Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Westminster St John the Evangelist

Guide to Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex
Londonstjohnevangelist.jpg
London St John Evangelist
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Westminster
Registration District Westminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1728
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster (Abbey) Post-1699 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Middlesex Division)
Location of Archive
London Metropolitan Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St John the Evangelist, Westminster [built by 1728], is situated in a small square or close, southward of the Abbey, and between Millbank Street and Tufton Street. It is one of the fifty new churches voted by parliament in Queen Anne's reign, and was designed by Archer, a contemporary of Hawksmoor and Vanbrugh, to the latter of whom is has been erroneously attributed. This parish was taken from that of St Margaret Westminster, by act of parliament. The church is a rectory, in the county and archdeaconry of Middlesex, in the diocese of London.[1]

Westminster St John the Evangelist, Middlesex.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Westminster St John the Evangelist Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Findmypast (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Findmypast Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Jon in Westminster St Margaret on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.