Yavapai County, Arizona Genealogy
fGuide to Yavapai County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Yavapai County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona, United States Genealogy
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||One of the original four counties, 1852|
|Address||Yavapai County Courthouse|
1015 Fair Street
Prescott, Az 86301
County Information[edit | edit source]
Yavapai County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
120 South Cortez St
Prescott, AZ 86301
Clerk Superio Court has marriage, divorce probate and court records
County Recorder has land records 
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named after the Yavapai people. The County has Prescott as its seat and the County was created November 9, 1864. The County is located in the central area of the state.
History[edit | edit source]
Yavapai County was one of four original counties created by Arizona Territory. It originally covered over 65,000 square miles in size and is believed to be the largest county ever created in the lower 48 States.
Yavapai County came to be known as the “Mother of Counties” because Apache, Coconino, Gila, and Navajo counties were carved from it, plus parts of Greenlee, Graham, Mohave, Maricopa, and Pinal. Today, Yavapai County is 8,125 square miles in size – approximately the same size as the state of Massachusetts!
Yavapai County was also home to Arizona’s first territorial capital, with the provisional seat of the territorial government being established in the Chino Valley area in 1864 and then several months later moved to Prescott. In 1867, the territorial capital was moved to Tucson and ten years later returned to Prescott. In 1889 the capital was moved to Phoenix, where it remains to this day.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- Until 1821 -New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to Mexico Archives and Libraries in Mexico City.
- In 1821 -Mexico; obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Records of this period may have been sent to Mexico Archives and Libraries in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico; Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexicoceded part of present day Arizona, including all of present day Yavapai County. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. Land in present day Yavapai County was then part of Socorro County, New Mexico Genealogy, Bernalillo, Santa Ana (extinct) and Valencia counties.  Look for records in Socorro County, Bernalillo, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New MexicoTerritory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 14 Feb 1871 - Arizona created Maricopa County from land in Yavapai County. This county named for the Maricopa Indians. Look for records in Maricopaand Yavapai counties.
- 14 Feb 1879 - Arizona created Apache County from land in Yavapai County. This county named for the Apache Indians. Look for records in Apache and Yavapai counties.
- 19 Feb 1891 - Arizona created Coconino County from land in Yavapai County. This county named for the Coconino Indians. Look for records in Coconino and Yavapai counties.
See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Footnote[edit | edit source]
This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1911-2000 - Arizona, Yavapai County, Pioneers' Home Resident Ledger and Index, 1911-2000 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Land[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Arizona Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Arizona, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Arizona Daily Journal-Miner - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1900-1902
- Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers at Arizona Memory Project
- Arizona Journal-Miner - Google News Archive; covers 1903-1912
- Arizona Miner - Google News Archive; covers 1866-1871
- Arizona Weekly Journal-Miner - Google News Archive; covers 1893-1900
- Arizona Weekly Miner - Google News Archive; covers 1877
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1959-2014 - Arizona, Mesa LDS Family History Center, Obituary Index, 1959-2014 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Probate[edit | edit source]
From 1850 to 1864, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. From 1864 to 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. 1912 to present, records such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1855-1930 - Arizona, Birth Certificates and Indexes, 1855-1930 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1887-1935 - Arizona Birth Certificates, 1887 - 1935 at MyHeritage - index and images
- 1909-1917 - Arizona Select Births and Christenings 1909-1917 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1917 - Arizona, Birth Certificates, 1909-1917 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection, index
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 4,374 marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
- 1833-1949 - Arizona, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1864-1982 - Arizona Marriage Collection 1864-1982 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1871-1964 - Arizona, County Marriages, 1871–1964 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1888-1908 - Arizona Select Marriages 1888-1908 at Ancestry.com — index
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1870-1963 - Arizona Death Certificates, 1870 - 1963 at MyHeritage ($) - index and images
- 1910-1911 and 1933-1994 - Arizona Select Deaths and Burials 1910-1911 and 1933-1994;at Ancestry.com — index $
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records[edit | edit source]
- 1875-1932 - Arizona, Yavapai County, Voting Records, 1875-1932 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Northern Arizona Genealogical Society Our Society is a general genealogical society covering the counties of Yavapai and Coconino Arizona. Prescott is the county seat for Yavapai County and Flagstaff is the county seat for Coconino County.
Camp Verde Historical Society
435 South Main
Camp Verde, AZ 86322
Jerome Historical Society
200 Main Street
Jerome, AZ 86331
Sharlot Hall Museum Library and Archives
115 S. McCormick St
Phone: 928-445-3122 ex 14
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Yavapai County AZGenWeb
- Yavapai County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy(Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Yavapai County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yavapai County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yavapai County, Arizona p. 57.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Yavapai, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yavapai_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56  /pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ pp. 53-54
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pima County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pima_County,_Arizona, accessed 24 February 2019.