Woodford County, Illinois Genealogy
Guide to Woodford County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Woodford County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
 Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 27, 1841 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Eureka |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Woodford County Courthouse 115 N. Main, Suite 202 Eureka, IL 61530 (309) 467-2822 Woodford County Website |
Woodford County Organization[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1871 | 1841 | 1871 | 1841 | 1832 | 1841 | 1810 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Woodford County are kept, see the Woodford County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Woodford County, Illinois is named for Woodford County, Kentucky which is the place where many of the settlers originated.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- 1841--Woodford County was created 27 February 1841 from, Tazewell and McLean Counties. County seat: Eureka [2]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Woodford County, Kentucky. The county seat is Eureka and the county was organized on 27 February 1841. The County is located in the central area of the state.[3]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Eastern Part
- 1831-1841 McLean
- 1827-1831 Tazewell
- 1821-1827 Fayette
- 1819-1821 Clair
- 1816-1819 Crawford
- 1815-1816 Edwards
Western Part
- 1827-1841 Tazewell
- 1825-1827 Peoria
- 1821-1825 Sangamon
- 1817-1821 Bond
- 1812-1817 Madison
- 1801-1812 St. Clair
- 1790-1801 Knox, Northwest Territory
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Records and Resources[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Past and Present of Woodford County, Illinois 1878 (WorldCat)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 4,415 | — |
| 1860 | 13,282 | 200.8% |
| 1870 | 18,956 | 42.7% |
| 1880 | 21,620 | 14.1% |
| 1890 | 21,429 | −0.9% |
| 1900 | 21,822 | 1.8% |
| 1910 | 20,506 | −6.0% |
| 1920 | 19,340 | −5.7% |
| 1930 | 18,792 | −2.8% |
| 1940 | 19,124 | 1.8% |
| 1950 | 21,335 | 11.6% |
| 1960 | 24,579 | 15.2% |
| 1970 | 28,012 | 14.0% |
| 1980 | 33,320 | 18.9% |
| 1990 | 32,653 | −2.0% |
| 2000 | 35,469 | 8.6% |
| 2010 | 38,664 | 9.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Woodford County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.
1854-1859 County Court Record IRAD-ISU
Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Genealogy (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African American Resources for Illinois
- African American Coal Miner Information Center
History[edit | edit source]
Large numbers of Kentuckians settled in frontier Woodford County, Illinois. The name of the county (Woodford) is reminiscent of Woodford County, Kentucky Genealogy - the previous residence of many pioneer settlers.[4]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
1841-1928 Deed Index IRAD-ISU
1833-1928 Deed Record IRAD-ISU
Land Records available at the Family History Library
1812 Soldiers of 1812 etc.: Whose Bounty Land Grants Were Located in Woodford County, Illinois. by A.F. Marxhall, L.J. Freese and Milo Custer. FHL film 823572 item 6 and FHL book: 977.3 A1 no. 1. second copy 977.3 A1 no. 218.
1832-1893 Grantee and Grantor Indexes. Woodford County Clerk. FHL films 1401898-1401900
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Illinois (1788-1940)
- Woodford County, El Paso and Metamora 1876 from the David Rumsey Map Collection.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military Records[edit | edit source]
For information about using military records see Illinois Military Records
- 1860s - 1960s Illinois, Military Discharge Records, ca.1862 - ca.1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Veteran Burials (Genealogy Trail History Group)
War 1812[edit | edit source]
Military Land Grants Woodford County, Illinois for Soldiers of the War of 1812 - USGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Woodford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Woodford County.
Cavalry
Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G
- - 47th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B, and Company I
- - 51st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 77th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C, Company F, and Company H.
- - 85th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- - 86th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 108th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D, and Company E
- - 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C
- IRAD-ISU Records
- 1861-1863 Militia Roll Record IRAD-ISU
- 1863-1865 Militia Discharge Record, Civil War IRAD-ISU
- 1913-1941 Mother's Pension Applications IRAD-ISU
- 1931-1934 Mother's Pension Accountts IRAD-ISU
- A list of GAR Post in Illinois, additional site for post list in Illinois, Library of Congress
- Woodruff Post, Washburn 1913 - USGenWeb
- 1883 Federal Pension - USGenWeb
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 (Ancestry)
World War II[edit | edit source]
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Woodford County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.
