Washington County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Washington County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Montpelier
Organized: November 8, 1814
Parent County(s): Caledonia, Chiienden and Orange
Neighboring Counties
Addison  • Caledonia  • Chittenden  • Lamoille  • Orange
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Washington County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-washington.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the north center area of the state. [1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Washington County Courthouse
65 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05601-0426
Phone: 802-223-2091
Washington County Website

Secretary of State, Montpelier has birth, marriage and death records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records.
Probate Court has probate records. Town and City Clerks have land records.[2]

Washington County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1881 Unknown 1811 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

VermontWashington CountyAddison CountyOrange CountyCaledonia CountyLamoille CountyChittenden CountyWoodburyCabotWorcesterCalaisMarshfieldWaterburyMiddlesexEast MontpelierMontpelierPlainfieldBarreBerlinMoretownDuxburyFaystonWaitsfieldNorthfieldWarrenRoxburyStarksboroLincolnRiptonGranvilleHancockRochesterBraintreeRandolphTunbridgeBrookfieldChelseaVershireWilliamstownWashingtonCorinthBradfordNewburyTopshamOrangeGrotonRyegateBarnetPeachamDanvilleWaldenStannardWheelockGreensboroHardwickWolcottElmoreMorristownStoweCambridgeWestfordUnderhillEssexJerichoBoltonRichmondHuntingtonBuel's Gore
Modern town borders in Washington County, Vermont.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities:

Towns:

Villages:

  • Cabot
  • Marshfield
  • Northfield
  • Waterbury

Communities:

  • Adamant
  • Graniteville-East Barre
  • South Barre
  • Tangletown

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Barre 1781
  • Berlin 1763
  • Calais 1781
  • Duxbury 1763
  • Marshfield 1782
  • Middlesex 1763
  • Montpelier 1781
  • Moretown 1763
  • Northfield 1781
  • Plainfield 1797
  • Roxbury 1781
  • Waitsfield 1782
  • Warren 1780
  • Waterbury 1763
  • Worcester 1763 [7]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Washington County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 14,113
1830 21,378 51.5%
1840 23,506 10.0%
1850 24,654 4.9%
1860 27,612 12.0%
1870 26,520 −4.0%
1880 25,404 −4.2%
1890 29,606 16.5%
1900 36,607 23.6%
1910 41,702 13.9%
1920 38,921 −6.7%
1930 41,733 7.2%
1940 41,546 −0.4%
1950 42,870 3.2%
1960 42,860 −0.0%
1970 47,659 11.2%
1980 52,393 9.9%
1990 54,928 4.8%
2000 58,039 5.7%
2010 59,534 2.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

ChittendenLamoilleCaledoniaOrangeAddisonVT WASHINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G, H and K
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Washington County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Washington County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Washington County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.

  • Cabot Historical Society
    PO Box 275
    3216 Main Street
    Cabot, Vermont 05647
    E-mail:cabothistorical@gmail.com
    Website
    Facebook
  • Duxbury Historical Society
    Duxbury Town Office, VT Route 100
    Duxbury, VT 05676
    Website
    Facebook
  • East Montpelier Historical Society
    PO Box 63
    East Montpelier, VT 05651
    802-223-6466
    E-mail:sandal@sover.net
    Website
  • Fayston Historical Society
    3685 North Fayston Road
    Moretown, VT 05660
    802-496-2454
    Website
  • Middlesex Historical Society
    5 Church Street
    Middlesex, VT 05602
    802-272-8074
    Website
  • Waitsfield Historical Society
    General Benjamin Wait House
    VT Route 100
    PO Box 816
    Waitsfield, VT 05673
    802-496-7051
    Email: stepback@gmavt.net
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Vermont accessed 29 October 2019.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699 Washington County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.