Ambox warning yellow.svg.png
Planned Maintenance:
FamilySearch will be performing a server update on Saturday morning at 2:00am MDT during which time the wiki may be briefly unavailable.

Whalley, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Whalley, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

For a list of all the churches in Whalley Parish, see "A Comprehensive List of Whalley Chapelries".

Whalley, Lancashire
St Mary's and All Saints Church Whalley Lancashire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn; Staincliff and Ewcross
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Clitheroe
Registration District Blackburn; Burnley; Clitheroe; Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Oswaldtwistle (Lancashire) beginning 1837 and for Trawden (Lancashire) beginning 1846 and for Tunstead (Lancashire) beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; Separate records exist for Oswaldtwistle (Lancashire)beginning 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Whalley, Yorkshire Genealogy

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHALLEY St Mary, a parish, chiefly in the Higher and Lower divisions of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, but extends partly into the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, West Riding of Yorkshire, 4 miles south by west from Clitheroe (Yorks). In 1848, the breadth of the parish, from the northern boundary of the parliamentary borough of Clitheroe to the southern boundary of the hundred in the Forest of Rossendale, within its limits, is fifteen miles 3 and its length, from the western boundary in the township of Oswaldtwistle to the eastern boundary, where the counties of Lancaster and York are separated by the division line at Wolfstones in Trawden Forest, is eighteen miles. The Yorkshire portion consists of the township of Low Bowland-Forest, and is three miles in length from north to south, and in breadth from west to east two and a half miles. The parish comprises the parliamentary borough of Clitheroe, which includes the townships of Chatburn, Downham, Mearley, Little Mitton, Pendleton, Twiston, Whalley, Wiswell, and Worston; the parochial chapelry of Altham, including Clayton-le-Moors, and New and Old Accrington; the parochial chapelry of Burnley, which includes the market-town of Burnley, and the townships of Briercliffe cum Extwistle, Cliviger, Habergham-Eaves, Ightenhill-Park, New Laund Booth with Filley-Close and Reedley-Hallows, and Worsthorn with Hurstwood, the parochial chapelry of Church, including Huncoat, Oswaldtwistle, and Yate cum Pickup-Bank, the parochial chapelry of Colne, including the market town of Colne, and the townships of Barrowfield, Foulridge, Great and Little Marsden, and Trawden; the parochial chapelry of Haslingden, including Henheads, and Higher and Lower Booth, the parochial chapelry of Newchurch-in-Pendle-Forest, including Barley-cum-Wheatley, Goldshaw-Booth, Old Laund Booth, Rough-Lee Booth, and Wheatley-Carr, the parochial chapelry of New-church-in-Rossendale-Forest, including part of the consolidated chapelry of Bacup, and the hamlets of Deadwin-CIough and Wolfenden; and the parochial chapelry of Padiham, which includes the townships of Dunnockshaw, Hapton, Higham Booth with Hey-Houses, Read, and Simonstone. In the parish is also the township of Little Bowland with Leagram, separated by the Hodder from Yorkshire, to which county part of it was anciently considered to belong. There are nearly 40 churches and chapels in different parts of the parish, erected by private individuals, by subscription, and various grants from Royal Bounty and Her Majesty's Commissioners. The dissenters places of worship are also numerous.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Whalley[edit | edit source]
  • Accrington St James Chapelry - 1745
  • Accrington Christ Church Chapelry - 1840
  • Accrington St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1868
  • Altham St James Chapelry - 1518
  • Bacop (or Bacup) St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1788
  • Bacop St Saviour Chapelry - 1866
  • Barrowford St Thomas Chapelry - 1839
  • Briercliffe St James Chapelry - 1841
  • Burnley St Peter Chapelry - 1562
  • Burnley St Andrew Chapelry - 1869
  • Burnley St James Chapelry - 1841
  • Burnley St Paul Chapelry - 1846
  • Burnley St Stephen Chapelry - 1878
  • Chatburn Christ Church Chapelry - 1801
  • Church-Kirk St James Chapelry - 1600
  • Clayton-Le-Moors All Saints Chapelry - 1840
  • Clitheroe St Mary Magdalene Chapelry - 1570
  • Clitheroe St James Chapelry - 1839
  • Clitheroe St Paul Chapelry - 1866
  • Colne Christ Church Chapelry - 1836
  • Colne St Bartholomew Chapelry - 1599
  • Downham St Leonard Chapelry - 1605
  • Fence-in-Pendle St Anne Chapelry - 1837
  • Goodshaw St Mary and All Saints Chapelry - 1728
  • Habergham-All Saints Chapelry - 1845
  • Habergham Eaves Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1837
  • Haslingden St James Chapelry - 1603
  • Heyhouses-Sabden St Nicholas Chapelry - 1841
  • Holme St John the Divine Chapelry - 1741
  • Lumb St Michael Chapelry - 1846
  • Nelson-Little Marsden St Paul Chapelry - 1709
  • Nelson-Great Marsden St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1845
  • Newchurch-in-Pendle St Mary Chapelry - 1691
  • Newchurch-in-Rossendale St Nicholas Chapelry - 1606
  • Oswaldtwistle Immanuel Chapelry - 1837
  • Trawden St Mary Chapelry - 1846
  • Padiham St Leonard Chapelry - 1573
  • Rawtenstall St Mary Chapelry - 1838
  • Tunstead Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1842
  • Whitewell St Michael Chapelry - 1718
  • Worsthorne St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1835

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Whalley Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Whalley are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-537. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.