Windsor County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Windsor County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Woodstock
Organized: February 22, 1781
Parent County(s): Cumberland (extinct)[1]
Neighboring Counties
Addison  • Bennington  • Orange  • Rutland  • Windham  • Grafton (NH)  • Sullivan (NH)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Windsor County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-windsor.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the east area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Windsor County Courthouse
12 The Green
Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone: 802-457-2121
Windsor County Website

County Clerk has divorce and city records from 1782.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
Probate Judge has probate records.[3]

Windsor County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1782 1784 1787 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

VermontNew HampshireWindsor CountyWindham CountyBennington CountyRutland CountyAddison CountyOrange CountyGrafton CountySullivan CountyCheshire CountyRochesterBethelRoyaltonSharonNorwichStockbridgeBarnardPomfretHartfordBridgewaterWoodstockHartlandPlymouthReadingWest WinsorWindsorLudlowCavendishBaltimoreWeathersfieldWestonAndoverChesterSpringfieldRockinghamWestminsterAthensGraftonTownshendJamaicaWindhamLondonderryStrattonWinhallLandgrovePeruDorsetMount TaborMount HollyWallingfordClarendonShrewsburyRutlandMendonKillingtonPittsfieldChittendenPittsfordGoshenHancockRiptonGranvilleBraintreeBrookfieldRandolphChelseaTunbridgeStraffordVershireWest FairleeFairleeThetfordLymeHanoverLebanonEnfieldPlainfieldGranthamCornishCroydonClaremontNewportCharlestownUnityLangdonAcworthLempsterWalpoleAlsteadMarlow
Modern town borders in Windsor County, Vermont.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Andover 1761
  • Baltimore 1793
  • Barnard 1761
  • Bethel 1779
  • Bridgewater 1761
  • Cavendish 1761
  • Chester 1754
  • Hartford 1761
  • Hartland 1761
  • Ludlow 1761
  • Norwich 1761
  • Plymouth 1761
  • Pomfret 1761
  • Reading 1761
  • Royalton 1769
  • Sharon 1761
  • Springfield 1761
  • Stockbridge 1761
  • Weathersfield 1761
  • Weston 1799
  • Windsor 1761
  • Woodstock 1761 [8]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Windsor County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Smaller Cemeteries in Windser

  • Azra Wyman grave: Hartford
  • Simonds/Simons: North Hartland Rd near N Hartland town line, east side Lat 43.613N Long 72.354W Orange County
  • Advent Christian Campground: behind Mt.Olivet cemetery, Rt.5
  • Old St Anthony's: Old King's Highway (off Town Farm Rd West Hartford) Lat 43.678N Long 72.451W, Addison County
  • South Main St, adjacent to old St Anthony's
  • Christian Street: Center of Town Rd at King's Highway Lat 43.660N Long 72.382W | South Main St,adjacent to South End (cremations only) South End, Windsor County
  • Rt 5 opposite Dothan Brook School Lat 43.688N Long 72.32W, Windsor County
  • Delano Savage cemetery
  • Jct of Rt 14 and Jericho St Lat 43.68664N Long 72.39921W, Hartford(Point), Windsor County
  • Potters Field Old River Rd on Paronto property, Tucker
  • Mt. Olivet: Rt 14 near I-91 overpass Lat 43.656N Long 72.328W | Rt 14 near Sharon town line Lat 43.7211N Long 72.4203W (on private property) West Hartford, Windsor County
  • Potwin Family Lot: Rt 5 near Bugbee St Lat 43.662N Long 72.312W, Windsor County
  • Wright's Tomb: Rt 14 near W Hartford bridge Lat 43.715N Long 72.418W , Windsor County
  • Potwin property off Red Barn Rd, Quechee (private) Quechee
  • VA Cut-off Rd, White River Junction
  • Old Quechee Rd,Quechee Lat 43.647N Long 72.416W Russtown, Windsor

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 15,740
1800 26,944 71.2%
1810 34,877 29.4%
1820 38,233 9.6%
1830 40,625 6.3%
1840 40,356 −0.7%
1850 38,504 −4.6%
1860 37,193 −3.4%
1870 36,063 −3.0%
1880 35,196 −2.4%
1890 31,706 −9.9%
1900 32,225 1.6%
1910 33,681 4.5%
1920 36,984 9.8%
1930 37,416 1.2%
1940 37,862 1.2%
1950 40,885 8.0%
1960 42,483 3.9%
1970 44,082 3.8%
1980 51,030 15.8%
1990 54,055 5.9%
2000 57,418 6.2%
2010 56,670 −1.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Click History of Windsor County, Vermont to read this book on the Internet.

Click History of Windsor County, Vermont to find libraries with this book (WorldCat).

Click A History of Royalton Vermont with Family Genealogies 1769-1911 (Evelyn M. Wood Lovejoy 1911)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

AddisonRutlandBenningtonWindhamOrangeSullivan, New HampshireGrafton, New HampshireVT WINDSOR.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments.
Service men in Windsor County, Vermont served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Windsor County, Vermont:

- 1st Regiment, Vermont was mustered into service May 2, 1861 with 782 men and mustered out in July 1861.[9]
Windsor County furnished 2 companies in the First Vermont Regiment
Company B, also known as Woodstock Light Infantry. Most men came from the town of Woodstock.
Company E, also known as Cavendish Light Infantry. Most men came from the town of Cavendish.
- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry, scattered through companies C, E, and I: mustered in June 20,1861 and mustered out July 15, 1865. Relatively few recruits were from Windsor County.
- 3rd Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Most men in all companies except company G; was mustered in July 16, 1861 and mustered out July 11, 1865.
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B, C, E and K: mustered in September 21, 1861. Recruits for one year and recruits whose service would end before October 1, 1865 mustered out June 19, 1865. The remainder of the regiment mustered out July 13, 1865. Probably fewer Windsor men were in this regiment than in the 3rd Regiment. Windsor men were in all companies.
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, few Windsor County men were in this regiment; mustered in September 16, 1861. Non-veterans were mustered out October 14, 1864. The regiment mustered out June 29, 1865.
- 6th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Men from various towns were scattered throughout the companies; mustered in October 15, 1861 and mustered out June 26, 1865. Original members, not veterans, were mustered out October 28, 1864. Recruits for one year, and recruits whose term of service would expire before October 1, 1865, were mustered out June 19, 1865. It was attached to the First Vermont Brigade.
- 16th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies A, C, E, G, H and K

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Windsor County residents.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Windsor County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Windsor County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Windsor County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies. Historical Societies

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Windsor, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windsor_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Windsor County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Windsor County, Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windsor_County,_Vermont, accessed 30 June 2022.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699, Windsor County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Lewis Cass Aldrich, and Frank R. Holmes, History of Windsor County, Vermont (Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason, 1891), 110-77, Chapter 10, Windsor County During the War of the Rebellion.