Wray, Lancashire Genealogy
England 
Lancashire Lancashire Parishes
Guide to Wray, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Wray, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Lonsdale |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Caton Gilbert Union |
| Registration District | Lancaster |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1877 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: None | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Tunstall |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
WRAY, with Botton, a township, and an ecclesiastical district with a chapel, in the parish of Melling, Lancashire Genealogy, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 10 miles northeast by east from Lancaster. Wray is the most populous village in the parish. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was built in 1839. The Society of Friends and the Wesleyans have places of worship.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Wray Parish Records | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire | ||||||
| Parish Registers-Lancashire | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Find My Past-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | 1500s-1900s |
1500s-1900s |
||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Wray. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
![[tree]](/en/wiki/index.php?title=File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg&filetimestamp=20150812015853&){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-695.