Yamhill County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Yamhill County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Yamhill County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | July 5, 1843 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | McMinnville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Yamhill County Courthouse 535 NE 5th Street McMinnville, OR 97128 Phone: 503.434.7518 Yamhill County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for probably an explorer's name for a local Native American tribe, the Yamhill, who are part of the North Kalapuyan family. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]
Yamhill County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1871 | 1856 | 1875 | 1843 | 1853 | 1849 | 1845 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage records from 1881 and land records from 1853. [3]
- Records Held at the Courthouse
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Yamhill County Court House as of October 2005.
Lafayette was a former county seat until 1886.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Oregon, Yamhill County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for a local Native American tribe, the Yamhill, a part of North Kalapuyan family.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
5 July 1843: Yamhill county was created from the Oregon Territory. [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
22 December 1845: Polk County set off.
15 December 1853: Tillamook County set off.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Native American communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Clackamas | Marion | Polk | Tillamook | Washington
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| ORGenWeb Archives | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| Tombstone Project | FamilySearch Places | |
| ORInterment | ||
| ORGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Oregon Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 3,245 | — |
| 1870 | 5,012 | 54.5% |
| 1880 | 7,945 | 58.5% |
| 1890 | 10,692 | 34.6% |
| 1900 | 13,420 | 25.5% |
| 1910 | 18,285 | 36.3% |
| 1920 | 20,529 | 12.3% |
| 1930 | 22,036 | 7.3% |
| 1940 | 26,336 | 19.5% |
| 1950 | 33,484 | 27.1% |
| 1960 | 32,478 | −3.0% |
| 1970 | 40,213 | 23.8% |
| 1980 | 55,332 | 37.6% |
| 1990 | 65,551 | 18.5% |
| 2000 | 84,992 | 29.7% |
| 2010 | 99,193 | 16.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1845 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1849 Territorial Transcription and Index
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Records[edit | edit source]
- 1857-1963 Oregon, Yamhill County Records, 1857-1963 at FamilySearch — index and images
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Deeds and Property[edit | edit source]
Wiki article describing online FamilySearch Historical collecton is found Oregon. Yamhill County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Additional Records[edit | edit source]
- Military enrollment list of Yamhill County, 1871-1902
- Yamhill County, service discharge records, 1919-1951; index, 1920-2008
- Jacob Calvin Cooper. The military history of Yamhill County. (1899?)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. > Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:
Yamhill County record of deaths 1907-1931, index 1903-1944, coroner's reports 1861-1940
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Birth Registers
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Yamhill County Historical Society and Museum
11275 SW Durham Ln
McMinnville, OR 97128
503-472-2842
Website
Facebook Page
McMinnville Public Library
225 NW Adams St
McMinnville, OR 97128
503-435-5562
Website
Facebook Page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Lake Oswego Oregon Family History Center
- McMinnville Oregon Family History Center
- Milwaukie Oregon Family History Center
- Newberg Oregon Family History Center
- Oregon City Oregon Family History Center
- Tillamook Oregon Family History Center
- Tualatin Oregon Family History Center
- Wilsonville Oregon Family History Center
- Woodburn Oregon Family History Center
- The Genealogical Forum of Oregon - an affiliate library
- Hillsboro Public Library - an affiliate library
- Lake Oswego Public Library - an affiliate library
- Oregon Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
- Wilsonville Public Library - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Yamhill County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Yamhill GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Oregon, Yamhill County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Yamhill County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Yamhill, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamhill_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yamhill County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yamhill County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Yamhill County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamhill_County,_Oregon, accessed 20 January 2019.