Windham County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Windham County, Connecticut ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This is about a county in Connecticut. For other uses, see Windham (disambiguation).
County Facts
County seat: Putnam
Organized: May 12, 1726
Parent County(s): Hartford and New London
Neighboring Counties
New London  • Tolland  • Worcester (MA)  • Kent (RI)  • Providence (RI)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Connecticut, Windham County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Ct-windham.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Windham, Sussex, England. The County is located in the northeastern corner of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Windham County Courthouse
155 Church Street
Putnam, CT 06260
Phone: 860-928-7749
Windham County Website

There is no county government and no county seat today. The government is at the town level.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage and land records from 1692 and burial records from 1900.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce records.[2]

Windham County, Connecticut Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1692 1692 1692 late 1600s Unknown Unknown 1670
*Statewide registration of births and deaths started in 1897. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
  • Oneco
Census-designated places


Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Ashford 1714
  • Brooklyn 1786
  • Canterbury 1703
  • Hampton 1786
  • Killingly 1708
  • Plainfield 1699
  • Pomfret 1713
  • Sterling 1794
  • Thompson 1785
  • Windham 1692
  • Woodstock (New Roxbure) 1686

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Commemorative biographical record of Tolland and Windham counties, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois J.H. Beers, 1903).Includes fullname index (in part 1 for pts. 1 and 2).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.64 D3c pt. 1 and 2, or FHL US/CAN Film 982349.
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Genealogical Society. Volunteer Aids, Index to Commemorative biographical record of Tolland and Windham counties, Connecticut, part 1, Manuscript.Includes fullname index to part 1 but only through pt. 1's page 602.Available online at ancestry.com($).Available in the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.64 D3c pt. 1 index.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Windham, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For online and statewide census resources and information, see: Connecticut Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 28,881
1800 28,222 −2.3%
1810 28,611 1.4%
1820 31,684 10.7%
1830 27,082 −14.5%
1840 28,080 3.7%
1850 31,081 10.7%
1860 34,747 11.8%
1870 38,518 10.9%
1880 43,856 13.9%
1890 45,158 3.0%
1900 46,861 3.8%
1910 48,361 3.2%
1920 52,815 9.2%
1930 54,086 2.4%
1940 56,223 4.0%
1950 61,759 9.8%
1960 68,572 11.0%
1970 84,515 23.3%
1980 92,312 9.2%
1990 102,525 11.1%
2000 109,091 6.4%
2010 118,428 8.6%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Connecticut Genealogy, Windham County Church Records, Includes church and vital records.
  • Linkpendium, Church Records, Windham County,
  • John Sherman, A view of ecclesiastical proceedings in the county of Windham, Connecticut in which the original association of the county and a few members of the First Church in Mansfield were concerned; containing public documents, letters &c. relative to the subject; to which are annexed, the result of council, and addresses to the society, the church, the youth of Mansfield and others, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1993). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1697816 Item 17.
  • Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church (Woodstock, Connecticut), Church records, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987).Includes baptisms 1850-1863, marriages 1850-1861, and membership 1849-1865.Also includes records of East Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church, West Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church, and North Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1508864 Item 2.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Windham County Connecticut Court Records Directory,
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Court expenses, 1826-1883 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1638582 Item 2.
  • Grace Louise Knox & Barbara B. Ferris, Connecticut divorces Superior Court records for the counties of New London, Tolland & Windham, 1719-1910 , (Bowie, Maryland Heritage Books, c1987).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 P2k.
  • Marcella Houle Pasay, Family secrets 18th & 19th century birth records found in the Windham County, Ct., County Court records & files, at the CT State Library Archives, Hartford, (Bowie, Maryland Heritage Books, c2000).Includes index.Includes some records from towns in surrounding counties.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 V2p.
  • Marcella Houle Pasay, The Windham County, CT, county court records, (Bowie, Maryland Heritage Books, c2000-c2002). Includes (v. 1) name/location and case indexes and (v. 2) name, place, and subject indexes. Contents: v. 1. abstracts of volume 1 [1726-1732], CT State Library Archives, Captial Avenue, Hartford, CT -- v. 2. abstracts of volume 2 [1732-1736] , Connecticut State Library Archives, Captial Avenue, Hartford, CT. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 P28p v. 1 and 2.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Native and African Americans

  • Marcella Houle Pasay, Full circle a directory of Native and African Americans in Windham County, CT, and vicinity, 1650-1900, (Bowie, Maryland Heritage Books, c2002).Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 F2p v. 1, and FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 F2p v. 2.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other documents are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee, no statewide index. Microfilm copies (early to the mid or late 1800s, with some up to the 1900s) are available at the Connecticut State Library and also online at FamilySearch.org.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Windham County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1856, (Washington, District of Columbia: Library of Congress, 1983).Available online at flickr from yahoo, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079305.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Kent CountyProvidence CountyWorcester CountyHampden CountyTolland CountyNew London CountyCT WINDHAM.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Windham County, Gazetteer,

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men from Windham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Windham County.

