Wythe County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wythe County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Wytheville
Organized: 01 May 1790[1]
Parent County(s): Montgomery
Neighboring Counties
Bland  • Carroll  • Grayson  • Pulaski  • Smyth
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaWytheCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Wythe County, Virginia.png
Adoption
George Wythe (1726-1806)

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Wythe County is located in the southwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for George Wythe, a noted lawyer of Eastern Virginia, who was among the first Virginians to sign the Declaration of Independence; he also designed the Virginia Seal.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Wythe County Courthouse
245 South 4th Street, Suite 205
Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone: 276-223-6079
Wythe County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1790.[3]

Wythe County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1790 1853 1790 1790 1790 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county was named after George Wythe (1726-1806), Virginia signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

  • [Carter] Family Records of James Turner Walker and Mourning Carter [ca. 1795-1922]. MSS., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.
  • [Graham] Graham Family Bible Records, 1800-1894. Original records, microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.
  • [Raper] Raper Family Bible Records, 1796-1813. Original records, microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.
  • 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • [Shepperd] Prosser--Sheppard Family Bible Records, 1795-1901. MSS., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Kegley, Mary B. The Lost Children of Wythe County, Virginia, 1790-1878: Poor School Children, Orphans and Apprentices from County Records. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 1995. Available at FHL.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Wythe County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 6,380
1810 8,356 31.0%
1820 9,692 16.0%
1830 12,163 25.5%
1840 9,375 −22.9%
1850 12,024 28.3%
1860 12,305 2.3%
1870 11,611 −5.6%
1880 14,318 23.3%
1890 18,019 25.8%
1900 20,437 13.4%
1910 20,372 −0.3%
1920 20,217 −0.8%
1930 20,704 2.4%
1940 22,721 9.7%
1950 23,327 2.7%
1960 21,975 −5.8%
1970 22,139 0.7%
1980 25,522 15.3%
1990 25,466 −0.2%
2000 27,599 8.4%
2010 29,235 5.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Wythe County.]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Pine Creek Monthly Meeting (1882-1889) aka Broadway[8]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Kegley, Mary B. Abstracts of Court Orders of Wythe County, Virginia [1790-1850]. 5 vols. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 1996-2000. Available at FHL.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 7 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Wythe County.[9]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compilations Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Cameron, Joseph Rodney and Constance Ann Cameron. Addendum to Early Settlers of Old Mount Airy, Wythe County, Virginia. Wytheville, Va.: J.R. Cameron and C.A. Cameron, 1999. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5773 D2c supp.. [Includes Brandstetter, Buck, Burkett, Cameron, Cassell, Chambers, Cormany, Daut, Duncan, Kinder, Levinson, Musser, Snavely, Staley, Tobler, and Weaver families.]
  • Kegley, Mary B. Early Adventurers on the Western Waters. 5 vols. 1990-1998. FHL Books 975.57 H2k v. 1-v. 5.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
An early settlers map is available for Wythe County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers from 1745-1858. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5773 E7h.

Deeds

  • Dillon, Janie, and Mary B. Kegley. Wythe County, Virginia Deed Abstracts. Wytheville, VA: Wythe County Genealogical & Historical Association, 2009. WorldCat page.
  • Schreiner-Yantis, Netti. 1800 Tax Lists & Abstracts of Deeds (1796-1800) of Wythe County, Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia: N. Schreiner-Yantis], 1971. FHL Collection

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins. 976 patents dated 1750-1883 in what is now Wythe County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2009. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

  • Sims, Edgar Barr. Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia]: Genealogical Books in Print, c1992. Available at FHL. [Includes Wythe County, Virginia.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Boyd, Charles Rufus. Resources of South-west Virginia: Showing the Mineral Deposits of Iron, Coal, Zinc, Copper and Lead, also the Staples of the Various Counties, Methods of Transportation Access, Etc. New York J. Wiley, 1881. Available at FHL.
  • Hall, Karen Lynn Jones. Wythe County (Images of America series). Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 2004. WorldCat page.
  • Hauser, H.M., comp. A Short Historical and Physical Description of Wythe County, Virginia. 1907. (online text in New River Notes)
  • Kegley, Mary B. The Lost Children of Wythe County, Virginia, 1790-1878: Poor School Children, Orphans and Apprentices from County Records.
  • Kegley, Mary B. Wythe County, Virginia: A Bicentennial History.
  • Kegley, Mary B. and F.B. Kegley. Early Adventurers on the Western Waters. 5 vols. Orange, Va.: Green Publishers, 1980, 1982 and Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 1995, 1998. Available at FHL.
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Galax (Independent City)Radford (Independent City)Grayson CountyCarroll CountyPulaski CountyBland CountyTazewell CountySmyth CountyVA WYTHE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Hildebrand, John R., F.B. Kegley, Mary B. Kegley and Roanoke Valley Historical Society (Roanoke, Va.) A Settlement Map of Wythe County, Virginia: Giving the Names and Locations of Many of the Early Adventurers in the Territory - From 1745 to 1858. [Roanoke, Virginia]: Roanoke Valley Historical Society, 1974. Available at FHL; available online.
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Smyth County pensioners.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Smyth County on page 136.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Wythe County, p. 107. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Wythe County men served in the 35th Regiment.[10]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Wythe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Wythe Grays).[11]
- 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Company I.[12]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company G.
- 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B.[13]
- 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Mount Airy Rough and Readys) and Company D (Minute Men).[14]
- 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Wythe Rifles).[15]
- 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Company H.[16]

