Williamsburg County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Williamsburg County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Kingstree
Organized: December 21, 1804[1]
Parent County(s): Georgetown District[2]
Variant Spellings: Williamsburgh[3]
Neighboring Counties
Berkeley  • Clarendon  • Florence  • Georgetown  • Marion
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Williamsburg County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-williamsburg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the William of Orange. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Williamsburg County Courthouse
125 West Main St.
Kingstree, SC 29556
Phone: 843-355-9321
Williamsburg County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[5]

Williamsburg County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1806 1806 1802 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Williamsburg County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 6,871
1820 8,716 26.9%
1830 9,018 3.5%
1840 10,327 14.5%
1850 12,447 20.5%
1860 15,489 24.4%
1870 15,489 0.0%
1880 24,110 55.7%
1890 27,777 15.2%
1900 31,685 14.1%
1910 37,626 18.8%
1920 38,539 2.4%
1930 34,914 −9.4%
1940 41,011 17.5%
1950 43,807 6.8%
1960 40,932 −6.6%
1970 34,243 −16.3%
1980 38,226 11.6%
1990 36,815 −3.7%
2000 37,217 1.1%
2010 34,423 −7.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
  • 1790-1840
  • Three Rivers Historical Society. Williamsburg County [South Carolina] Census[es], 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840. Hemingsway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 19--. FHL Collection 975.783 X2w 1790-1840

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820.

1850

  • United States Census, 1850, Williamsburgh District. FHL Collection 975.783 X2u 1850

1860

  • Reid, Mary Ritter. Williamsburg County, South Carolina, 1860 Federal Census Transcribed from Microfilm. 1977; reprint, Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1985. FHL Collection 975.783 X2r 1860

1870

  • Reid, Mary Ritter. Williamsburg County, South Carolina 1870 Federal Census. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1977. FHL Collection 975.783 X2r 1870

1880

  • Reid, Mary Ritter and Three Rivers Historical Society. Williamsburg County, South Carolina 1880 Census. Hemingway, S.C.: n.p., 1981. FHL Collection 975.783 X2r 1880

1900

  • Williamsburg County, South Carolina 1900 Census. FHL Collection 975.783 X2w 1900

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes
Episcopal Church
Before 1785, residents of what is now Williamsburg County were served by these colonial parishes.[10]

  • Prince Frederick Parish 1734
  • St. Mark's Parish 1757
  • St. David's Parish records since 1768
  • Wallace, James A.. History of Williamsburg Church: A Discourse Delivered on Occasion of the 120th Anniversary of the Organization of the Williamsburg Church, July 4th, 1856, Kingstree, S.C.: With Notes and an Appendix. Salisbury, N.C.: Bell & James, Printers, 1856. Digital versions at Ancestry ($) and Google Books.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Williamsburg County has court records from 1806 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Williamsburg County was formed from the territory of the non-functioning Williamsburg County within the Georgetown District. From 1800 - 1804 Williamsburg County was briefly a part of Georgetown County The records of the Georgetown District court as well as Georgetown County are housed with the Georgetown County Clerk of Court. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Williamsburg County. The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Williamsburg County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Burrows Hall
  • China Grove
  • Faircloth - Trio
  • Garner W.C.
  • Gum Tree
  • Holly Tree
  • Long Lands - Greeleyville
  • Mouzon - Kingstree
  • Rhems - Rhems
  • Rodger Mcgill House
  • Scott Woods - Blakely
  • Shaw
  • Spring Bank
  • Thorntree - Kingstree

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Jenkinson, Gordon Bubber. A History of the Homes and People of Williamsburgh District. Charleston, S.C.: The History Press, 2007. FHL 975.783 J7j

Bibliography

  • Brockington - Wells, Laurence K. "Brockington Family Origins," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Winter 2010):39-41. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • Buford - Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • Burrows Wells, Laurence K. "Burrows of Williamsburg," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2010):63-70. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • Cox - Thornton, Caroline E. Facts on the Life of George Edmond Gee Cox [and] Information on Rev. Samuel C. James, Williamsburg County, S.C. Typescript, 1990. FHL 1597813 Item 13
  • Gaskins Hanna, Muriel K. and Gale Stanley Grainger. Gaskins / Gaskin Family Williamsburg and Kershaw County South Carolina. n.p.: M.K. Hanna & G.S. Grainger, 2002. [ https://www.familysearch.org/library/books/records/item/519629-gaskins-gaskin-family-williamsburg-and-kershaw-county-south-carolina?offset=1 FamilySearch Digital Library]; FHL 929.273 G212h.
  • James Thornton, Caroline E. Facts on the Life of George Edmond Gee Cox [and] Information on Rev. Samuel C. James, Williamsburg County, S.C. Typescript, 1990. FHL 1597813 Item 13
  • Lee - Brown, Gerald D. A Genealogy of a Lee Family: Ancestry and Descendants of David Lee, Sr.: Mainly of Old Williamsburg District - Present Day Florence County, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 L51br
  • McKenzie - Brown, Gerald D. Descendants of Daniel and Rebecca McKenzie Old Williamsburg/Sumter Districts of South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 M199b
  • Parker - Smith, Betty Mae James. A Parker Family History: Descendants of Willoughby Parker, Williamsburg County, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, (1996). FHL 929.273 P223sb
  • Plowden - Plowden, Robert W. Record of Edward Plowden 1st Who Came to Williamsburg County, South Carolina in 1732 and His Descendants. Florence, Ala.: Plowden Clan of America, 1964. FHL 1027881 Item 13
  • Stubbs Boswell, Jimmie John Stubbs. John Stubbs (1718-1788) of Williamsburg, South Carolina, and His Descendants. Bryan, Texas: J.R. Boswell, 1990. FHL 929.273 St93b

