Wayne County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Wayne County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Wayne County was named for the U.S. general "Mad Anthony" Wayne. The county is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Wayne County Courthouse
201 City Court Bldg
Wayne, MI 48226
Phone: 313-224-6262
Wayne County Website
County Clerk has birth and death records for events that occurred in all of Wayne County.
Wayne County Clerk Records Division at Coleman A. Young Municipal Center in Detroit, has marriage and divorce records.
Probate Court at Coleman A. Young Municipal Center in Detroit, has probate records for all of Wayne County and the City of Detroit.
Register of Deeds has land records for all of Wayne County and the City of Detroit. [2]
Wayne County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1867 | 1833 | 1867 | 1835 | 1835 | 1827 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Additional Information
The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[6]
Wayne County is the oldest county in the area known now as the State of Michigan and originally included areas that are counties in their own right. It includes the City of Detroit which was founded by the French on 24 July 1701 and which is now the state's largest.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Old Baptist Cemetery, Plymouth
- Presbyterian Cemetery, Plymouth
- Riverside Cemetery, Plymouth
- Shearer Cemetery, Plymouth
- Woodmere Cemetery, Detroit 1868-2004 (Research Blog - personal research only. The site is copyrighted
- Elmwood Cemetery Genealogy Inquiries (cost $)
- Also available at the Burton Historical Collection at the Detroit Public Library are:
- Detroit City Cemetery Burial Records, 1854-1861
- Elmwood Cemetery Record of Interments, 1846-1992
- Mt. Elliot Cemetery Record of Interments, 1845-1861, 1865-1997
- Woodmere Cemetery, 1868-1888
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 2,227 | — |
| 1820 | 3,574 | 60.5% |
| 1830 | 6,781 | 89.7% |
| 1840 | 24,173 | 256.5% |
| 1850 | 42,756 | 76.9% |
| 1860 | 75,547 | 76.7% |
| 1870 | 119,068 | 57.6% |
| 1880 | 168,444 | 41.5% |
| 1890 | 257,114 | 52.6% |
| 1900 | 348,793 | 35.7% |
| 1910 | 531,591 | 52.4% |
| 1920 | 1,177,645 | 121.5% |
| 1930 | 1,888,946 | 60.4% |
| 1940 | 2,015,623 | 6.7% |
| 1950 | 2,435,235 | 20.8% |
| 1960 | 2,666,297 | 9.5% |
| 1970 | 2,666,751 | 0.0% |
| 1980 | 2,337,843 | −12.3% |
| 1990 | 2,111,687 | −9.7% |
| 2000 | 2,061,162 | −2.4% |
| 2010 | 1,820,584 | −11.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1796 - Stuart, Donna Valley. "Detroit 1796 Census," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 69 (1981):185-194. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 69 (1981).
State Census
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch -How to Use this Collection
- 1894 - Michigan Department of State. Census of the State of Michigan, 1894. Vol 3. Lansing, MI: R. Smith & co., state printers, 1896. (Civil War veterans only) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
- 1819-1991 - Michigan, Church Records, 1819-1991 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Detroit Dist
- Detroit
- Detroit E.
- Detroit S.
- Detroit W.
- Mack
Lutheran
- Detroit
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Detroit, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Wayne County
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Wayne County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Catholic
- A large number of Roman Catholic church records from the Archdiocese of Detroit are available on microfilm at the Burton Historical Collection, Detroit Public Library. Depending on the church, the records range from 1704-1930 and can include baptisms, marriages, deaths, first communions, and confirmations.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1923 - Fold3.com by Ancestry.com($) has Detroit City Directories 1861-1923 available online.
- 1863-1922 Michigan State Gazetteers and Business Directories at Hathi Trust, images – includes business directories for towns across the state
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1929-1966 - Michigan, Crew Lists for various ports, 1929-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Wayne County courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Wayne County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Detroit streets were renumbered 1 January 1921 (same house/different numbers). Keep that in mind when looking at various records, such as the US Census.
- Maps of Michigan (1790-1897)
- Map of Detroit Land Annexation 1806 – 1926
- 1863-1922 Michigan State Gazetteers and Business Directories at Hathi Trust, images – includes business directories for towns across the state
- Detroit annexations 1915-1925 : because of Detroit's annexations 1806-1926,
especially during 1915-1925, MANY community names became extinct. - FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
City maps are often found in city directories.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Wayne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Wayne County.
