Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy
Guide to Wilcox County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named in honor of Lieutenant J. M. Wilcox, who fought in the wars against the Creek Indians.[2]The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Wilcox County Courthouse
12 Water Street
PO Box 603
Camden, AL 36726
Phone: 334-682-4126
Fax: 334-682-4025
Wilcox County Website
Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records from 1819[4]
Wilcox County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1905 | 1819 | 1905 | 1820 | 1819 | 1819 | 1816 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Wilcox County:[7]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Record of Zack and Ruby Henderson Nettles at RootsWeb
- Wilcox County, Alabama Bible Records at Access Genealogy
- Wilcox County, Alabama Bible Records at Alabama Genealogy
- Wilcox County Bible Records at USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 2,917 | — |
| 1830 | 9,548 | 227.3% |
| 1840 | 15,278 | 60.0% |
| 1850 | 17,352 | 13.6% |
| 1860 | 24,618 | 41.9% |
| 1870 | 28,377 | 15.3% |
| 1880 | 31,828 | 12.2% |
| 1890 | 30,816 | −3.2% |
| 1900 | 35,631 | 15.6% |
| 1910 | 33,810 | −5.1% |
| 1920 | 31,080 | −8.1% |
| 1930 | 24,880 | −19.9% |
| 1940 | 26,279 | 5.6% |
| 1950 | 23,476 | −10.7% |
| 1960 | 18,739 | −20.2% |
| 1970 | 16,303 | −13.0% |
| 1980 | 14,755 | −9.5% |
| 1990 | 13,568 | −8.0% |
| 2000 | 13,183 | −2.8% |
| 2010 | 11,670 | −11.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1855 Alabama State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866 Alabama State Census, 1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
- 1831-1994 Alabama, Church Records, 1831-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Please see listings for Fellowship Baptist Church and Friendship Baptist Church under Resources:African Americans.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1821-1899 Wilcox County, Alabama, Civil Court and Subpoenas/Summons, 1821-1899(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1831-1898 Wilcox County, Alabama, Court Case and Estate Files, 1831-1898(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 1865-1872 Alabama, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- Slaves and their owners extracted from the Fellowship Baptist Church Records, 1828-1847, Wilcox Co, AL
- Slaves and their owners, Friendship Baptist Church, 1863-1864.Also includes 1867 members.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Christian Memorial in Camden
- Dunklin Funeral Home in Camden
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Wilcox County see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Wilcox County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.138 E7b.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Wilcox County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Alabama (1799-1980)
- Family Maps of Wilcox County (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Alabama Maps and Blueprints Collection at Alabama Department of Archives and History – maps can be browsed by location or subject
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- ca.1918-ca.1962 Alabama, Military Discharge Records, ca.1918 - ca.1962 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Database at Alabama Department of Archives and History - index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1871-1880 Alabama, Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1930 Alabama, Confederate Pension Applications, ca. 1880-1930's at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
Regiments. Men in Wilcox County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wilcox County:
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K (Wilcox True Blues)
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company C [formerly Robbins' Independent Co.]
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D [formerly Jackson County Mounted Rifles]
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I [formerly Lenoir County Cavalry]
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company K
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Russell's), Company A [formerly 3rd TN Cavalry]
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C [subsequently, Company I]
- - 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H(Mounted)
- - 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- - 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- - 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Kings Guard"
- - 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- - 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and H
- - 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- - 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
World War I
- 1917-1919 Alabama, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Service Records at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Gold Star Files at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Alabama, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1940-1966 Alabama Active Military Service Reports at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1834-1981 Alabama Voter Registration and Poll Tax Cards, 1834-1981 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1753–1999 Alabama Wills and Probate Records 1753-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1985 Alabama Probate Records, 1809-1985(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1821-1929 Wilcox County, Alabama, Court Minutes, 1821-1929(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1821-1959 Probate Indexes (Wilcox County, Alabama), 1821-1959(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1830-1976 Alabama Estate Files, 1830-1976(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1831-1898 Wilcox County, Alabama, Court Case and Estate Files, 1831-1898(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1879-1930 Wilcox County, Alabama, Miscellaneous Records, 1879-1930(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.
- 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Wilcox County is in District 1.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1881–1930 Alabama Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1930 Alabama, County Birth Registers, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1905–1908 Wilcox County Birth Index 1905-1908 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[8]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1733–2013 Alabama, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1800–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry $
- 1805, 1820-1825, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($)
- 1809–1950 Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1816–1957 Alabama Marriages, 1816-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1818-1936 Alabama County Marriages, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1820–1895, 1918–1936 Wilcox County Marriage Index 1820-1895 and 1918-1936 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($) Contains over 12,000 names.
- 1866–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry– ($) Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1881–1952 Alabama Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($) Copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. Veries depending on the original record. Incomplete
- 1904–1908 - Wilcox County Death Index 1904-1908 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry– ($)
- 1908–1974 Alabama Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Wilcox County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.
Wilcox County Library
100 Broad Street
Camden, Alabama 36726
334-682-4355
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Wilcox Historical Society
P.O. Box 464
Camden, Alabama 36726
Email: wilcoxhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Wilcox County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Wilcox County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Survey, 1942. Digital version at Ancestry
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, "Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/wilcox/ 6/27/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wilcox, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilcox_County,_Alabama 6/27/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wilcox County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilcox_County,_Alabama, accessed 26 October 2018.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.
