Wayne County, Missouri Genealogy
Guide to Wayne County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Anthony Wayne. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Wayne County Courthouse
109 Walnut Street
Greenville, MO 63944
Phone: 573-224-3014
Wayne County Website
County Clerk has birth and death records 1914-1940.
Clerk of the Circuit Court and Recorder has court records, marriage records, divorce and land records.
Associate Circuit Court has probate records.[3]
Wayne County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1892 | 1914 | 1893 | 1849 | 1813 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1853 or 1854 Courthouse burned, with a complete loss of records. 1866 Courthouse records were stolen. 1892 Courthouse damaged by fire December 14, 1892; some records destroyed. Few official county records prior to 1893 survive. When the 1893-1926 courthouse was in operation, records were scattered in various offices throughout Greenville because of lack of space. Whether this resulted in loss of some records is uncertain. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. Springfield-Greene County Library: evolution of Wayne County borders |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places in Wayne County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTownLocator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
The earliest white settlements in what is now Wayne County are said to have been in 1802, when a few settlers arrived from Kentucky, with more coming into the county from North Carolina in 1806.
Missouri was admitted into the Union August 10, 1821.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Wayne County, Missouri Cemetery Photographs (RootsWeb)
- Missouri Cemeteries Missouri Access Genealogy
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 1,443 | — |
| 1830 | 3,264 | 126.2% |
| 1840 | 3,403 | 4.3% |
| 1850 | 4,518 | 32.8% |
| 1860 | 5,629 | 24.6% |
| 1870 | 6,068 | 7.8% |
| 1880 | 9,096 | 49.9% |
| 1890 | 11,927 | 31.1% |
| 1900 | 15,309 | 28.4% |
| 1910 | 15,181 | −0.8% |
| 1920 | 13,012 | −14.3% |
| 1930 | 12,243 | −5.9% |
| 1940 | 12,794 | 4.5% |
| 1950 | 10,514 | −17.8% |
| 1960 | 8,638 | −17.8% |
| 1970 | 8,546 | −1.1% |
| 1980 | 11,277 | 32.0% |
| 1990 | 11,543 | 2.4% |
| 2000 | 13,259 | 14.9% |
| 2010 | 13,521 | 2.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1732-1933 Missouri State and Territorial Census Records, 1732-1933 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
For tips on accessing Wayne County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- Tong, H.F., Historical Sketches of the Baptists of Southeast Missouri. St. Louis: National Baptist Publishing Company, 1888. (Google Books link with complete text)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Wayne County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
- History of Missouri's Counties, County Seats, and Courthouse Squares. 1983. by Marian M. Ohman. Missouri: Missouri State Library. Online at: Missouri Digital History
- History of Southeast Missouri, Vol. 1. by Robert Sidney Douglass. 1912. Chicago: The Lewis Publishing Company. Online at Google Books
- History of Southeast Missouri. 1888. Chicago, The Goodspeed Publishing Co. Online: at MissouriDigitalHeritage
- State of Missouri: an autobiography. 1904. By Walter Williams. Columbia, Mo: Press of E. W. Stephens. Online at: Missouri Digital History
- Wayne County, Missouri. by Rose Fulton Cramer. 1972. Wayne County, Missouri: Ramfre Press. Online at: Google Books
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Missouri (1804-1889)
- Interactive map of Wayne County townships (Histopolis)
- Missouri As It Is In 1867. 1867. by Nathan II. Parker. Philadelpia: J. B. Lippincott & Co. Online at: Missouri Digital History
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Wayne County.
- Plat Book of Wayne County, Missouri at Missouri Digital Heritage
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1900-1941 Missouri, Pre-WWII Adjutant General Enlistment Contracts, 1900-1941 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1911-1938 Missouri, Confederate Pension Applications and Soldiers Home Applications, 1911-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Regiments
Service men in Wayne County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County, Missouri:
|
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I |
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company H |
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Missouri, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1941-1946 Missouri, Reports of Separation Notices, 1941-1946 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Missouri Digital Newspaper Project at Missouri State Historical Society
- Missouri Newspapers at the State Historical Society: Wayne County (State Historical Society of Missouri)
- Wayne County Journal-Banner, Piedmont, Missouri
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Wayne County, Missouri Obituaries (Newspaper Obituaries)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1750-1988 Missouri Probate Records 1750-1998 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
- 1766-1988 Missouri Wills and Probate Records 1766-1988 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1910 Missouri Birth and Death Records Database, Pre-1910 at Missouri Digital Heritage - index.
- 1817-1939 Missouri Births, 1817-1939 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1827-1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry — index/images ($)
- 1920-2015 Missouri, Birth Index, 1920-2015 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1920-2015 Reclaim the Records: Missouri Birth Index at Archive.org - images of index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1750-1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1776-1988 Missouri, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1805-2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at Ancestry ($)
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry — index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1834-1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry — index/images ($)
- 1867-1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1883-1930 Missouri Deaths, 1883-1930 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1910-1960 Missouri Death Certificates, 1910-1969 at Missouri Digital Heritage - index and images.
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1968-2015 Missouri, Death Index, 1968-2015 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1968-2015 Reclaim the Records: Missouri Death Index at Archive.org - images of index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Wayne County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Missouri Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Wayne County. For state-wide library facilities, see Missouri Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Wayne County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Missouri Societies.
- Wayne County Historical Society
108 West Elm St.
Piedmont, MO 63957
(573) 223-2204
Email: waynecohistsociety@windstream.net
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
- MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
- USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Genealogy Trails. Free.
- USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be images or transcriptions
- FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
- Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayne_County,_Missouri, accessed 18 Sept 2018.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Wayne County Missouri, accessed Dec 2019.