Warren County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Warren County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Warren County was named for Dr. Joseph Warren, who was killed in 1775 at the Battle of Bunker Hill. The county is located in the west-central part of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Warren County Courthouse
125 N Monroe Street
Williamsport, IN 47993
Phone: 765-762-3510
County Website
Fountain-Warren County Health Department
113 W Sycamore St
Attica, IN 47918
Health Officer: Sean Sharma, MD
Phone: 877-339-9567
Fax: 765-762-6520
Email: fwhealthdept@gmail.com
Fountain County Health Department
County Clerk has marriage and divorce records from 1827, probate records from 1829 and court records from 1828.
County Recorder has land records from 1827.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Warren County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1827 | 1882 | 1828 | 1827 | 1829 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
January 20, 1907 -- The Courthouse at Williamsport was destroyed by fire on Sunday, January 20, 1907. All the records but those of the commissioners were saved. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Warren County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 2,861 | — |
| 1840 | 5,656 | 97.7% |
| 1850 | 7,387 | 30.6% |
| 1860 | 10,057 | 36.1% |
| 1870 | 10,204 | 1.5% |
| 1880 | 11,497 | 12.7% |
| 1890 | 10,955 | −4.7% |
| 1900 | 11,371 | 3.8% |
| 1910 | 10,899 | −4.2% |
| 1920 | 9,699 | −11.0% |
| 1930 | 9,167 | −5.5% |
| 1940 | 9,055 | −1.2% |
| 1950 | 8,535 | −5.7% |
| 1960 | 8,545 | 0.1% |
| 1970 | 8,705 | 1.9% |
| 1980 | 8,976 | 3.1% |
| 1990 | 8,176 | −8.9% |
| 2000 | 8,419 | 3.0% |
| 2010 | 8,508 | 1.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Early Settlers of Warren County at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Warren County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Johnsonville
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Warren County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Warren County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. 1883. Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Index: EveryNameIndex.com, by Cathy L. O'Connor.
- Past and Present of Fountain and Warren Counties, Indiana. 1913. By Thomas A. Clifton. Indianapolis, Ind. : B.F. Bowen. Online at: Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Vol. 1 contains historical material; vol. 2 contains biographical material.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warren County.
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company C
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company K
- 33rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 40th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 72nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and I
- 86th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and E
- 100th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 116th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Company H
- 135th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
- 150th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, G, and H
- 154th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, E, and G
Civil War Book:
- Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey Co, 2008.) also (Digital images of original published: Mt. Vernon, IN: Windmill Publications, 1994. viii, 810 p.: ill., ports. 28 cm. The original is a reprint. It was originally published: Chicago: F.A. Battey, 1883.) Available at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive
Databases
- Residents of Warren County who Died in the Civil War (1861-1865) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Warren County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry ($)
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Warren County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Crawfordsville Indiana Family History Center
- Danville Illinois Family History Center
- Danville Public Library (Illinois) - an affiliate library.
- Otterbein Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Warren County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
West Lebanon-Pike Township Public Library
P.O. 277
200 North High Street
West Lebanon, IN 47991-0277
Phone: 765-893-4605
Email: westleblibrary@hotmail.com
Website
Williamsport-Washington Township Public Library
Indiana Room
28 East 2nd Street
Williamsport, IN 47993
Phone: 765-762-6555
Email: cbrown@wwtpl.lib.in.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Warren County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Warren County Historical Society and Museum
P.O. Box 176
12 Midway St.
Williamsport, IN 47993
Phone: 765-893-4605
Email: westleblibrary@hotmail.com
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Warren County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Select a county
- Every Name Index.com Online indexes for county histories. Select a county
- USGenWeb, Warren County
- INGenWeb, Warren County
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_Indiana accessed 04/04/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_Indiana accessed 04/04/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_Indiana, accessed 14 January 2020
