Windham County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Windham County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about Windham county in Vermont. For other uses, see Windham (disambiguation).

County Facts
County seat: Newfane
Organized: 16 Feb 1781
Parent County(s): Cumberland (extint)[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bennington  • Windsor  • Franklin (MA)  • Cheshire (NH)  • Sullivan (NH)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Windham County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-windham.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Windham County Courthouse
7 Court Street
Newfane, VT 05345
Phone: 802-365-7979
Windham County Website

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1825.
Probate Judge has probate records.[3]


Windham County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1825 1766 1781 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsWindham CountyBennington CountyRutland CountyWindsor CountySullivan CountyCheshire CountyFranklin CountyBerkshire CountyLondonderryWindhamGraftonRockinghamWestminsterAthensTownshendJamaicaStrattonWardsboroNewfaneBrooklinePutneyDummerstonDoverSomersetWilmingtonMarlboroBrattleboroVernonGuilfordHalifaxWhitinghamReadsboroStamfordSearsburgWoodfordGlastenburySunderlandManchesterWinhallDorsetPeruLandgroveDanbyMt. TaborWestonAndoverLudlowBaltimoreChesterWeathersfieldSpringfieldClarksburgFloridaMonroeRoweHeathColrainShelburneGreenfieldLeydenBernardstonGillNorthfieldErvingWarwickOrangeRoyalstonRichmondWinchesterHinsdaleSwanzeyChesterfieldKeeneWestmorelandSurryGilsumWalpoleAlsteadLangdonAcworthCharlestownUnityClaremont
Modern town borders in Windham County, Vermont.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns:

Extinct Towns:[8]

Villages:

  • Bellows Falls
  • Jacksonville
  • Newfane
  • North Westminster
  • Saxtons River
  • Westminster

Communities:

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Athens 1780
  • Brattleboro 1753
  • Brookline 1794
  • Grafton 1754
  • Guilford 1754
  • Halifax 1750
  • Jamaica 1780
  • Londonderry 1780
  • Marlboro 1751
  • Newfane 1753
  • Putney 1753
  • Rockingham 1752
  • Townshend 1753
  • Woodbury 1781
  • Westminister 1752
  • Whitingham 1770
  • Wilmington 1751
  • Windham 1795 [9]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Windham County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 17,572
1800 23,581 34.2%
1810 26,760 13.5%
1820 28,457 6.3%
1830 28,748 1.0%
1840 27,442 −4.5%
1850 29,062 5.9%
1860 26,982 −7.2%
1870 26,036 −3.5%
1880 26,763 2.8%
1890 26,547 −0.8%
1900 26,660 0.4%
1910 26,932 1.0%
1920 26,373 −2.1%
1930 26,015 −1.4%
1940 27,850 7.1%
1950 28,749 3.2%
1960 29,776 3.6%
1970 33,074 11.1%
1980 36,933 11.7%
1990 41,588 12.6%
2000 44,216 6.3%
2010 44,513 0.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

RutlandWindsorSullivan, New HampshireBenningtonCheshire, New HampshireFranklin, MassachusettsBerkshire, MassachusettsVT WINDHAM.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Regiments and Companies:

- 1st Regiment, Vermont Heavy Artillery, Companies A B C D E F G and H
- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies D, F and I
- 16th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B, D, F and I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

There are two Windham County Probate Districts:

  • Marlboro District Brattleboro, Dover, Dummerston, Guilford, Halifax, Marlboro, Newfane, Somerset, Stratton, Vernon, Wardsboro, Whitingham and Wilmington.
  • Westminster District Athens, Brookline, Grafton, Jamaica, Londonderry, Putney, Rockingham (including Bellows Falls), Townshend, Westminster and Windham.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Windham County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Windham County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Windham County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.

Historical Societies

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Windham, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Windham County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  5. Windham
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Windham_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Vermont accessed 29 October 2019.
  8. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394-95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699, Windham County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.