Washington County, Rhode Island Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Washington County, Rhode Island ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for George Washington. The County is located in the south area of the state. [1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Washington County Courthouse
4800 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, RI 02879-2239
Phone: 401-782-4121
Washington County Courthouse
Records are kept on the town level and not the county level.
Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, probate and land records.
Washington County, Rhode Island Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1729 | 1669 | 1669 | 1747 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]
| Towns | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
|
Towns Organized before 1800:
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 18,323 | — |
| 1800 | 16,135 | −11.9% |
| 1810 | 14,962 | −7.3% |
| 1820 | 15,687 | 4.8% |
| 1830 | 15,411 | −1.8% |
| 1840 | 14,324 | −7.1% |
| 1850 | 16,430 | 14.7% |
| 1860 | 18,715 | 13.9% |
| 1870 | 20,097 | 7.4% |
| 1880 | 22,495 | 11.9% |
| 1890 | 23,649 | 5.1% |
| 1900 | 24,154 | 2.1% |
| 1910 | 24,942 | 3.3% |
| 1920 | 24,932 | −0.0% |
| 1930 | 29,334 | 17.7% |
| 1940 | 32,493 | 10.8% |
| 1950 | 48,542 | 49.4% |
| 1960 | 59,054 | 21.7% |
| 1970 | 83,586 | 41.5% |
| 1980 | 93,317 | 11.6% |
| 1990 | 110,006 | 17.9% |
| 2000 | 123,546 | 12.3% |
| 2010 | 126,979 | 2.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1905 Rhode Island State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Religious Records in Rhode Island
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1907-1991 Rhode Island Naturalization Records 1907-1991 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1582-1932 Island, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1582-1932 at Ancestry ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- Richmond Tax Book 1855 provided through USGenweb.org.
- Richmond Tax Book 1872 provided through USGenweb.org.
- Richmond Tax Book 1883 provided through USGenweb.org.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1630-1945 Rhode Island, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1630-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1636-1930 Rhode Island Births, 1636-1930 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1800-1855 Rhode Island and Pawtucket, Massachusetts Birth Index, 1800-1855 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1522-1989 Rhode Island, United States Marriages at at Findmypast — index, ($)
- 1630-1945 Rhode Island, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1630-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1636-1930 Rhode Island Marriages, 1851-1920 at Ancestry - ($)
- 1851-1920 Rhode Island Marriages, 1851-1920 Ancestry ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1630-1945 Rhode Island, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1630-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Washington County. For state-wide facilities, see Rhode Island Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Groton Connecticut Family History Center
- North Dartmouth Massachusetts Family History Center
- Providence Rhode Island Family History Center
- American French Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
- Newport Public Library - an affiliate library
- Otis Library of Norwich, Connecticut - an affiliate library
- Roger Williams University Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Washington County. For state-wide library facilities, see Rhode Island Archives and Libraries.
- Rhode Island State Library
State House, 2nd floor
82 Smith Street, Room 208
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-222-2473
Website - East Greenwich Free Library
82 Pierce Street
East Greenwich, RI 02818
Phone: 401-884-9510
Website - Greenville Public Library
573 Putnam Pike
Greenville, RI 02828
Phone: 401-949-3630
Website - Lincoln Public Library
145 Old River Road
Lincoln, RI 02865
Phone: 401-333-2422
Website - Louttit Memorial Library
274 Victory Highway
West Greenwich, RI 02817
Phone: 401-397-3434
Email: louttitlibrary@gmail.com
Website - Robert H Champlin Library
1043 Main Street
West Warwick, RI 02893
Phone: 401-828-3750 - Warwick Public Library
600 Sandy Lane
Warwick, RI 02889
Phone: 401-739-5440
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Washington County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Rhode Island Societies.
- Rhode Island Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 211
Hope, RI 02831
Email: info@rigensoc.org
Website - Rhode Island Historical Society
110 Benevolent St
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-331-8575
Website - Rhode Island Historical Society Library
121 Hope Street
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-273-8107 Ext. 410
Email: reference@rihs.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Washington County RIGenWeb Project, an member of The RIGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Washington County.
- Washington County RI Genealogy
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Washington, Rhode Island" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Rhode_Island accessed 3 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Rhode Island . Page 602 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 589-591.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Rhode Island," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Rhode_Island, accessed 17 March 2021.