1855-1906 Naturalization Papers. Woodford County Court. FHL 1401869-1401871
1861-1901 Naturalization Records. Woodford County Court. FHL 1401866-1401867
1867-1906 Naturalization Records. Woodford County Court. FHL film 1401866 Item 2 - 1401867
Online Records
- 1795-1925 Woodford County, Illinois Passport Applications Genealogy Trails History Group
- 1800-1998 Illinois, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1998 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1856-1991 Illinois, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1856-1991 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries
Woodford County, Illinois, Prairie District Library, Obituaries, 1887 to Present. at Ancestry
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1772 - 1999 Illinois Wills and Probate Records 1772-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1819 - 1988 Illinois Probate Records 1819-1988 at FamilySearch.org — images
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Woodford County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.
1842-1847 Probate Claim Dockets IRAD-ISU
1869-1964 Probate Will Record IRAD-ISU
1870-1956 Probate Inventory Record IRAD-ISU
1877-1853 Probate Widow's Relinquishment and Selection Record IRAD-ISU
Probate records available at the Family History Library
1846-1866 Probate Order Book; Will Record 1869-1925; Guardian Record, 1866-1908; Probate Record, 1745-1876 Woodford County Court. FHL film 1401860 - 1401869
Public Records[edit | edit source]
1868-1957 Almshouse Register IRAD-ISU Woodford County Almshouse Registers Index (1868–1957)
1868-1893 Poor Farm Monthly Reports IRAD-ISU
1917-1940 Poor Farm Case Files IRAD-ISU
Repositories[edit | edit source]
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Woodford County.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Woodford County are kept, see the Woodford County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Woodford County.
You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.
Family History Centers FamilySearch
Illinois,_Woodford FamilySearch Catalog
Illinois Regional Archives Depository - IRAD[edit | edit source]
Illinois State Universtiy - ISU
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027
Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County
Public Libraries[edit | edit source]
Woodford County Public Libraries
Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Lexington Genealogical and Historical Society, Inc.
318 West Main Street
Lexington, Illinois 61753
Phone 309-365-4591
E-mail:thefortoflex@aol.com
Facebook
Website - Illinois Mennonite Historical & Genealogical Society
675 State Route 116
Metamora, IL 61548-7732
Phone 309-367-2551
E-Mail:mennmuseum@mtco.com
Website - Woodford County Historical Society
112 North Main Street
Eureka, IL 61530
E-mail:miller061738@yahoo.com
Facebook
Taxation[edit | edit source]
1842-1879 Tax Sale Record IRAD-ISU
1842-1878 Tax Forfeiture Record IRAD-ISU
1853-1871 Tax Deed Affidaviats IRAD-ISU
1860-1880 Tax Judgment Record IRAD-ISU
1857-1888 Tax Assessment Abstracts IRAD-ISU
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.
Order Birth and Death Certificates Online
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877-1916 Birth Record Index IRAD-ISU. Available at the Family History Library. FHL film 1401898
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1587-1959 Illinois, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900 at Illinois State Archives - index; Also at: MyHertitage($)
- 1805-1985 Illinois, Church Marriages, 1805-1985 at FamilySearch — index
- 1810-1934 Illinois, County Marriages, 1810-1934 at FamilySearch — index
- 1833-1889 Illinois, Civil Marriages, 1833-1889 at FamilySearch — index
- 1841-1848 1841-1848 Early Marriages of Woodford County - USGenWeb
- 1841-1901 Marriage Record Index IRAD-ISU
- 1841-1902 Marriage Index. Woodford County Clerk. FHL film 1401898 Items 2-3
- 1841-1870 Early Marriages Performed in Woodford County, Illinois. by Lucy Palmer Frane. FHL film 848656 and second filming 908198 and FHL Book 977.353 V25f
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Online Resources
- 1749-1999 Illinois Deaths and Burials, 1749-1999 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1850-1880 Illinois Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1877-1915 Death Record Index IRAD-ISU. Available at the Family History Library FHL Film 1401898 Item 4
- 1910-1917 Death Record, Coroner's IRAD-ISU
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916 at Illinois State Archives - index; Also at: MyHertitage($)
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950 at Illinois State Archives - index
- 1916-1950 Illinois Deaths, 1916-1950 at MyHeritage - index, ($)
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1890 Voter Registers IRAD-ISU
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Townships | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Woodford County, IL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Woodford County IL Genealogy
- Illinois Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
Databases Pertinent to Woodford County
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois
Woodford County Almshouse Registers Index (1868–1957)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Woodford County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Woodford County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodford_County,_Illinois 04/20/2017.
- ↑ Hardin County Fact Sheet, Illinois State Archives, accessed May 28, 2011.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Woodford County, Illinois," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodford_County,_Illinois, accessed 9 March 2020.