in "Chanceford Township, York County, Pennsylvania Church Records," at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages.

Presbyterian Congregation, York

Presbyterian Congregation, Hopewell Township

Quaker

Warrington Monthly Meeting

  • 1800s-1900s Pennsylvania Quaker Records: Warrington, York County, Little Brittain, Lancaster County, Centre, Centre County, West Branch, Clearfield County, Dunnings Creek, Bedford County. n.p. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive[8]
  • Myers, Albert Cook,. Warrington Monthly Meeting of the Society of Friends (Quakers), Warrington Township near Wellsville, York County, Pennsylvania. York, Pa.: 1950. Digitized by Ancestry ($).

Reformed

Tip
 See also York section.
  • 1744-1769 York County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1744-69: Jacob Lischy's Private Pastoral Record at Ancestry ($). Rev. served the following York County congregations: Lischy York Reformed, Kreutz Creek, St. David in West Manheim, Canadochly, St. Peter's, Jacob's, Strayer's, Wolf's, Emanuel's, Quickel's, and Friedensaal.

Emanuel Reformed Church, Hanover Township

  • 1770-1800 Emanuel Reformed Church, Hanover Township, 1770-1800 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).

Emmanuel's Reformed Church

  • 1800-1856 York County, Pennsylvania, 1800-56: Emmanuel's Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).

First Reformed Church

  • 1745-1800 York County, Pennsylvania, 1745-1800: First Reformed (Trinity) Church at Ancestry ($).

First Trinity Reformed Church

  • 1800-1846 York County, Pennsylvania Marriages, 1800-46: First Trinity Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).

Fissel's (Jerusalem) Union Church, Shrewsbury Township

  • 1780-1794 Fissel's (Jerusalem) Union Church, Shrewsbury Township, 1780-94 in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records to 1800" at Ancestry ($).

German Branch First Reformed and Zion Reformed Church, York

Holzschwamm Reformed Church, Paradise Township

  • 1833-1875 Holtzchwamm Reformed Congregation, Paradise Township, Baptism Index 1833-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506821 .
  • 1833-1935 Holzschwamm Reformed Church Records (Paradise Township, York County, Pennsylvania) at Ancestry ($). Baptisms.

Lischy's (St. Peter's) Reformed Church, Cordorus Township

  • 1773-1797 Lischy's (St. Peter's) Reformed Church in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1760-1800: Codorus Township" at Ancestry ($).

Reformed Church, York

Reformed Congregation, Dub's Union

  • 1855-1887 Reformed Congregation at Dub's Union Church Baptisms, York County, Pennsylvania, 1855-1887 at Ancestry ($).

Roth's Church (now Trinity Reformed Church), Jackson Township

  • 1818-1900 The Register of the Reformed Congregation of Roth's Church (now Trinity Reformed Church), Jackson Township, York County, Pennsylvania, 1818-1900 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms.
  • 1819-1875 Roth's Reformed Church, Jackson Township, Baptism Index 1819-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506801 .

St. John's Reformed Church, Hopewell Township

St. Peter's (Yellow and formerly Salem) Reformed Church, Springfield Township

  • 1789-1797 St. Peter's (Yellow and formerly Salem) Reformed Church, 1789-1797 in "Springfield Township Church Records, York County, Pennsylvania, 1755-1801" at Ancestry ($).

Steltz Union Church, Codorus Township

  • 1797-1800 Steltz Union Church in "York County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1760-1800: Codorus Township" at Ancestry ($).

Strayer's (Salem) Reformed Church

  • 1745-1875 Strayer's Salem Reformed Congregation, Dover Township, Baptism Index 1745-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C506771 .
  • 1764-1800 York County, Pennsylvania, 1764-1800: Strayer's (Salem) Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).

Trinity Reformed Church

  • 1801-1853 York County, Pennsylvania, 1801-53: Trinity Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.

Indentured Servants
By searching for the term "servant" at the York County Archives website, you can retrieve a list of indentured servants listed in York County Quarter Sessions.

  • Immigrant Servants Database hosted by Price Genealogy - Includes indentured/imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[9]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.

Land records in York County began in 1749. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in York, Pennsylvania.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • 1749–1943 The York County Archives have deed book indexes online(1749 -1912 and 1913 - 1943).When searching these indexes you will be directed to PDF pages that have the grantee and grantor indexes.Instructions are given on the York County Archives page as to how to use the PDF pages that are generated.The PDF documents are quite large and take some time to download.These indexes provide you with the details needed to search and obtain copies of the original deeds.
  • 1749 -1912 Deeds, 1749-1859; Index to deeds, 1749-1912 FHL films 22085-22129 - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
  • 1981–present Images are available online using the Landex system. There is a fee to view the images.
Media:York county pennsylvania townships.pngYork county pennsylvania townships.png
About this image

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps

Adams CountyCumberland CountyDauphin CountyLancaster CountyHarford CountyBaltimore CountyCarroll CountyPA YORK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
Local men served in the York County Militia. A guide at the Pennsylvania State Archives website identifies townships where specific companies recruited soldiers, see Revolutionary War Militia Battalions and Companies, Arranged by County.

