Warren County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Warren County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Belvidere
Organized: November 20, 1824
Parent County(s): Sussex
Neighboring Counties
Bucks (PA)  • Hunterdon  • Monroe (PA)  • Morris  • Northampton (PA)  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Warren County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-warren.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Warren County is located in the northwest region of the state. It was created in 1824. Belvidere is the county seat. The county was named for the American Revolutionary War General Joseph Warren (1741–1775), who was killed at the Battle of Bunker Hill.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Warren County Courthouse
413 Second Street
P.O. Box 900
Belvidere, NJ 07823
Phone: 908-750-8100
Warren County Courthouse

Municipal Clerks have birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1825, divorce and court records.
County Surrogate has probate records. [2]

Warren County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1825 1901 1825 1825 1825 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Boroughs
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

A Moravian settlement was established at Hope by 1769.[7]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Warren County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 18,627
1840 20,366 9.3%
1850 22,358 9.8%
1860 28,433 27.2%
1870 34,336 20.8%
1880 36,589 6.6%
1890 36,553 −0.1%
1900 37,781 3.4%
1910 43,187 14.3%
1920 45,057 4.3%
1930 49,319 9.5%
1940 50,181 1.7%
1950 54,374 8.4%
1960 63,220 16.3%
1970 73,960 17.0%
1980 84,429 14.2%
1990 91,607 8.5%
2000 102,437 11.8%
2010 108,692 6.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

As is becoming more and more common, the County Clerk's Office of Warren County provides an on their website. Please see the Public Land Records page there for a link and instructions (login as Guest) for further information. The database appears to include all available land records for the county.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Sussex CountyMorris CountyHunterdon CountyBucks CountyNorthampton CountyMonroe CountyPike CountyNJ WARREN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Warren County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Warren County Cultural and Heritage Commission
8 Belvidere Avenue
Oxford, NJ 07863
Telephone: 908-453-4381
E-mail:r@wcchc.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Warren County Historical and Genealogical Society
313 Mansfield Street
PO Box 313
Belvidere, NJ 07823
Telephone: 908-475-4246
Website

Hackettstown Historical Society
106 Church St.
Hackettstown NJ
Telephone: 908-852-8797
Website

Phillipsburg Area Historical Society
675 Corliss Avenue
Phillpsburg, New Jersey 08865
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_New_Jersey accessed 23 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_New_Jersey#Communities, accessed 20 March 2020.
  7. "A Forgotten Moravian Settlement in New Jersey," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 37 (1913):248-252. For free online access, see WeRelate.