-7th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company K
-18th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company H and K
-21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company K

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
  • Connecticut. County Court (Windham County), Naturalizations, 1855 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1378199 Item 2.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court and County Court (Windham County), Declarations of intentions, 1855-1906, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Indexes are found within each volume.Includes records of the County Court, 1855-1856.Available at the Famiy History Library, 1855-1892 FHL US/CAN Film 1378200 Items 4-5, and 1892-1906 FHL US/CAN Film 1378201 Item 1.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Naturalization records (Windham County, Connecticut), 1906-1945, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983-2008).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2436082 Item 3. (12 Films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Naturalizations, 1855-1906 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Indexes included within each volume.Available at the Family History Library, 1855-1863 FHL US/CAN Film 1378199 Item 1, and 1866-1888 Item 3-4 and 1888-1906 FHL US/CAN Film 1378200 Items 1 - 3.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Index to naturalization records 1927-1974 (Windham County, Connecticut - Superior Court), (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 2369780 Item 2.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.
See Connecticut Probate Records. See also Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
Connecticut State Library Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

  • John Keep, Adin Webb and Baptist Church in Homer, New York, Miscellaneous records of Homer, New York, 1794-1860 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 17702, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421103 Items 2-4.

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Divorce papers, 1726-1907 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).Available at the Family History Library beginning with, FHL US/CAN Film 1638582 Item 3, (27 films)

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Windham County. For state-wide facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Windham County. For state-wide library facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

Windham County Public Libraries This site lists the addresses and websites of the public libraries in Connecticut.

Babcock Public Library
25 Pompey Hollow Road
Ashford, CT 06278
860-487-4420
E-mail: babcocklib@gmail.com
Facebook
Brooklyn Town Library
10 Canterbury Road
PO Box 357
Brooklyn, CT 06234
860-774-0649
E-mail: brooklyntownlibrary4@yahoo.com
Facebook
Canterbury Public Library
1 Municipal Drive
Canterbury, CT 06331
860-546-9022
E-mail: canterburypubliclibrary@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Chaplin Town Hall
495 Phoenixville Road
Chaplin, CT 06235
(860) 455-0073
E-mail: assistant@chaplinct.org
Website
Chaplin Public Library
130 Chaplin Street
Chaplin, CT 06235
(860) 455-9424
E-mail: librarydirector@chaplinct.org
Facebook
Website
Eastern Connecticut State University (ECSU)
J. Eugene Smith Library 83 Windham Street
Willimantic, Connecticut 06226
860 465-5563
E-Mail: hurtt@easternct.edu
Website
Eastford Public Library
179 Eastford Rd.
Eastford, CT 06242
(860) 974-0125
Website
Fletcher Memorial Library
257 Main Street
PO Box 6
Hampton, CT 06247
860 455-1086
E-mail: fletchermemoriallibrary@gmail.com
Website
Killingly Public Library
25 Westcott Rd
Killingly, CT 06239
860-779-5383
E-mail: info@killinglypl.org
Facebook
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Windham County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Connecticut Societies.

Ashford Historical Society Inc
5 Town Hall Road
Ashford CT 06278
860 429-4568
E-Mail: joan@ashfordhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Aspinock Historical Society of Putnam
206 School Street
PO Box 465
Putnam, CT 06260
860-963-0092
E-Mail: aspinockhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Brooklyn Historical Society
25 Brooklyn Rd
Brooklyn CT 06234
(860) 774-7728
E-mail: https://www.brooklynct.org/users/elaine-knowlton/contact
Facebook
Website
Canterbury Historical Society
P.O. Box 2
Canterbury, CT 06331
Facebook
Website
Eastford Historical Society
16 Westford Road
P.O. Box 350
Eastford, CT 06242
E-mail: ehsarchives@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Hampton Antiquarian and Historical Society
P.O. Box 12
Hampton, CT 06247-0012
(860) 455-0783
E-mail: suemh35@yahoo.com
Facebook
Website
Killingly Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
196 Main St
. P. O. Box #265
Danielson, CT 06239
860-779-7250
Website
Plainfield Historical Society
P.O. Box 104
Central Village, CT 06332
E-Mail: Plfdhistory@SBCglobal.net
Website
Pomfret Historical Society
P.O. Box 152
17 Town House Dr.
Pomfret Center, CT 06259
860 974 1748
E-Mail: whinchman@gmail.com
Website
Scotland Connecticut Historical Society
P.O. Box 35
Scotland CT, 06264
860-423-1547
E-Mail: scotlandhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Sterling Historic Society
P.O. Box 157
1183 Plainfield Pike
Oneco, CT 06373
(860) 564-2904
E-Mail: sterlinghistoricalsocietyct@gmail.com
Website
Thompson Historical Society
P.O. Box 47
Thompson, CT 06277
860-923-3776
Website
Windham Historical Society/Jillson House Museum
P.O. Box 105
627 Main Street
Willimantic, CT 06226
860.456.2316
Email: jillson@windhamhistory.org
Facebook
Woodstock Historical Society
P.O. Box 65
523 CT-169
Woodstock CT 06281
860.928.1035
E-Mail: collectionsWHS@gmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Windham County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113, 181. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Windham County, Connecticut . Page 113 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 104-110.
  4. Newberry
  5. Wikipedia contributors,"Windham County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Connecticut, accessed 13 October 2018.