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Williamsburg County with Parent Counties and Districts [11]
Date Government Office
1868-Present Williamsburg County
1804-1865 Williamsburg District
1769-1804 Georgetown District Records Lost
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

The county is named after Prince William, Duke of Cumberland (1721-1765).[12]

  • Boddie, William Willis. History of Williamsburg: Something about the People of Williamsburg County, South Carolina, from the First Settlement by Europeans about 1705 until 1923. Columbia, S.C.: State Co., 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Boddie, William Willis. History of Williamsburg. Columbia, SC, USA: The State Company, 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Marion CountyFlorence CountyClarendon CountyBerkeley CountyGeorgetown CountySC WILLIAMSBURG.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812

  • "Captain Samuel Bigham's Co., 1812," Three Rivers Chronicle, Spring 1981, Volume 1, Issue 1. Three Rivers Historical Society Hemingway, SC.
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Williamsburgh County [sic], p. 189. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Williamsburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Williamsburg County or from many of its men:

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (6 months, 1861), Company F (also known as the Wee Nee Volunteers and Williamsburg Volunteers)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company F - (also known as Wee Nee Volunteers)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery) and Company E (also known as the Yeadon Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company K
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company E, Company F, and Company I
-6th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Byrd's), Company B and Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company I
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company A Roster and Company E Roster
- 10th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company A, Company D, Company E, Company H, and Company I
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company G
- 25th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Eutaw Regiment), Company K (also known as Ripley Guards)

Other Resources

  • Smith, Danny H. The Call to Arms. (S.l.: s.n., 19--), 225 pages. "This information came from many sources including basic information from Boddie's "History of Williamsburg", Confederate pension records, from cemetery records...from newspapers, old church records and from searching cemeteries..." Book found at FHL 975.783 M2s.
  • Three Rivers Historical Society.Williamsburg County Confederate enlistment records, 1862-1864. (S.l.: s.n., 19--). 117 pages. Includes: (1) persons reporting for enrollment; (2) persons exempted from conscription; (3) conscripts detailed; (4) conscripts examined and accepted; (5) persons enrolled & rejected by the surgeon; (6) overseers exempted; (7) per- sons exempted by the Secretary of War; (8) deserters ar- rested and forwarded; (9) conscripts examined by board & recommended for light duty. Book found at FHL 975.783 M2wc and [3prk3ok Other Libraries.]
  • Three Rivers Historical Society. Williamsburg County record of Confederate pensioners, 1905-1911. ( [Hemingway, SC] (414 N. Main St., Hemingway 29554): Three Rivers Historical Society, 2000). 49 pages. Photocopies of original records. Book found at FHL 975.783 M2w and Other Libraries.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Williamsburg County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

  • The News (Kingstree, S.C.) Online edition.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

  • Register of aliens, 1940 Includes all aliens and foreign-born residents of South Carolina who were required to report their information to the clerk of the county where they lived. Includes name, place of residence, date and place of birth, age, physical description, occupation, and employer.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Three Rivers Chronicle

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available. Estate records for Wiliamsburg County, 1800-1869, are available on microfilm, with an index that covers 1806-1882. Probate records for Williamsburg County are found in the court of ordinary, the probate court, and the court of equity. Estate records for the probate court, 1869-1916, are also available on microfilm through the Family History Library. FHL Film 2188958 Also see Williamsburg County, South Carolina wills, 1806-1879, from the Court of Ordinary for Williamsburg District. FHL Film 24522

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

  • 1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Williamsburg District on page 142.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Williamsburg County.

Published Abstracts

  • 1811 Taxpayers, 1811, Three Rivers Chronicle, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Mar. 1992).
  • 1860, 1865 Tax Returns, 1860, 1865, Three Rivers Chronicle, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Mar. 1997).
  • 1884-1885, 1901 Dunahoe, Rebecca Hughes, Toni Cusack Matthews, and Jason Roy Cockfield. Treasurer's Tax Report, Williamsburg County, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, n.d. FHL Books 975.783 R4d 1885; 975.783 R4d 1884; 975.783 R4d 1901

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

  • 1791-1891- Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 [13] FHL Collection WorldCat - abstracts, covers Williamsburg County
  • 1897-1994 Index to Marriage Notices in Williamsburg County, South Carolina Newspapers, 1897-1994 by Three Rivers Historical Society [14] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1911-1950 Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1950 [15] FHL Collection - index and records
  • 1911-1950 Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Petitions to Establish Marriages, with Affidavits, Prior to 1911 [16] FHL Collection - index and records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Williamsburg County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Williamsburg County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Hemingway Library
Address:
East Andrews Street
Hemingway, South Carolina 29554
Telephone: 803–558–2011

Williamsburg County Library
Address:
135 Hampton Avenue
Kingstree, South Carolina 29556-3423
Telephone: 803–354–9486

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Williamsburg County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 December 2022.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 December 2022.
  3. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 189. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Williamsburg, South Carolina," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Williamsburg_County,_South_Carolina. accessed 15/07/2019
  5. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Williamsburg County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  7. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 December 2022.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Williamsburg County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Williamsburg_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 29 December 2019.
  10. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
  11. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  12. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  13. Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
  14. Three Rivers Historical Society, Index to Marriage Notices in Williamsburg County, South Carolina Newspapers, 1897-1994, Hemingway, SC: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), 1995.
  15. Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
  16. South Carolina, Probate Court, Williamsburg County, Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Petitions to Establish Marriages, with Affidavits, Prior to 1911, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000-2001.
  17. Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.