- - 1st Regiment, Michigan Cavalry, Companies A, C, G, H, K, and Unassigned Company
- - 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Unassigned Company
- - 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company F
- 1861-1865 Record of Service of the Michigan Volunteers in the Civil War 1861-1865 at Michiganology — images, multiple volumes organized alphabetically by surname
- 1876-1945 - Michigan, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1876-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1894 - Michigan Department of State. Census of the State of Michigan, 1894. Vol 3. Lansing, MI: R. Smith & co., state printers, 1896. (Civil War veterans only) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
- Michigan, Civil War Centennial Observance Commission, Committee on Civil War Grave Registration, Burial Records at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Veteran Burials, Plymouth
World War I
- 1917-1919 - Michigan, Census of World War I Veterans with Card Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1993 - Michigan, Eastern and Western Districts, Naturalization Records, 1837-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1817-1830 - Detroit Gazette at Google News
- Digital Michigan Newspapers at Central Michigan University
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1820-2006 - Michigan Obituaries, 1820-2006 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Probate records for Wayne County are available on microfilm at the Archives of Michigan, located in the Michigan Library and Historical Center, 702 W. Kalamazoo Street, Lansing, MI. The Archives holds Wayne County estate case files from 1797-1901 and the Probate calendar books from 1797-1914.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1784-1980 - Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry $
- 1797-1973 - Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Births, 1867-1902 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1803-1893 - Wayne County Marriage Returns, 1803-1867 and 1868-1893. Original records are held at the Burton Historical Collection, Detroit Public Library. These records include marriages throughout Wayne County, including the City of Detroit.
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriages, 1868-1925 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Deaths, 1867-1897 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1952 Michigan, Death Records, 1867-1952 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
- 1897-1952 - Michigan Death Records at Michiganology - index and images, organized by county and then last name.
- 1934-1953 Wayne County Death Index. An index to original records held at the Burton Historical Collection, Detroit Public Library. These records do not include deaths that occurred within the City of Detroit.
- 1920 - Current - Detroit Death Index. Microfiche index of all deaths occurring in the City of Detroit.
- Wayne County and Detroit Death Records and Obituaries - A Genealogy Records Guide
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1897-1952 Michigan, Divorce Records, 1897-1952 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Wayne County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Michigan Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Ann Arbor Michigan Family History Center
- Bloomfield Hills Michigan Family History Center
- Palmer Park Michigan Family History Center
- Riverview Michigan Family History Center
- Westland Michigan Family History Center
- Bloomfield Township Public Library - an affiliate library
- Ferndale Area Public Library - an affiliate library
- Lyon Township Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Wayne County. For state-wide library facilities, see Michigan Archives and Libraries.
Detroit Public Library
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: 313-481-1300
Website
- The main Library Location houses the Burton Historical Collection and all the databases.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Lincoln Park Historical Museum
1335 Southfield Road
Lincoln Park, MI 48146
Phone: 313-386-3137
Website
Gayle Sweetwine Saini Memorial Library (JGSMI)
Holocaust Memorial Center Library(2nd floor)
28123 Orchard Lake Road
Farmington, Hills, MI 48334
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Wayne County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Michigan Societies.
- Dearborn Genealogical Society
PO Box 1112
Dearborn Michigan 48121-1112
E-mail:info@dgsmi.org
Website
- Detroit Society for Genealogical Research
Detroit Public Library c/o Burton Historical Collection
5201 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48202
Website Facebook
- Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 94
Southfield, MI 48037
Email: info@fhwgs.org
Website
- Northville Genealogical Society
PO Box 932
Northville, MI 48167-0932
Website
- Wayne Historical Society
PO Box 486
Wayne, MI 48184
(734) 722-0113
Email: waynehistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website Facebook
- Western Wayne County Genealogical Society
PO Box 530063
Livonia, MI 48153-0063
Email: info@wwcgs.org
Website Facebook
- West Side Detroit Polish American Historical Society
Detroit, MI
Phone: 855-765-6642
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
|
- Wayne County, MI-Roots Michigan Roots is a member of the PA-Roots family of websites.
- Wayne County USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Wayne County MI Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne County, Georgia" in wikipedia accessed 8 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wayne County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 16 November 2019.
- ↑ "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