York County men also served in the 1st Pennsylvania Regiment (Revolutionary War). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.[10]

The Camp Security website has a lot of information on this Revelotionary War Prisoner of War Camp that was located in York County.

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War Battle

  • Map showing Civil War battles in Pennsylvania.
  • June 30,1863 Civil War battle fought in York County at Hanover[11]

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.

Newspapers of York County

  • The York Daily Record
  • Weekly Record
  • The York Dispatch
  • Community Courier
  • Dillsburg Banner

Online Newspapers

To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.


Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Excerpts and Abstracts

  • Sullivan, Raymond B., Newspaper Clippings of York County, Penn., Evening Sun, 1967 (SLC, Utah, 1968) FHL film 547096 and 547097 item 1
  • Sullivan, Raymond B., Newspaper Clippings of York County, Penn., Gazette and Daily, 1967 (SLC, Utah, 1968) FHL film 547094-95
  • Compiled by Raymond B. Sullivan, A Collection of Newspaper Clippings of Vital Records from the Evening Sun, Gazette and Daily, Adams Co., York Co., Pennsylvania, Carroll Co., Maryland, 1968-1969; Sykesville Times Caroll County Times, Carroll Co., Maryland, 1967-1968, 1967-1969 (SLC, Utah, 1969) FHL films 599824-599829 item 1

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.

Online Obituary Abstracts

Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate matters in York County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.

In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Bond Books (1794 -1968) There is no local microfilm available. They are indexed and can be searched online at the Archives website. These records originated in the Recorder of Deeds office. Bonds from 1749 - 1793 are found in Estate Files. After 1968 Bonds are at the Register of Deeds.
Estate Files (1749 -1958) There is no local microfilm or index. They originated in the office of the Register of Wills/Orphan's Court.
Estate Files (1959 -1967) There is no local microfilm but they are indexed and can be searched online at the Archives website. These records also originated in the office of the Register of Wills/Orphan's Court.
Will Books (1749 -1973) There are local microfilms of Dockets A - AA. These records are indexed. They are searchable online at FamilySearch at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county) They originated in the Register of Wills office.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

The York County Archives house tax records for the county from 1767 (with gaps) to 1988. Prior to the 1950's these tax records were listed under the tax payer's name and township and borough. Records since then are listed by name, address, location of property, account number, etc. These records originated in the Assessment Office of the Court House. They are available locally on microfilm for 1767 -1850 and 1950 - 1988. These records are not indexed nor are they available at the Archives website.

  • 1762 South Central Pennsylvania Genealogical Society (York, Pa.). An alphabetical listing of the assessed inhabitants of York County, Pennsylvania for the year 1762, York, Pennsylvania : South Central Pennsylvania Genealogical Society, 1978-1979.
  • 1779-1783 York County USGenWeb Project The York County USGenWeb Project has the Returns of Taxables of the County of York for the Years 1779, 1780, 1781, 1782, 1783 online.
  • 1779-1783 Returns of Taxables of the County of York: For the Years 1779, 1780, 1781, 1782 and 1783. (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 3, Vol. 21). Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books
  • 1798 Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.

The following indexes are available for online searches:

  • 1852 -1853, 1893 - 1906 Birth Records
  • Prior to 1906 Delayed Births (recorded after 1941)
  • 1852 -1853, 1885 - 1949 Marriage Records
  • 1852 -1855, 1893 - 1906 Death Records
  • 1877 -1958 Affidavits of Death
  • These indexes reference the original records which can be ordered from the Archives.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

The following records are available at the York County Archives:

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officials. Contact York County Courthouse

The following records are available at the York County Archives:

Death[edit | edit source]

Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

The following records are available at the York County Archives:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in York County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.

The York County Archives
150 Pleasant Acres Road
York, PA 17420
Phone: 717-840-7222
Website
York County records begin in August of 1749 when York County was formed from Lancaster County. The Archives stores records for over 40 different county offices during various time periods throughout the past 250 years.

National Archives at Philadelphia
14700 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
Phone: 215-305-2044
Fax: 215-305-2052
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in York County. For state-wide library facilities, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.

York County Libraries
Website
Most libraries in York County have genealogical and local history collections.

Martin Memorial Library
159 East Market Street
York, PA
Phone: 717-846-5300
Website

Guthrie Memorial Library
2 Library Place
Hanover, PA
Phone: 717-632-5183
Website
The Pennsylvania Room houses an extensive collection of genealogical materials including church and cemetery records, ships' passenger lists, and family histories. Pennsylvania Room services, charges, hours.

