Waupaca County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Waupaca County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Waupaca
Organized: February 17, 1851
Parent County(s): Brown and Winnebago Counties[1]
Neighboring Counties
Marathon  • Outagamie  • Portage  • Shawano  • Waushara  • Winnebago
See County Maps
Courthouse
Waupaca County Wisconsin Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
WI Waupaca.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Waupaca River, a Menominee language name meaning 'white sand bottom', 'pale water', or 'tomorrow river'. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Waupaca County Courthouse
811 Hardin Street
Waupaca, WI 54981
Phone: 715-258-6200
Waupaca County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1852.
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce records from 1907 and court records from 1880.
Register in Probate has probate records from 1857. [3]

Waupaca County, Wisconsin Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1852 1852 1880 1852 1857 1820
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1851--Waupaca County was created 17 February 1851 from Brown and Winnebago Counties.
  • County seat: Waupaca, WI[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]


Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Waupaca County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

  • Waupaca County Headstone Photo Index Waupaca County History and Genealogy Website. Use this index to find photos in specific cemeteries in the Tombstone Photograph Pages below. (WIGenWeb Project)

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1860 8,851 —
1870 15,539 75.6%
1880 20,955 34.9%
1890 26,794 27.9%
1900 31,615 18.0%
1910 32,782 3.7%
1920 34,200 4.3%
1930 33,513 −2.0%
1940 34,614 3.3%
1950 35,056 1.3%
1960 35,340 0.8%
1970 37,780 6.9%
1980 42,831 13.4%
1990 46,104 7.6%
2000 51,731 12.2%
2010 52,410 1.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Waupaca census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

Federal Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
Iola

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Iola, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Trinity Lutheran Church, Dupont

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Dupont, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Waucapa County

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Marathon CountyShawano CountyOutagamie CountyWinnebago CountyWaushara CountyPortage CountyWI WAUPACA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Waupaca served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Waupaca:

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company M
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I

World War II[edit | edit source]

Army Enlistees from Waupaca County, Wisconsin

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Waupaca County, Wisconsin - Obituary & Death Notices (WIGenWeb Project)

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Waupaca Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Waupaca Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Waupaca County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Wisconsin Archives and Libraries.

  • Neils R. Kampenga Archives and Area Research Center
    University of Wisconsin Library
    900 Reserve Street, Room 520
    Stevens Point, WI 54481-1962
    Phone: 715-346-2586
    Website
    Email: archives@uwsp.edu
    Facebook

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Waupaca County. For state-wide library facilities, see Wisconsin Archives and Libraries.

  • University of Wisconsin Library
    Nelis R. Kampenga Archives and Area Research Center
    900 Reserve Street, Room 520
    Stevens Point, WI 54481-1962
    Phone: 715-346-2586
    Website
    Email: archives@uwsp.edu
    Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Waupaca County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Wisconsin Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Waupaca County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waupaca_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Waupaca County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Taylor County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waupaca_County,_Wisconsin#Communities, accessed 13 Dec 2018.
v • d • e
Links to Wisconsin-related articles
Topics
Counties
Adams · Ashland · Barron · Bayfield · Brown · Buffalo · Burnett · Calumet · Chippewa · Clark · Columbia · Crawford · Dane · Dodge · Door · Douglas · Dunn · Eau Claire · Florence · Fond du Lac · Forest · Grant · Green · Green Lake · Iowa · Iron · Jackson · Jefferson · Juneau · Kenosha · Kewaunee · La Crosse · Lafayette · Langlade · Lincoln · Manitowoc · Marathon · Marinette · Marquette · Menominee · Milwaukee · Monroe · Oconto · Oneida · Outagamie · Ozaukee · Pepin · Pierce · Polk · Portage · Price · Racine · Richland · Rock · Rusk · Sauk · Sawyer · Shawano · Sheboygan · St. Croix · Taylor · Trempealeau · Vernon · Vilas · Walworth · Washburn · Washington · Waukesha · Waupaca · Waushara · Winnebago · Wood
Extinct Co.
Bad Ax · Dallas · Gates · La Pointe · New
Major
 Repositories
National Archives at Chicago · Wisconsin Historical Society · Wisconsin State Genealogical Society · Wisconsin State Old Cemetery Society · Area Research Centers:  1. Wisconsin Historical Society, 2. University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, 3. University of Wisconsin-Platteville, 4. University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, 5. University of Wisconsin-Parkside, 6. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 7. University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, 8. University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, 9. University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, 10. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, 11. University of Wisconsin-Stout, 12. University of Wisconsin-River Falls, 13. Superior Public Library, 14. Northern Great Lake Center  · Beloit Public Library · Brown County Library · Kenosha Public Library · Milwaukee County Historical Society · Milwaukee Public Library · Norwegian American Genealogical Center and Naeseth Library · Oshkosh Public Library · Racine Heritage Museum Research Center · University of Wisconsin-Madison Memorial Library · Allen County Public Library · Newberry Library
Migration
 Routes

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Waupaca_County,_Wisconsin_Genealogy&oldid=4682000"