York County, Maine Genealogy
(Redirected from York County, Maine Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to York County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
York County was named for York, England. The county is located in the southwestern area of the state.[1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
York County Courthouse
11 Chase’s Pond Road
York, ME 03909
Phone: 207-363-7434
York County Website
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. Clerk Court has divorce and court records. Register of Probate has death and probate records from 1637. Register of Deeds has land records from 1636. [2]
York County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1892 | 1892 | 1637 | 1636 | 1636 | 1637 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Extinct towns and plantations
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical review : this volume contains biographical sketches of leading citizens of York County, Maine. Boston, MA., Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1896. Online at:FamilySearch Digital Library
- History of York County, Maine : with illustrations and biographical sketches of its prominent men and pioneers. by Clayton, W. W. (W. Woodford), Everts & Peck, Philadelphia, PA, 1880. Online at:FamilySearch Digital Library.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- 1873-1965 Maine & Massachusetts, Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen, 1873-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1620-2014 Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-2014 Maine, U.S., Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1718-2014 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1780-1990 Maine, U.S., Faylene Hutton Cemetery Collection, 1780-1990 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- ca. 1780-1999 Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 29,078 | — |
| 1800 | 37,896 | 30.3% |
| 1810 | 41,877 | 10.5% |
| 1820 | 46,283 | 10.5% |
| 1830 | 51,722 | 11.8% |
| 1840 | 54,034 | 4.5% |
| 1850 | 60,098 | 11.2% |
| 1860 | 62,107 | 3.3% |
| 1870 | 60,174 | −3.1% |
| 1880 | 62,257 | 3.5% |
| 1890 | 62,829 | 0.9% |
| 1900 | 64,885 | 3.3% |
| 1910 | 68,526 | 5.6% |
| 1920 | 70,696 | 3.2% |
| 1930 | 72,934 | 3.2% |
| 1940 | 82,550 | 13.2% |
| 1950 | 93,541 | 13.3% |
| 1960 | 99,402 | 6.3% |
| 1970 | 111,576 | 12.2% |
| 1980 | 139,666 | 25.2% |
| 1990 | 164,587 | 17.8% |
| 2000 | 186,742 | 13.5% |
| 2010 | 197,131 | 5.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1860 Index to the York County, Maine 1860 census
- 1850, 1860, 1879 York County, Maine, mortality schedules, U.S. census 1850, 1860, 1870
- 1904 Transcription - only Kennebunkport
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
- 1784-1831 Marriages (1784-1831) in Hollis, Lyman, Kennebunkport and adjoining towns of York County, Me.
- 1818-1881 Baptismal, marriage and funeral records of Rev. Albert Cole (1818-1881) of Cornish, Maine at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1827-1884 The Maine conference Methodist Episcopal Chirch Copy of record of persons baptized, marriages solemnized, and funerals attended by the late Isaac Lord, Jr., [i.e. Church] from 1827 to 1884; also data regarding the Lord and Curtis families [1778-1924]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Online Court Indexes and Records
- 1636-1852 Maine, York County, record of the courts, 1636-1852.
- 1695-1800 Maine, York County, Court of Common Pleas, 1695-1800.
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1798-1929 Maine, York County, Supreme Judical Court records, 1798-1929.
- 1913-1918 Maine, York County, Supreme Judical Court, equity records, 1913-1918.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1818-1881 Baptismal, marriage and funeral records of Rev. Albert Cole (1818-1881) of Cornish, Maine at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Joseph Carlile of York, Maine (York and Lincoln County descendants) and the antiquity of the Carlyle name.
- 1623-1775 Piscataqua Pioneers : Register of members and ancestors, 1623-1775
- 1623-1775 and 1905-1981 Piscataqua pioneers, 1623-1775 : register of members and ancestors 1905 - 1981
- 1872 A report of the proceedings at the celebration of the first centennial anniversary of the incorporation of the town of Buxton, Maine, held at Buxton, Aug. 14, 1872 : being a full account of the exercises of the day
- FHL Collection
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1642-1904 Deeds, 1642-1904 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1647-1905 index to deeds, 1647-1905 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1718-1825 Records of the Falmouth Proprietors (manuscript transcription)
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1733-1800 Abstracts from the unpublished deeds of York County, Maine, volumes 19-39, 1733-1800 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1856 York County, Maine land ownership map, 1856 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for York County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.
- History of York County, Maine. 1880. By W.W. Clayton. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : Everts & Peck. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- The Isles of Shoals : an Historical Sketch. 1873. By John Scribner Jenness. New York, New York : Hurd and Houghton. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Maine place names: and the peopling of it's towns: York.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Revolutionary War
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- Capt. Johnson Moulton's Company, the first to leave the District of Maine in the Revolution.
- Maine, York County, Revolutionary war pension applications, 1818-
Civil War
- 1862-1865 Maine, Civil War Enlistment Papers, 1862-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Regiments. Civil War service men in York County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:
- - 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry
- - 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies B and C.
World War I
- 1914-1950 Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1917-19k19 Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1918-1991 Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1904-1955 Naturalization records (York County, Maine), 1904-1955.
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- Maine Newspaper Project at DigitalMaine Repository
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1798-1806 Index to death notices, Jenks's Portland Gazette, 1798-1806.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1584-1999 Maine Wills and Probate Records 1584-1999 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1687-1900 Probate records, index to probate records, 1687-1900
- 1687-1938 Probate records, Probate records, 1687-1938;
- 1690-1917 Maine, York County, Probate Estate Files, 1690-1917 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1690-1917 Estate files, ca. 1690-1917
- 1690-1917 Maine, York County, Probate Estate Files, 1690-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
- 1760-1979 Maine, County Probate Records, 1760-1979 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; image only
- 1801-1858 York County, Maine, will abstracts, 1801-1858
- 1843-1868 Probate bonds, 1843-1868
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1715-1922 Maine, Birth Records, 1715-1922 at Ancestry ($)
- 1739-1900 Maine Births and Christenings, 1739-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1589-1966 Maine, United States Marriages at at Findmypast — index, ($) — index $
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1670-1921 Maine, Marriage Index, 1670-1921, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1713-1922 Maine, Marriage Records, 1713-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1743-1891 Maine, 1743-1891 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1771-1907 Maine Marriages, 1771-1907 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1771-1794 York County, Maine, marriage returns, 1771-1794 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1892-1966; 1977-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1966, 1977-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1892-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1996, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1892-1966 Maine Marriages, 1892 - 1966 at MyHeritage - index ($)
- Prior to 1892 Marriage returns of York County, Maine : prior to 1892 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1761-1922 Maine, Death Records, 1761-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1841-1910 Maine Deaths and Burials, 1841-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1996 Maine Death Index, 1960-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1997 Maine, Death Index, 1960-1997, at Ancestry.com ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Exeter New Hampshire Family History Center
- Portland Maine Family History Center
- Wolfeboro New Hampshire Family History Center
- Kennebunk Free Library - an affiliate library
- Scarborough Public Library - an affiliate library
- Springvale Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Maine Genealogy Society
Website
Maine Genealogy York County
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The York County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for York County
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "York County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Maine."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), York County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), York County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "York County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Maine, accessed 24 January 2022.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "York County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Maine, accessed 20 March 2020.