Museums[edit | edit source]

York County History Center
250 East Market Street
York, PA 17403
Phone: 717-848-1587
Website
The Historical Society Museum and Library houses exhibits and an extensive research library.

Police Heritage Museum
54 West Market Street
York, PA 17401
Phone: 717-845-COPS
Website
The museum has historic records of police officers, their departments, and the techniques and equipment they used. Limited hours; visit website for information.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in York County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Pennsylvania Societies.

York County History Center
250 East Market Street
York, PA 17403
Phone: 717-848-1587
Website

South Central Pennsylvania Genealogical Society
Website

Susquehanna Trail Genealogy Club
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • York County USGenWeb Project The York County, Pennsylvania USGenweb Project has an extensive collection of links for help in performing genealogy in York County. The Project also has many online extracted and original records.
  • York County PA Genealogy
  • FamilyHart Online Database, provided by FamilyHart (aka Don & Jeanine Hartman), has the largest collection of York County family genealogies online (Total database size over 843,000 linked names, most with York County ties). They also have a large collection of family photgraphs, documents, and headstone pictures associated with these families.
  • McClure, Jim, local author on York County, Pennsylvania, "York Town Square" Blog, York Town Square; also McClure, Jim, Blog on "The Laux, Loux, Loucks, Laucks, Louck, Lauck, Louks family to hold 300th reunion in York".
  • Pennsylvania Dutch Family History, Genealogy, Culture and Life This site contains links to everything Pennsylvania Dutch.
  • FamilyHart's Harry Senft Cemetery Pictures and Indices -100s of 1000s of pictures of headstones from York and Adams County, Pennsylvania with associated indices - Virtually every known cemetery in the two counties.
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. ↑ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/12/2017
  3. ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 593.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/2/20/Igipennsylvaniat.pdf.
  8. ↑ Thanks to FamilyHart at PAGenWeb for this link.
  9. ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
  10. ↑ John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  11. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  12. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/2/20/Igipennsylvaniat.pdf.
v • d • e
Links to Pennsylvania-related articles
Topics
Counties
Adams · Allegheny · Armstrong · Beaver · Bedford · Berks · Blair · Bradford · Bucks · Butler · Cambria · Cameron · Carbon · Centre · Chester · Clarion · Clearfield · Clinton · Columbia · Crawford · Cumberland · Dauphin · Delaware · Elk · Erie · Fayette · Forest · Franklin · Fulton · Greene · Huntingdon · Indiana · Jefferson · Juniata · Lackawanna · Lancaster · Lawrence · Lebanon · Lehigh · Luzerne · Lycoming · McKean · Mercer · Mifflin · Monroe · Montgomery · Montour · Northampton · Northumberland · Perry · Philadelphia · Pike · Potter · Schuylkill · Snyder · Somerset · Sullivan · Susquehanna · Tioga · Union · Venango · Warren · Washington · Wayne · Westmoreland · Wyoming · York
Extinct Co.
Major
Repositories
American Swedish Historical Museum · Bristol Public Library (Bristol, VA) · Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh · Citizens Library · Erie County Library · Evangelical and Reformed Historical Society · Franklin and Marshall College Library · Free Library of Philadelphia · Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania · German Society of Pennsylvania · Handley Regional Library (Winchester, VA) · Haverford College Library · Historical Society of Pennsylvania · Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania · Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia · Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society · Library Company of Philadelphia · Library of Congress (Washington, DC) · Lutheran Archives Center at Philadelphia · Luzerne County Historical Society Bishop Library · National Archives at Philadelphia · New York Public Library (New York City, NY) · Pennsylvania Department of Health · Pennsylvania State Archives · Philadelphia City Archives · Presbyterian Historical Society · State Library of Pennsylvania · SUNY Fredonia Reed Library (Fredonia, NY) · Swarthmore College Friends Historical Library · Temple University Urban Archives · University of Pennsylvania Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center · Western Reserve Historical Society (Cleveland, OH)
Migration
Routes
Beaver and Erie Canal · Minsi Path · Braddock's Road · Burd's Road · Canada Road · Centre Turnpike · Culbertson's Path · Delaware and Raritan Canal · Delaware River · Fall Line Road  · Fall Line Road · Forbes Road · Gist's Trace  · Great Indian Warpath · Great Island Path · Great Shamokin Path · Great Trail · Great Valley Road · Great Valley Road · King's Highway · Kittanning Path · Lake Erie · Lake Shore Path · Lake Shore Path · Lehigh and Lackawanna Paths · Gist's Trace · Minsi Path · National Road  · Cumberland Road · Ohio River  · Pennsylvania Road · Philadelphia Lancaster Turnpike · Philadelphia and Reading Rail Road · Pennsylvania Railroad · Schuylkill Canal · Tuscarora Path · Union Canal · Venango Path Philadelphia

Due to contractual agreements, some images and/or databases on FamilySearch.org may only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=York_County,_Pennsylvania_Genealogy&oldid=4922304"