Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Warrick County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Warrick County was named for Captain Jacob Warrick, an Indiana militia company commander killed in the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811. The county is located in the southwestern area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Warrick County Courthouse
107 W Locust St
Boonville, IN 47601
Phone: 812-897-6160
County Website
Warrick County Health Department
107 W Locust St, Suite 204
Boonville, IN, 47601
Health Officer: Ricky Yeager, DO
Phone: 812-897-6105
Fax: 812-897-6104
Health Department
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1819, divorce, court and probate records from 1813.
County Records has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Warrick County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1819 | 1882 | 1813 | 1813 | 1813 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present : together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. Chicago, IL, Goodspeed Bros & Co, Publishing. 1885. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; GoogleBook; Warrick County, Indiana Family Biographies at My Genealogy Hound
- Indiana Biography Index at Indiana State Library
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Warrick County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 9,039 | — |
| 1830 | 13,064 | 44.5% |
| 1840 | 15,269 | 16.9% |
| 1850 | 17,040 | 11.6% |
| 1860 | 17,909 | 5.1% |
| 1870 | 18,495 | 3.3% |
| 1880 | 18,955 | 2.5% |
| 1890 | 18,619 | −1.8% |
| 1900 | 19,409 | 4.2% |
| 1910 | 17,445 | −10.1% |
| 1920 | 16,645 | −4.6% |
| 1930 | 16,285 | −2.2% |
| 1940 | 17,008 | 4.4% |
| 1950 | 16,520 | −2.9% |
| 1960 | 17,819 | 7.9% |
| 1970 | 19,278 | 8.2% |
| 1980 | 21,932 | 13.8% |
| 1990 | 23,717 | 8.1% |
| 2000 | 27,223 | 14.8% |
| 2010 | 28,262 | 3.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org" | ||
- African American Veterans in Warrick County, Indiana (1890) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($) The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.
- Index to Mortality Schedule for Warrick County (1860, 1870) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Warrick County (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Selected Residents of Warrick County (1880, 1881) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Warrick County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Warrick County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- History of Warrick and its Prominent People. 1909. By Monte M. Katterjohn. Boonville, Indiana : Crescent Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana. 1885. Chicago, Illinois : Goodspeed. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Warrick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warrick County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company G
- 4th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company I
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies F, and M
- 25th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies H, and I
- 42nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 53rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 65th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and H
- 91st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B and F
- 120th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and E
- 136th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
- 143rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and F
- 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
Civil War Books:
- Haas, Garland A. 1997. To the mountain of fire and beyond: the Fifty-Third Indiana Regiment from Corinth to glory. (Carmel, Ind: Guild Press of Indiana.) 977.23 M2h FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries
- History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present : together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. Chicago, IL, Goodspeed Bros & Co, Publishing. 1885. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive
World War I
- 1919 Indiana, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Warrick County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry ($)
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Warrick County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Evansville Indiana Family History Center
- Owensboro Kentucky Family History Center
- Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Henderson County Kentucky Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Perry County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Warrick County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Warrick County Museum, Inc.
217 South First Street
Boonville, IN 47601
Phone: 812-897-3100
Email: wcmuseum@wowway.biz
Facebook
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Warrick County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Warrick County Historical Society
P.O. Box 581
Boonville, IN 47601-0581
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Select a county
- Every Name Index.com Online indexes for county histories. Select a county
- USGenWeb, Warrick County
- INGenWeb, Warrick County
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warrick County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrick_County,_Indiana accessed 04/05/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warrick County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrick_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warrick County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrick_County%2C_Indiana, accessed 15 January 2020.