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Wythe County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.[edit | edit source]

  • Kegley, Mary B. The Lost Children of Wythe County, Virginia, 1790-1878: Poor School Children, Orphans and Apprentices from County Records. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 1995. Available at FHL.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Wythe County, Virginia records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1770-1773 Kegley, Mary B. New River Tithables, 1770-1773. Wytheville, Virginia: M.B. Kegley, 1972. Available at FHL.
  • 1793-1830 Wythe County Personal Property Tax Lists 1793-1830 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1793-1850 Wythe County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1793-1850. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va.; microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.
  • 1793 Personal property tax list, 1793, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin. Johnson City TN: 1977. Vol. 6 Iss. 2.
  • 1793 Weaver, Jeffrey C. The 1793 Wythe County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List, available online, courtesy: New River Notes.
  • 1793 Images of the 1793 Personal Property Tax List of Wythe County, Virginiaare available to browse online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1793 Weaver, Jeffrey C. 1793 Wythe County, Virginia Land Tax List, available online, courtesy: New River Notes.
  • 1793-1800 Murphy, Malita Warden and James L. Douthat. Wythe County, Va. Tax List, 1793-1800. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1985. Available at FHL. Free online surname index.
  • 1800 Indexed images of the 1800 Personal Property Tax List of Wythe County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti. 1800 Tax Lists & Abstracts of Deeds (1796-1800) of Wythe County, Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia: N. Schreiner-Yantis], 1971. Available at FHL.
  • 1802-1820 Heinegg, Paul. "Wythe County Personal Property Tax List 1802-1820," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Wythe County is included in Vol. 5.]
  • 1815 Kegley, Mary B. Southwest Virginia Tax Assessments, 1815: Grayson, Lee, Scott, Russell, Washington, and Wythe Counties. Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 1991. Original edition and 1992 supplement available at FHL. [The source for this publication is a private collection of 1815 tax assessment tickets for the First District of Virginia. The tickets include landowners' names, number of acres or lots, number of buildings along with descriptions, and number of slaves. N.B. These are not the 1815 land tax books.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

  • 1853-1859 Fowler, Deborah Thompson. Wythe County, Virginia, Vital Records: Births 1853-1859. Wytheville, Virginia: Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association, 2004. Available at FHL.
  • 1853-1866 Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • 1865-1872 Kegley, Mary B. and Jean Porter Desmarais. Birth Records of Wythe County, Virginia, 1865-1872. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2005. Available at FHL.
  • 1873-1879 Desmarais, Jean Porter. Wythe County, Virginia, Vital Records, Births, 1873-1879. Wytheville, Virginia: Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association, 2004. Available at FHL.
  • 1882-1884 Moore, Jeraldyne A. Wythe County, Virginia, Vital Records, Births, 1882-1884, Deaths, 1881-1884, 1886, 1888. Wytheville, Virginia: Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association, 2004. Available at FHL.
  • 1891-1895 Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association. Wythe County, Virginia, Vital Records, Births 1891-1895. Wytheville, Virginia: Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association, 2005. Available at FHL.
  • 1912-1913 Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • 1584-1917 Virginia Births and Christenings, 1584-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • 1816-1886 Kegley, Mary B. Divorces of Wythe County, Virginia, 1816-1886. Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 2004. Available at FHL.
  • 1918-1988 - Virginia, Divorce Records, 1918-1988 at FamilySearch — index & images

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Wythe County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Wythe County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association
Website

Wythe-Grayson Regional LibraryWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Wythe County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Wythe County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1981):49-51. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/VA_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#WYTHE Newberry]
  2. https://wcgha.org/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Wythe County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wythe_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 6 March 2020.
  8. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  9. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  10. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 216. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  11. James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
  12. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  13. John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
  14. J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
  15. James A. Davis, 51st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 9.
  16. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)